All teen and kid member reviews for After Earth

Kids say

(out of 22 reviews)
age 11+
Review this title!
Teen, 16 years old Written byUnknownpearson May 30, 2013

12+!

Love it. A lit a bit a language, d-mn and one more .some drinking ,cyber almost takes pain killers that would drowsy. Entirely giving his broken legs hope of rescue, but decides against it.there are some sequences of blood and gore, as when cypher must operate on his own leg Kai tai sees some baby eggs that he was not able to save.12+!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 10 years old June 15, 2013

9 OR 8 AND UP

this is for 9 and up or 8 if your child does not like scary pop ups or teens getting hurt and death and this movie is very good with a good message about family
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 17 years old Written bymoviewannabe July 16, 2013

AWFUL!!! JUST AWFUL!!!!

The thought of a man and his son getting stuck on a quarantined planet that filled with dangerous animals and lethal perils is very, very sick!!!! I don't really think anybody should watch this film!!! Only a fool would make a movie like this!!!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 11 years old June 22, 2013

Great movie for 12 and up

After Earth is a great movie for 12 and up. There are scary, gory and bloody scenes, but it has a good message. It is an action packed, intense movie that some kids under 12 would be scared of possibly. There is mild language, but it is not something to worry about. I definitely recommend the movie After Earth for at least 12 and up.
Kid, 10 years old June 8, 2013

AFTER EARTH IS FILM OF THE YEAR SO FAR

a fantastic movie, with tons of action and excitement. My favourite film of the year so far. I really don't think this should of gotten the bad reviews it got, like on Rotten Tomatoes giving it one star. Come on this is quality entertainment. M Night Shaymalan is a fantastic director
Teen, 15 years old Written byheyzoos February 11, 2016

will smith is the writer

plot holes....will smith is bad at writing a complete story with things to drive the plot. As far as a coming of age story, it's fine.....just fine.......dont waste ur money just watch a bootleg if u must
Teen, 16 years old Written byTV man 13245768 October 18, 2015

A WILL SMITH FILM

This movie is alright. It is about the future and it just disappointed me. There is some action. You see creepy monsters dead bodies and blood. You also see this extremely creepy part that I was not expecting to see. A girl turns evil while the kid is sleeping and she looks so SCARY. The alien monster can trick humans into having nightmares. There is not really any sex in this movie. You will only find kissing in this movie. The language is not strong at all. You only hear the words shit and hell. There is no drinking drugs or smoking so this movie would be great for children age 11 and up. Be with them because there is some frightening scenes.
What other families should know
Great role models
Kid, 8 years old May 15, 2015

Very violent, but great movie is OK for teens.

My rating PG-13 for: intense violence, language, and drug content.
What other families should know
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written byjb223 May 13, 2014

Boring Film but exactly what you'd expect from M. Night Shyamalan

Not sure how this could get 3 Stars this should be 2 Stars at Max but even that is too generous.
Teen, 13 years old Written byMovie Watcher 2000 April 6, 2014

After earth, I think is a good film to watch with kids age 8+.

I think it's a great film, Where father and son are in it together, As they are in real life I recommend this movie.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 16 years old Written byJavier Noyola February 9, 2014

horrible

made not much sense with barely any fight scenes.
Teen, 16 years old Written bywillman72 November 28, 2013

good movie

may be scary for young viewers only issue is violence but good message about fear and a father and son bond remind me a bit of star trek
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byMinecraft Lover 2013 November 6, 2013

Exciting, and a good family bonding.

After Earth is an exciting action movie about survival, father and son, and futuristic worlds. I personally really liked it, and it's okay for older kids and teens.
Kid, 11 years old October 27, 2013

DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME WATCHING THIS DUMB MOVIE.

THIS IS DUMB.It's is boring,but the special effects were good.It's violent,including blood a bloody artieral bypass and more.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 14 years old Written bykatnissthegirlonfire October 23, 2013

Heart Warming

Great movie, it is really thought provoking and heart warming. It is all about a boy that wants to prove himself to his dad and battles against ferocious beasts that once loved us but when humans left earth they became killing machines.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written byjasgreg12 June 22, 2013

Bad!

