All parent member reviews for South Park: The Stick of Truth

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Parents say

(out of 10 reviews)
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Parent of a 3, 10, and 15 year old Written byagentmom June 28, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Why are things that are so bad so good?

This might make me worst or best mom ever but I loved this game. I've never been a big fan of South Park but I picked this up after watching my stepson play the first part and laughing my head off with him. If you allow your kids to watch the TV show, it's only bit worse than that (the TV show at least has to abide by some TV restrictions). They certainly don't pull any punches and aren't afraid to go the extra steps for the "OMG did they just do that??" factor. Now, I don't want to be a downer or get to serious about South Park, but the issues they make fun of are real and people are sadly over sensitive, and while I'm sitting on the couch with my son busting up with him, I'm also turning to him and saying "Don't you dare go to school and repeat this!" I also made sure I called his friend's parents and get their okay to let them play it. Here are the worst things parents should know that are in the game: Full nudity, sex scenes, scenes of abortion and of dead fetuses, forced sodomy fully shown, depictions of gay/lesbian couples, drug/alcohol use, satanic cults (and finding Jesus), lots of violence (hilarious, brutal cartoon violence with horrible weaponry), and exposure to Al Gore. Other than that, it was a great bonding experience with my son, and maybe.. just maybe it may have taught him something about social issues. Just kidding.
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 11 and 12 year old Written byTheHelpfulParent36 April 21, 2014
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Good for a tween

This game is base on the show South park, so I think that since I let my kids watch the Simpsons it's not that bad actually. There is some swearing, but swearing isn't bad if you don't repeat it towards someone. This game has only really one bad scene and it's not even graphic (it's still only a cartoon). At the start I was a little worried but I watched my son play the first "mission" and it was not really bad at all. You get to pick what your character looks like and even I though that was pretty cool. Thank you
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Easy to play/use
Educator and Parent Written byUseCMUseMe April 21, 2014
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Great for exploring

I have a son who is 12(March 23 2002) and he came to me and my husband Mark and he asked Mom could I get this game with my birthday money?!? Because it is a "M" rated game we needed to look into it. After looking into it we decided that ok son you can get this game if you are not always like they do in this game. So we drove down do the store and he bought the game I was wondering if this would as bad as the tv show, we let him watch the show it's not actually that bad, so then he played the game and there was only one or two bad scenes in this (no privates are shown are anything like that). So in the end my son has stopped talking about the wildest thing and is having a lot of fun. This game is probably 12 and up. The rating M is for the "Fantasy Violence" and the blood that shows in a "battle". I hope this helped you.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Easy to play/use
Adult Written byripredrum November 28, 2014
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Good, but inappropriate!

It's a great game, funny, relatable, somewhat easy, with just enough challenge! However, with alien rape scenes, abortion scenes, sex toys,climbing inside a man's anus to find a variety of things, and general things I wouldn't want to see, it is extremely inappropriate!
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Too much sex
Educator and Parent Written byTrollsys Griffith March 10, 2014
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Great Game but not for kids.

Is game Is not for kids, with horrible humor and sexual scenes you will be surprised how bad it is. For example you can circumcise your enemies. There is a level where your fighting "underwear gnomes" and your parents are having intercourse screaming curse words in the background. One of your powers later on is teleporting with a space anal probe trying to stop nazi zombies. This game is not for kids and is on the edge of AO. - Dr. Trollsys Griffith Physiologist
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Educator and Parent Written byHary Bern October 12, 2014
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

okay

ages 8+
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Adult Written bytommy jamieson ... May 31, 2015
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

PLZZ

Look i think this game is great if i get it i promise i wont repeat any mature launguage on the game we can play it as a family and if its bad u cover my eyes and let me get it PLLEEASE
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Easy to play/use
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byEziotheAssassin November 18, 2014
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Fun RPG game combined with extremely mature content from the controversial show.

All right, first things first - this is in NO WAY a kids game. This game is made by the creators of South Park, and they did not hold back on the humor and censorship, or lack thereof. Where to start? In terms of violence, it's brief but when it's there it is extremely brutal or graphic (or both). In terms of sexual/crude content or offensive content - it's all over the place. Alien anal probing, seeing your parents have sex and battling on their bed, with personal areas in view and playing a role in the battle, going into a man's anus, filled with sex toys and other phallic objects, to give an a abortion on a sentient bomb, giving an abortion to a man pretending to be a woman, extremely crude dialog and jokes. The abortion jokes will be offensive to some, and the game pokes many extreme jokes at religion, a little racism and even nazis. Language is everywhere, with the main character's name being Douchebag. This is South Park we're talking about so that shouldn't be a surprise. Sing it together now - fans of the show will like it. In that case, the only fans of the show should be kids well over 16, or even over 18. This is a game that really pushes the M for Mature rating, and should not be taken lightly unless you think your child is extremely mature and can really handle it.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking