Want personalized picks that fit your family?

Set preferences to see our top age-appropriate picks for your kids.

Get age-based picks

Parent reviews for The Witcher 2: Assassins of Kings

Common Sense says

Mature fantasy RPG is full of sex, violence, profanity.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 14+
Based on 19 reviews

Kids say

age 14+
Based on 11 reviews
Adult Written bySorrow October 7, 2011

One great game if your over 18+

This is probably one of the best games I've played in years, but it is absolutely not safe for children. It's a M rated game for all the reasons M should be put on a game. Despite what the tags say, it shows full body nudity. cocaine use swearing like the language is harsh. But it's surprisingly well written, the thing that got me about the game is that after 20 years of playing videogames I've gotten used to people in games acting like videogame avatars.. But the people in these games act surprisingly 'human'... Edit: A P.S: And if your P.C. can handle it... You need high end specs for this game...

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Parent of a 13 and 14 year old Written byDavidBlack222 October 15, 2014

Good for mature teens

This game is not nearly as violent as many people say it is, heads may at some points be chopped off but the level golf gore is about as bad as games that are rated teen like infamous and games almost rated teen like Skyrim. This game forces you or your child to make some difficult decisions and teaches your teen about morality and human nature. It has breathtaking graphics and an amazing story, I would recommend this game for both young and old teens that are mature. The game also has a gore setting meaning that if needed the game can have little to no blood, also all of the sexual cutscenes are skippable so if your child is squeamish about sex it won't be a problem.
Adult Written byLowix August 15, 2011

Very frustrating and just vulgar

Very frustrating and just vulgar. The gameplay is very frustrating, there are many boss fights that kill you with one hit, and you will be watching the loading screen more than you will be playing. Also, everything seemed over the top gratuitous. I don't think a char in this Witcher world can form a sentence without using the F word.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byGathison November 10, 2014

Why you should think twice.

Being a huge fan of the universe of Sapkowski's "The Witcher" I own the books and have even considered learning Polish so I can read the books that have not been translated into English yet. As you could probably guess, I was excited when I got another opportunity to take control of Geralt of Rivia (The Main character aka "The Witcher") and begin a great and dark journey into the politically controversial fantasy world I had fallen for back when it was only shown to me by words written on pages. But despite that, I cannot support the idea of allowing children to experience this world while they are still so young. Violence in the forms of abuse, rape, oppression, torture and genocide are apparent in the heavy atmosphere of The Witcher 2. The violence is not as simple and straight-forward as you might see it in many other M rated titles, it is far more vicious and despicable. Drug and alcohol use is a must for both your character (Geralt) and the people surrounding you. (This included drugs similar to opium, hallucinogens, etc) Profanity by the use of every word you can likely think of (for clarification: The "F" word and all others as vulgar and lesser.) Blood and gore on par with what you might see in the popular television show "The Walking Dead" including dismemberment and frequent bloodshed through combat and ritual. Also, some of the most graphically displayed sexuality and nudity known to the gaming universe. These instances of sexual activity are either story-driven or pointless depending on player choice. A player can engage in romances with characters like "Triss Merigold" and "Ves". These romances are deep and romantic, but the pay-off for devotion to these characters is sex displayed with full nudity including breasts, buttocks and genital regions, explicit sexual movements in intercourse, sodomy, etc. and dirty talk along with moaning and pleasured screaming. Yeah, it is extremely graphic. The end point is that this game contains absolutely everything it can when it comes to being rated M for Mature, more so than other titles like "Grand Theft Auto" and "Call of Duty". Does this content litter the game? Absolutely not. It all serves its purpose. Whether or not you and I can agree on the necessity of graphic sexuality being present in a game doesn't matter. The point is, it is there, and you have to decide whether or not that is something YOU believe is alright for your children or even yourself to play for the sake of recreation. My advice? If you watch "Game of Thrones" on HBO, then you have already experienced the maturity this game contains. But if your children or yourself haven't watched/played something with as much mature content as this game, than this game is probably not suited for your lifestyle. Thanks for reading!

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byShade123 October 15, 2014

Good for everyone 10+

Unless your child is extremely immature you won't have a problem with this game. Everything is controllable through the settings menu and the sex is optional, have fun!
Parent of a 16 year old Written byladybug555 October 15, 2014

Similar to Lord of the Rings

My husband, daughter, and I all play and love this game, it has a wonderful story and characters you can really connect with. The romance options teach kids about developing a loving relationship with another, it does not have the same sexual violence and objectification of women that Dragon Age had which is a welcome break. The violence in this game in low and avoidable in many scenarios. This game is good for young, mature teens as it develops them emotionally and teaches them that their actions have consequences. The only thing I didn't like was the swearing but even that was not that bad.

This title contains:

Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Parent of a 14 year old Written byMrs.Connors October 15, 2014

Not as bad as you think

My son plays this game all the time and loves it. The level of violence compared to most M rated games is very low, I've been a gamer all my life and I think that if you don't normally let your child play games with a mature rating then this will be great. It has all the drama of a kingdom at war mixed with beautiful characters amazing graphics and a plot that makes you grow as a person. All of the romance scenarios are done very tastefully in a way that does not objectify the women in them, also the player has control over sex, language, and violence in the setting section meaning it can be more or less mature based on what the player wants.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Ease of Play
Parent of a 12 and 15 year old Written byEric Stimpson May 23, 2015

Would be a great game without sex

I am a gamer and this is a pretty good game. When my wife took a work trip i thought i would let my 15 year old son take a shot at it. The only reason i didn't let my 11 year old son play it was the partial nudity. (quick shots of breasts and butts.) If you have a mature 14 year old than all 3 Witcher games should be okay.
Adult Written byPrearistotle January 29, 2013

Mediocre at best.

