Want personalized picks that fit your family?

Set preferences to see our top age-appropriate picks for your kids.

Get age-based picks

Parent reviews for The Sims 2

Common Sense says

Even more realistic, but not for kids and tweens.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 12+
Based on 44 reviews

Kids say

age 11+
Based on 184 reviews
Adult Written byashadoodle April 9, 2008
The Sims 2 has pros and cons. It is a fun game. There is a little sexual content (Rolling under the sheets, bubbly hot tubs.) Adult characters can drink at home bars. Sims have the ability to fight. If kids get bad grades, they may be sent to military school. On the positives, Sims do hold down jobs (adults and teens) to fund their lives. This game teaches life lessons, like grocery shopping, caring for babies, the impact of death, etc.
Parent of a 13 year old Written byZyplexer September 1, 2009

its ok for kids that all ready know about sex

my 13 year old loves it she knows all about sex so no worries
Adult Written bypunk_butters April 9, 2008

The Sims is Great!

Why did they put 16+? Too high. No, it's not meant meant for kids under 10, but I think it's more like 11+. So there's sex in the bed, you don't really see it & it's part of life.
Adult Written bybenbarbsmommy April 9, 2008

A lesson to be learned

I am sure some people think i am crazy to give this game such a rating. Well, it is very realistic about pregnancy, raising a child, peer pressure, keeping a house clean, eating right and exercising, hygene, having a job to get the things one wants, and getting the wants. This game doesn't instantly give you the best things first. You have to move your sim to everyday situations to move along with life. You have to earn what you get and there is no instant in the game which makes some players not liking it. I own "The Sims" and my husband disliked it because, you had a budget, you had to get a yucky job and had to keep your sims bar a happy green to move on to a new career or relationship. All you had to do in the first Sims was to keep that Sim in the green. Very easy concept.. Sims 2 is more developmental then the first because, you not only have to keep that Sim in the green but, you have to develop that sim at the same time by them experiancing more realistic challedges then the first game. I suggest if you are a teen or a parent of a older teen...get this game and I bet that teen will learn alot about responsablity in this game. With the Sexual Content in the game..No it isnt for younger kids or younger Teens. but, it is apart of most peoples lives. I dont believe it is over graphic and they do have that wonderful blur... Thanks
Parent of a 10 and 13 year old Written byTheMers December 11, 2010

Too much sex for kids...

I happened upon the kids playing this game one day. I didn't pay it much mind until I happened to see one of the kids had made a female character dressed in a tube top and short shorts with too much make up caked on going around kissing every one. This was the goal of the character to get X amount of kiss from whoever. As for the "wooHoo" I didn't see any but have been told that it is when two characters get under the covers and can try to make a baby. I don't feel this is appropriate for my 10 or 13 year old and I'm not going allow them to play it anymore. Some may consider my views old fashion but I wouldn't allow kids under the age of 18 to play.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Parent of a 9 and 12 year old Written bymrscw1234 November 16, 2008

Very Good Game

This is a very good game. There is no violence. There is kissing and some suggestions of sex (none seen.) I would say 10 and up.
Adult Written byMatt B. November 8, 2015

Rated M: sexual content

This game is with characters that have sex, you can hear the sex sounds.
Adult Written bySims_Lover June 19, 2011

amazing game with important life-lessons

Sims 2 is an amazing game that teaches kids many lessons about their future. Yes, there may be some sexual scenes in the game, but the "WooHoo" and "try for a baby" are shown under the covers. The covers move up and down and you hear some giggling, but after 5-10 seconds it is over. considering violence, sims can fight with each other but is shown under a cartoonish cloud. Sims can buy a bar for their home, but the only drinks are juice, or smoothies. Sims teaches many life-lessons for your children, for example: if you make your sim a lazy sim, they will refuse to go to work, therefore get fired and recieve no income. They will not be able to afford to pay their bills, and the repo man will come and take away your stuff. Overall it is a wonderful game. My kids and I enjoy it very much. i reccommend this game to anyone 10+.

This title contains:

Educational Value
Positive Messages
Positive role models
Parent of a 12 year old Written byVlad22 July 30, 2013

Sims 2 is amazing, don't listen to Common sense media.

Common sense media is already iritating me. 16+ for Sims 2? Sims 2 is E10+ or even lower! Don't listen to CSM, just stupid stuff! It's perfect! Good for 7 and up!

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Sexy stuff
Adult Written byHelenala December 27, 2014

depends

To be honest, this is actually pretty clean in comparison to most teenage entertainment these days. If you ask me, 90 % of the game is actually pg. The only thing making it teen is the fact that players have the option to commit homosexual acts and woohoo (sex). The sex is mostly covered though. If your child is mature he could play but for most children id say wait till twelve.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Sexy stuff
Adult Written byForknose April 9, 2008

Perfecting Perfection

Well the Original Sims was one of the few amazing games to recieve my perfection stamp. A game with great replayability and gameplay, not to mention fun. You get to make a world of your own. The expansion packs were great additions minus the animal and magic ones. Sims 2 doesn't have all the expansion updates (yet....) but it does have improvements on just about everything. The graphics, for one, are just amazing. They are not the best graphics but easily top ten material. The sound is the same as the original Sims, but you don't need improvement there. Simlish returns and is a great thing for the game, you know what they mean too, whether you can understand it or not. The gameplay has been improved by a selection of what you are doing better. An example would be instead of just selecting to talk, you can select talk and what kind of talking (chat, brag, ect.). The game is replayable and they did this very nicely by giving the game no end, therefore you can keep doing new things. Yes this game has more innuendo in it, but it isn't too explicit when you think of music and television kids are into these days. The Sims 2 is better then the Sims 1, the bad thing is that you may wish your life is more like your Sims.
Adult Written byanniebannanie April 9, 2008

Love this game... but I'm an adult!

This is such a fun game; but beware for young kids... it's really only appropriate for older teens!
Parent of a 5, 10, and 13 year old Written byMotherKnows June 22, 2016

Teen Friendly

In all honesty, I believe CSM is overreacting. Really, 16+? My 13yr old jas been playing this game since she was 11. She played the first one at 9. I do admit there is A LITTLE sex, but it's all voluntary, the player decides to WhoHoo, make out, or try for baby. And it's all censored or you just plain can't see it. And ALL nudity is censored. Even when taking a shower! As far as alcohol goes, there is a bar you can buy for your house, but you can made juice. THAT'S IT! No tequila or marg or even a dachery!Drug references are NON EXISTANT in this game. You know how racing games say alcohol references and how you can't find any? Well there you go. Then, there is the language and violence so they say. Well, they speak Smish, a language created by EA. Basically, there is no language! Just baby jibberish. And you know how in Tom and Jerry their fighting scenes are those comical grey clouds? Well they're in Sims 2 as well. If you aren't letting your 13yr olds play this, you're holding them back! They KNOW what sex is! And they probably have heard you or have watched pornography. They know not to do drugs and alcohol.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Adult Written byaecdoglover April 9, 2008

Much like real life

This game is much like real like. You have to get a job, have responsabilities, create a budget and more.
Adult Written byjk320 April 9, 2008

Sims go through every day activities.

Although I do agree that the game is not for younger players due to Sexual content and social conduct but these characters do what you tell them to and go through real life situations that everyone will eventually learn about in their life. If your child dosn't already know about the prospect of affairs and things then your child isn't fully aware of anything. The game can give a player the sense of moral. Would I really do this? This is hurting the other character. Things like that. It can help a player unlock a question through game play. Like in movies and tv, it's okay to shelter your kids but sooner or later they are gonna want to know what every one else is talking about and they might just find out for themselves if you won't let them. You might as well be there for the ride and be a helping hand instead of them getting it from the wrong person. Movies can tell them that somthing is bad because of how something is played out and how a character is miserable for the rest of their life becasue of having a baby to early in life. That's just an example.
Adult Written byMovie_Nerd101 April 9, 2008
Adult Written byMichelle A. December 26, 2016

The Sims 2 Pet Stories

It features mostly, pets, so I think it’s okay for 11 and up.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Adult Written byadheisler11 June 27, 2016

The best sims game. Even in 2016.

This game was launched in 2004. In my opinion its more realistic than the sims 4. The graphics you can tell are dated. But they were going for realistic/sexy. Instead of the cartoony graphics they use in the sims 4. In some ways the sims are more lifelike in the sims 2. The actions the sims have are the most realistic in this game. For example teens get pimples. If they have bad hygiene. This game is more sexualized then the sims 3 and 4. So that is why I selected 14 and up. The making out and whoo scenes. Are more detailed then the newer sims games. But they still aren't that graphic. Something else to mention is the clothing. Pretty much all the clothes for teen girls show there stomach. This is true for the adult sim females as well. The clothes are late 90s, to mid 2000s styles. So one could expect belly shirts and low rise jeans. I guess the mom and daughters can both be dressed sexy.
Adult Written byAllie P. May 22, 2016

Fun and very addictive

I love this game and it's quite realistic with lots of fun expansion packs. There is not much violence and no bad language in the game (the characters speak in a made up language), but characters are able to have sex (woohooing), which isn't too explicit, but it's obvious what it is.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Sexy stuff
Adult Written byurmomantha March 19, 2015

Fun, but complex!

Ah, the Sims 2. The Sims 2 is my favorite of all of the Sims games and frankly, I think (even as an owner of all the other games) 2 is my favorite. Now, the Sims 2 can be a lot of fun and a lot of responsibility. I personally don't think I'd allow my young children to play this game but maybe a dumbed down version (Sims 3 for Nintendo DS is a great choice) because it gives you mostly complete creative control as far as the Sims go. Whether that be dressing them or having them woohoo with everyone in town. For me, the game is just fun. I usually set up a town and have a ton of different people. Sims can be promiscuous and that is a big reason myself why I wouldn't let my child get too involved with this game. I was about fourteen when I started to play and even then I didn't grasp it's full potential. This game is so important to me and my favorite out of all. But it can be a lot.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff

Pages