Parent reviews for Undertale

Common Sense says

Satirical RPG endorses peaceful conflict resolution.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 9+
Based on 67 reviews

Kids say

age 10+
Based on 397 reviews
Adult Written byGamerMedic February 1, 2016

Choices Make the Game

Depending on the path chosen, this game can be incredibly lighthearted, or incredibly...bleak.

In the pacifist route the game is fairly cheerful, and the player earns the trust and respect of everyone they meet, and relying on these friendships is shown as a strength. The game praises players for pursuing a peaceful path.

The genocide route is not something that can be done by "accident" much like it is hardly an "accident" to be a pacifist. You must hunt down and kill off each and every single monster in the underground. The background music changes, and the characters react with fear to you, and warn you to stop your actions many times. It quickly turns pretty creepy, but there's nothing inappropriate about it.

The only "accidental" path is the Neutral path which happens by not meeting requirements for Pacifist or Genocide.

Something else to notice while playing this game is that it leans heavily on players assuming things based on common video game tropes. For instance, if you screw up and restart quickly a character may call you out for restarting. In a second play through there are definitely characters who will say you look "familiar" at times, as if this has all happened before.

All in all this is a wonderful game, and my only real complaint is that I wish there was more to love! It may still be a bit early to declare this an "instant classic" but I hope it sticks around for gamers to cherish and remember for years to come. For kids and adults, I think there's something we can all learn about ourselves from this simple indie title that the internet won't shut up about lately.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Adult Written byA Goofy Dad November 4, 2018

Bad Comments are *Gasp!* Symptoms of Being a Teenager!

I played it, I loved it, I came here to see whether it was appropriate for my 12 year old (I don't trust myself) and look what I find, parents of teenagers blaming the angst on Undertale. If parents are coming here reading the reviews, and then denying the game from your kids, don't be fooled. My degree in psychology makes me pretty sure those are all regular teenage things, not to say those shouldn't be dealt with, but it's not the game's fault. The kids are just finding something they like, and as most teenagers do, find places that demonize this perfectly wonderful thing. Okay, maybe the children took the game the wrong way after looking into it a bit, but don't judge it to harshly. So maybe do what I did and play it yourself first.

Your Welcome, A Goofy Dad

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Consumerism
Adult Written bymitsukik January 22, 2016

Brilliant, emotional, and clever, some scary parts, thematically heavy.

This is a game everyone should play, preferably with as few spoilers as possible. The game provides meta commentary on the habits of gamers, not just the habit of killing everything in sight, but also saving, 100% completion, and going through files. It is indeed possible to go through the game without hurting anyone. It's overflowing with positive messages, and has excellent music and a clever sense of humor. Regardless of how you play it, it's an emotional roller coaster and might make some people cry, but also warm people's hearts.

As mentioned, the game is also very thematically heavy. The game seems silly and lighthearted at first glance, but behind the armored dogs and skeleton puns, it deals with some mature themes like divorce, coping with loss, depression, a metaphor for gender dysphoria, and even suicide. And while the game rewards you for pacifism, if you decide to go in the opposite direction and kill a lot of characters, the game WILL punish you for it. The characters will treat you like a murderer and become horrified by your actions, and the game will do anything it can to make you feel guilty, and the player's actions can even permanently affect future playthoughs! All of these things you should talk to younger kids about. It really depends on the kid, though. Some kids might be upset or confused, some kids understand it and enjoy it, and other younger kids might not even notice the heavy themes and just enjoy the fun gameplay and jokes.

Aside from the heavy themes, there is very little in the way of violence, sex and swearing (some very mild expletives rarely, some mild flirting), however, one thing parents and guardians need to know is that this game has some scary parts. Some parts, like the final boss of the neutral route, the True Lab, and the entire No-Mercy route are terrifying/unsettling enough to give some adults nightmares, yet alone kids!

Also, small correction. One of the characters referred to as "him" in the review is female.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Adult Written bythe right rater February 20, 2016

common sense media is wrong

great game for all ages,it should be played at anytime any day its fun has good role models and people say the genocide run is bad their right but the game tries to stop you from being mean and hurting anyone plus it has great humor and is all around great. the only bad part about undertale is the community in some ways and the people who don't like the game.my point is play the game its fun nice and awsome and has good role models and i love this game. so why won't other people like the game?

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Ease of Play
Adult Written byjaxxr_ June 23, 2016

One of the best RPGs i've seen in a while

I recently bought my little brother and sister a steam gift card to get a game or two. One of the games that they picked out was Undertale. I've noticed that Undertale was directed towards teens rather then little kids. But really theres nothing to be supervising about. The characters in this game are very lovable and the enviroment of the game is similar to the games I have played as a child. I also have noticed that there are swearing in this game, but only appears a couple times and are very mild. Good game!

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Ease of Play
Adult Written byBlueBolt April 2, 2020

Beautiful game! Read my (Long) review, As I have a lot to say (because I have played this game 5 times.)

First off, Let me say that this game is NOT "Satanic" or "Disturbing".
The only CLOSE thing to "Disturbing" is the final boss fight of the neutral and pacifist routes.

Good messages: 5/5
The games MAIN message is that all conflicts can be resolved without violence, and that you should always to the right thing. The games also has many themes about differences, Loss, And anger issues (Flowey).

Good role models: 4/5
There are many characters who represent specific feelings or emotions.
Undyne: Determination (Pun not intended)
Papyrus: Happiness and goofiness.
Sans: Humor, Defensiveness, and also represents a roe model for his younger brother. While Sans is lazy and sometimes apathetic, He cares for his brother very much.
Alphys: Love, Helpfulness, Inventor, (And also Alphys IS lesbian for Undyne, Not that there's anything wrong with that.
Flowey: Anger and Loneliness.
Toriel: Care and protection
ASGORE: Loneliness and also care and protection, Feelings of loss.

Swearing and vulgar language: 2/5
Undyne and Sans (In the genocide route) both say 1 swear word each in their boss battles, Such as:
Hell (Sans)
Damn (Undyne)
And Flowey calls the player, Frisk, an Idiot MULTIPLE times.

Sexual content and other stuff like that: 1/5
In the True pacifist route, You go on a "Date" (Which is only there for comedic purposes, so nothing sexual happens) with Alphys, And you get to role-play (To help Alphys build up courage to confess her love for Undyne) as Undyne, And you are given the option to act as Undyne and say "And then Undyne kisses you" to Alphys, And Alphys gets flusterred and hollers "UNDYNE! I LOVE YOU! KISS ME AGAIN, UNDYNE!" Although it is just role-play and doesn't exactly happen in that scene. (Although they DO kiss in the credits, But its just a peck on the cheek.)
Some sexual references which will go over kids heads, such as when on a "date" with Sans's little brother, Papyrus, If you ask papyrus you want to have the date in his room, He responds with:
"Sure, Lets go into my room and do whatever people do in the others room on dates!"
(All they do is talk and you have to respond to questions and eat spaghetti, Nothing sexual.)

Violence and scariness: 3/5
One of the game's final boss (Omega/Photoshop Flowey) is mildly disturbing and WILL give some immature kids nightmares. There is also a "True lab", Which houses creepy and unsettling mixed-together monsters, And there is a weird white figure that tucks you into bed out of nowhere, But other than that it just has an overall EERIE vibe.
While you DO have the choice to kill and kill and kill, there is an emphasis on pacifism, and you WILL get punished with a jumpscare and a corrupted file if you kill every enemy you find. Which is called a GENOCIDE ROUTE. It sucks and is really hard.

Drinking, Drugs, And smoking: 1/5
There is a pub in Snowdin where some characters appear to be drunk, But there is no actual beer or alcohol in the pub.
You can find dog treats on the floor, and interacting with them will say
"Looks like SOMEONES been smoking dog treats."
A food vendor, Burgerpants, Appears to be smoking a cigar.
"Cig" and "Cigar" are hidden in a word search, which does not need to be completed to progress through the area.

Overall rating, 11/10, Would play for an 11th time, and is a GREAT game.
Also has BEAUTIFUL and also sometimes kooky and weird music, and the song "Fallen Down (Reprise)" Made me cry every time it was played. Thanks for reading MY review....
OF UNDERTALE!!! ( I know its long sry about that)

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Adult Written byqhqhqh April 15, 2019

I'm in awe.

If I could give Undertale more than 5 stars, I would do so in a heartbeat. To me, this isn't even a game, it's a story. It's such an emotional masterpiece that will keep you hooked right to the very end. Undertale features 3 endings, all with their own unique aspects. There is some mild language, along with some violence, plus some themes that may be a touch sensitive to a younger audience, but that doesn't take away from the emotions the game will make you feel. For myself, it's actually even helped me tap into an apparent love I've ignited for writing, and I've written several fan stories for the game. An absolute emotional masterpiece, and would recommend any day.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Ease of Play
Adult Written byKris H. April 4, 2018

UNDERTALE IS A GREAT GAME FOR ALL AGES!!

I AM 21 I still play dis game, i am even married.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Parent of a 11-year-old Written bymaguys August 12, 2016

makes you think

if it sets out to make the player think about mindless video game violence, i think it succeeds. It makes realize that everything is not black and white. If you choose genocide mode , by the end you are asking yourself "who is the monster here?"
Also it is fun and funny.

This title contains:

Positive role models
Ease of Play
Parent of a 3, 5, 10, and 12-year-old Written byTipsAndTricks January 17, 2016

Is Undertale Appropiate For Kids?