Just terrible. I saw this yesterday and I just couldn't wait to get out of the theater. One of the worst movies I have ever seen.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 11 years old June 18, 2013

Bada ba ba ba I'm Lovin' It!

LOVIN' IT!!!!!!!!!!!! A few parts where it got gory but great message 1 bad word but.... thats good for Will Smith... Recommended for kids 11+
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written bycoolpup June 16, 2013

Nothing new

I went into this movie with high hopes and i was sadly let down. After earth is very dull, boring, and a waist of time. go home, paint something, and watch it dry. you will get more enjoyment out of that then this movie 1/5 stars
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 10 years old June 16, 2013

MY REVIEW OF AFTER EARTH:STARRING JADEN AND WILL SIMTH

After Earth Is A Very Good Movie That Stars Jaden Smith And Will Smith.The Movie Is About A Father And His Son,Kitai And Cyper.They Have A Sour Son-Father Relationship.So, In Hopes Of Making Things Right,Cyper Takes His Son,Kitai,On A Mission.While On The Mission,Their Ship Is Destroyed By Asteroids,And Kitai And Cyper Crash Land On A Strange Planet Named Earth.Cyper Says,Kitai,You Need To Find A Beacon, Or They Will Die.So,Cyper Send Kitai On A Mission To Find The Beacon.Kitai Faces Many Monsters,Troubles,And More On His Journey,But Finds The Beacon And Safely Returns Home To His Home Planet,Because Kitai And Cyper Are Aliens. CONTENT REVIEW: Educational Value:2/5 Not Made To Educate,But There Is Some Tech-Wiz Talk That Could Be Educational To Some People.Themes Of Responsibility,Persevere,Courage Are Strongly Promoted. Positive Message:3/5 Kitai Perseveres,Shows Courage,And More On His Journey.He Tries His Hardest.There Is Also Some Father-Son Touching Moments. Positive Role Model:2/5 Cyper In The Beginning Of The Film Dosen't Really Care About His Son.Then,He Loves Him In The End.Kitai Most Of The Time Listens To His Father,But Three Or Four Times In The Film He Disobeys His Fathers Orders. Scares And Violent Content:3/5 More Scares Then Violence.There Are Scary Creatures,And People Are Hanged On Trees,ETC.Blood Is Used Frequently,Includeing A Scene Where Kitai's Sister Who Had Gotten Killed Has A Evil Look On Her Face With Blood On Her Face.Minor Characters Are Killed Offscreen.Kitai,When He Is A Little Kid,Is Trapped In A Small Dome,Being Protected From A Monster.Frequent Peril.Cyper Operates On His Leg,And There Is Blood.Kitai Throws A Knife At A Monkey Type Creature,And All The Other Monkeys Become Outraged And Chase Him. Sexual Content:0/5 None,Unless You Count Hugging And Kissing. Profane Or Crude Language:0/5 One Minor Swear. Consumerism:0/5 The Movie Is Set In Earth In The Future,And On A Different Planet;There Is No Consumerism. Drugs,Drinking,And Smoking:0/5 None,But In Other Reviews I Heard That Cyper Almost Takes A Pain Killer Pill,But That Is Breif And Mild. OVERALL: 4 OUT OF FIVE STARS. My Mom And I Saw This Together.It Was Really Good.I Asked My Mom If She Liked It And She Said Yes.She Said 3 And A Half Out Of Five Stars Would Be A Good Rating.She Said It Was Pretty Family Friendly Except For The Scares.She Also Said She Expected It To Be A One Star Movie But She Really Enjoyed It,But The Movie Started Off Slow.This Is A Good Movie That Fathers And Sons Should See On Fathers Day, Which Is Today,6/16/13!Happy Fathers Day!:D
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Kid, 9 years old June 9, 2013

Awesome MOViE!!

Great Movie but violent
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence

Pages