You get thrown into a sex scene pretty early into the game. The sex cinematics are graphic (equivalent to pixel porn) and, unless you don't mind skipping story, they cannot be skipped because they tie in story before and after the sex scene. The game itself was mediocre at best, but the overuse of sex was a major turn off for me. Dishonored and Assassin's Creed combat put this game to shame.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byShepard554 October 15, 2014

Buy it now!

A fantastic game with a great story, this was also rated M for sex not violence. My wife was worried about buying it for our 12 year old kid because she had read it was violent but this is untrue. The only reason you should maybe keep this game away from your kid is if you dislike we in your household, otherwise it should be fine.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Adult Written bychristian2011 December 7, 2012

Very well-made fantasy role-playing game, but strictly for adults.

The Witcher 2 : Assassins of Kings is a visually stunning role playing fantasy game where you get to choose options (sort of like Heavy Rain and Dishonored) except this options can result in very explicit situations, such as sexual intercourse and bloodshed. Sexual content in this game is a major concern for players, becuase there is explicit depiction of thrusting including penetration, moaning, and graphic nudity (breasts, genitals and buttocks) are involved. Violence that occurs is bloody, brutal and sometimes disturbing. Language is infrequent but is strong at times (uses of f**k, sh*t, c**k, c**t, godd**n) and other crude dialogue. There are multiple scenes where you see people drinking and smoking, plus alot of references to drinking.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Parent of a 17 year old Written bySpintex October 16, 2014

Good for a developing mind

This game can teach your child a lot, fortunately it is not to bad and the only thing to watch out for is the sex.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Adult Written bySeus October 15, 2014

Loved it

I play games with my son all the time and I was hesitant to buy him an M rated game but I was pleasantly surprised. It was not at all violent unlike what I had read on here and it was easy to play with a plot worthy of such a highly praised RPG. Buy this for your child even if you normally don't let them play Mature games, it is worth it. The one thing you need to watch out for though is sex, fortunately there is no rape which was what worried me but you could still engage in sexual avers with other characters.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Parent of a 14 year old Written bydad1237 November 28, 2014

Fine for teenagers, not below.

I watched my son attack and kill several monsters and people alike, but then again, we also happen to watch gory movies such as Saw or shows like The Walking Dead. The amount of blood in there is much less then what he has already witnessed. The sexual scenes involve no genitalia, which is my only concern. We have all been exposed to breasts, as we breastfeed on our mothers. As a conclusion, this is a game fine for teenagers, as the sexual content is low, and the violence is reasonable.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Adult Written bySleepyOne October 15, 2014

Buy it for a mature young teen

This game teaches your child a lot of interesting things about morality, sexuality, and how serious the voices you make are. It fortunately was about as violent as Lord of the Rings and the sex was nothing your child hasn't seen in a PG-13 movie.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written bySmartParent222 October 15, 2014

Should have been teen

This is a game with very little violence, the reason it is M is because of sex and language. If those two things aren't big deals for you then this is a good game, the first was still better though.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Adult Written byBothnianReviews February 3, 2019

Medieval fantasy.

Personally i don't get the whole shock about the sex scenes in Witcher, there are not even many sex-scenes in Witcher 2, actually i don't remember any particular one at the moment. But c'mon if you are fine with killing people with swords and axes, how come breasts are so horrible? breasts and other body parts are natural, where as killing tens or hundreds of soldiers is not so everyday thing. That being said the violence in this game isn't in my opinion any worse than it is in the game Skyrim, so if you let your kids play Skyrim you could as well let them play this. The story in the Witcher games might be leaning towards adults though... Just make sure that your kid is 14+ and it should be fine. Compared to Witcher 3 this is not quite as good, so that's why i give only 4/5 and not 5/5 in rating, also i felt like this lacked some of the atmosphere present in Witcher 1, where as Witcher 3 is like this very cool mixture between witcher 1 and 2 + a lot bigger world to explore... Still why not play all the witcher games with your (14+) kids ? I understand that there is violence,references to drugs,sex, and gambling (or acts of these things) but its all depicted in such a way, that i don't see it harmful for anyone who is 14 years or older. I am a young adult trying to write sensible evaluations of games that i have played, its shocking that people give lower ratings to extremely gory horror game Resident Evil 7 (good game too but only for adults) and this game which is basically the equivalent of Lord of the Rings, there is also smoking and drinking in lord of the rings, there is no sex - but seeing a naked character can't be that bad can it? you see a lot of naked people even as a kid if you go to sauna or swimming hall locker room don't you?
Parent of a 16 year old Written byPolingeddy January 27, 2019

Pornography, parents beware!

This game is pornography. I didn't even make it through the first set of cutscenes.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Adult Written byGeraltOfRivia2077 September 26, 2018

Game of the Century, will play again

This game has practically NO nudity, little violence, minor profanity, and IT TEACHES KIDS EVERYTHING THEY NEED TO KNOW ABOUT REAL LIFE. Take my daughter, for example. Before playing this game, she had no direction in life, and was practically a loser. Now she has straight A+ grades in all subjects and is graduating college and is almost a millionaire, running HER OWN BUSINESS. Geralt is a GREAT role model, he does so many good things for the world he lives in. Triss is an empowered female role model, and is capable of standing up to any man in the world. In conclusion, The Witcher 2 is, without a doubt, a true masterpiece of modern art. It transcends the barriers of our mere mortal understanding and ascends to a new plane of reality beyond that which we puny humans are even capable of comprehending. It has touched my heart forever, and I am a deeply changed man. I give The Witcher 2 a perfect score of 100/100, and graciously declare it to be winner of the 2000-3000 Millennium Award. Truly, humanity has finally reached its ultimate evolutionary form.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Ease of Play