Personally I agree with common sense media, this game is a great game for kids! There may be some violence every now and then, but for ages 9+, it's not that bad. This game is very interesting, it gives you like 2 paths, you can choose to be a murder (9+) or choose to make peace and be friends with everyone. (8+) When I was walking by my sons computer the other day, I did hear some mild language but it's not that bad.
Parent of a 17-year-old Written byKingWhaleIII February 18, 2019

Read

SPOILERS!!! This game is a really good game. It has three routes you can choose from, Pacifist, Neutral, and Genocide. Obviously Pacifist route is the nice route where you go sparing all the monsters and don’t hurt them. Neutral is where you spare most of the monsters but you kill some of them. Now Genocide is where you go on a killing rampage and kill all the monsters. I think 10+ should play this game because most younger kids wouldn’t really think of doing Genocide route or hurting any of the monsters in general, so it should be fine for them. It does have some creepy parts, say where Flowey tries to kill you at the beginning of the game, or the big boss at the end which just happens to also be Flowey, but it’s really not enough to give your kids nightmares. It has some curse words, like four, if you count some that are said during Genocide route. If you play through the game with Pacifist, the most curse words you’ll get is maybe 3, one from Alphys and two from Undyne. Genocide, you’ll get the 3 from both of them and one from Sans and maybe a few other characters. The words are “damn” “hell” “piss” and “crap” so they aren’t really THAT bad. All in all you should probably watch this YouTuber “DanTDM” Play it, or play it for yourself if you really wanna decide to get it for your kid. I’ve played it, and my daughter really loves it, so I suggest just getting the game for your child, but keep a close eye on them, because the fandom of the game is really not kid friendly and they might sort of ruin your kid. Not the game though, the people that like the game.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Ease of Play
Adult Written byGhost chan January 26, 2019

Life Changing

This game is an absolutely incredible game. My nieces have had a lot of fun playing it, and I have too. The game has a wonderful variety of characters that everyone can enjoy, as well as look up to. Many of the characters are wonderful role models. The game teaches wonderful lessons about friendship, kindness, and morals. It really portrays how your actions and speech impact yourself and those around you. HOWEVER. Although this game itself is very unique and child friendly, I do recommend monitoring your child's intake of Undertale media outside the game. The collective fandom (groups of people who are fans of the specified game) of Undertale does contain a lot of adults who draw pornography and sexually explicit content of the characters. Such art and media is very easily accessible. The game itself is very clean, but be cautious if your child wants to look up art, videos, and such.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Ease of Play
Adult Written bySomeSJW December 3, 2018

I like Sans

Sans is so funny. Even his voice made me laugh. Play Undertale for Sans, nothing else! After I played Undertale, I wish Sans is in every video game I own. Sans is my inspiration. Sans is my role model. Sans is my Sans!
Adult Written byellohelloh10 May 10, 2019

Why do people hate this game. Spoiler Warning

This is by far one of the best Indie games ever made. I don't understand why Chara is so hated. Chara is the ending to the genocide run which punishes you for even attempting to do so. All the characters are lovable. An amazing game with lovely dialogue and amazing soundtrack

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Ease of Play
Adult Written bySmartjamer1001 A. November 22, 2017

Amazing!

This is absolutely great game! The characters are fun, and they give off positive vibes and messages (listed at the bottom.) If another parent complains because the used 'damn' a few times, than I am going to lose my mind.

There is a genocide route, but there's no actual blood, except for a little from Sans. While the gamed this does take some talent to get far enough, it is easy to control! I would recommend this for the whole family.

Messages:
Toriel ~ Differences can be put aside and you can make friends with anyone.
Papyrus ~ Being positive is an important aspect of life.
Undyne ~ Everyone can be strong, no matter what you think you are.
Mettaton ~ You can be whatever you want, as long as you just try.
Sans ~ Your family is important, so make sure you spend enough time with them.
Asgore ~ Even if someone no longer is near you, they still love you, even if they pretend they don't.

Basically, this game is absolutely great!

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Adult Written byBrotherhood of S. September 5, 2016

AMAZING GAME

What's not to like about it? First of all, Papyrus is a quirky cinammon roll who is my favourite character. I also ADORE Alphys. She is so cute and shy. She is Asgore's royal scientist who made Mettaton, the fan favourite.
I highly suggest this game. But I said 8+ because it has words like "damn".

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Ease of Play
Language
Adult Written byREEEEEE.SUKANUT.COM October 4, 2019

ThIs GaMe iZ dA BeST

tHe SkElEToN bRoThErs aRE tHe FunNNIest iN tHe EnTire gAME

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Ease of Play
Adult Written bychara dreamur August 4, 2018

its ok

kids can play it is really good

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Ease of Play
Adult Written byDeath_the_kid June 17, 2016

It's a great game!

It's a phenomenal game during the pacifist route (Including the genocide route) and one occasion a point where it says something about smoking (doesn't really matter) and the genocide route may seem scary due to a certain ending moment. And certain frequences of hell and damn do show up. But other then that. It has quirky characters and storyline. (along with some punny and sansational jokes) throught the game. with two phenomenal endings. with an all out great message.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Ease of Play
Adult Written byUnderSwap Papyrus August 6, 2020

alright here's what I think.

This game made my son think that the monster under the bed was just Sans doing a crossword. This game teaches your kids not to be scared of the skeleton in the closet. they will fall asleep A LOT BETTER. trust me. try to steer your kids away from the genocide route, because then they'll try to stab the teddy bear they sleep with. but that's just my review.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Ease of Play

Pages