All teen and kid member reviews for Alien

Kids say

(out of 131 reviews)
age 13+
Review this title!
Kid, 11 years old July 27, 2011

The Greatest Movie Ever!!!

Alien is the greatest movie of all time. It's 1 for kids of all ages. It appeals to 7 & 8 year olds & it was even marketed to them. I have no idea whether kids would find it scary or not. I watched it when I was about 7 & I didn't find it scary, but I'm already very used to Horror Thrillers at that age. It isn't very violent, it's very tame by today's standards. There's hardly any swearing. Nothing else is an issue. & now I can finally start my real review. Alien blends the perfect amount of suspense with the Sci Fi Discovery element. The 1st few scenes introduce the universe, time frame, environment & characters. Ridley Scott demonstrated the height of his directing ability in these scenes. Suspense is once again perfectly combined with The Sci Fi Discovery Aspect. They then slowly advanced the storyline into the point of the S.O.S. Signal & they begin to investigate the planet. The scene where Kane discovers the Alien eggs is 1 of the greatest shots in movie history, perfectly executed by Ridley Scott. That scene is only bettered by the chestburster scene that comes up a few shots later. This is the point of change in pace & the feel of the movie. It shifts from a slow-paced exploration & discovery feel to a suspense rollercoaster. The movie gets significantly faster in pacing. The 1st few scenes might be too slow for some people, but the key to liking them is appreciation & paying close attention, especially to detail. The ending is a legendary landmark in Sci-Fi, just like how the whole movie is a landmark in Sci-Fi Thrillers & Sci-Fi Horrors. Alien is the greatest movie ever, & it's for the whole family. I give it what would be the equivalent of a PG-13 in America & 6 stars
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 15 years old Written byJaysnake June 27, 2011

A classic Horror

This movie is very suspensful and keeps you on the edge of your seat the whole movie. Suprisingly there was not much blood and gore. You should see this movie it's very good.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 10 years old January 11, 2011

FUNNY!

this film is not as scary as i expected it to be, it was really funny when a alien came out of a mans stomach LOLOLOL
What other families should know
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old January 30, 2016

Sci-fi/horror epic isn't for the squeamish; however, creative, mature tweens and teens alike will love it

Overall, the rating shouldn't stop teens and tweens alike from enjoying this masterpiece of science fiction and horror; for those who are easily grossed or creeped out, this may not be the right movie, but mature teens and tweens will love it! The aliens are all pretty gross and creepy, and the movie is very intense--with near-constant peril and countless deaths--and language is infrequent but strong: exclamative terms are used throughout in times of peril (i.e., the F-Bomb). There's also some pretty gross and gory content; a man begins to vomit and a baby alien bursts out of his stomach in a mess of guts and gore (however, the special effects from the time in which the movie was made obviously weren't as realistic as they are now, and therefore the impact of the scene should be lessened for kids of this generation). TheProBros thinks that Alien is fine for tweens around the age of eleven and twelve!
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written bywhaleoh4060 March 11, 2011

pretty intense

The movie had a pretty violent scene, but only once and it was pretty short. The rest wasn't too violent, around a PG-13 level. There are a few jump scenes but it isn't that scary.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 11 years old March 18, 2011

FREAKY- Jump Scenes, not that violent

WAY TOO MANY JUMP SCENES- I even had to close my eyes and shut my ears for some of them. Disgustingly gross, but not that violent. I'm fine with violence. Just be careful for the jump scenes. It happens very frequently.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written byCupcakeSweetie7534 July 12, 2011

Not As Scary As You Think!

I personally love Sigourney Weaver, she is very pretty and a talented actress. She did a great job in this movie, and was perfect for her part. Although, this movie is not for smaller children. (There is a part were an alien bursts out of a character's stomach. There is a lot of blood and guts.) Also, if your child loves animals, a cat is at risk of danger yet is not harmed.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 16 years old Written byBKrootz January 18, 2011

Good for middle to older teens.

I liked the movie a lot. It definately was not that scary by today's standards, though. It was kind of gory in some parts, but not un-handleable. It was slightly disturbing, but it added to the effect of the movie. There was bad language and some posters of topless women in the background in a scene or two, but were out of focus and not all that obvious and easy to see. I thought it was a good suspense movie, and on the lower end of the R rating it got. I would recomend it for middle to older teens. There was also minor alchohol, but nothing to bad. It would probably get a pg-13 rating today if not for the topless women.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 8 years old April 19, 2015

Horrifying, shocking, sci-fi action thriller is very boring but extremely violent.

This violent horror thriller takes place when a group of people in space discover a planet with alien life on it. After they find out that the alien followed them back onto the space ship, the alien starts killing them. This movie is very violent. In one scene an alien pops out of a man's stomach and blood spurts and splatters everywhere. There are 6 gory and bloody murders. 1 man is eaten, another is stabbed, and another has his face bitten off. There are also several jump shocks as aliens jump up behind the people. The violence is very gory and quite creepy and scary. The movie is extremely suspenseful, and you may not want to watch during some scenes. There is lots of swearing including a couple uses of s--t, f--k b---h and son of a b---h. At the end of the movie it is just entertainment with no positive messages, but one character is a brave strong female character. This movie is kinda entertaining but it is pretty slow and not fun at all, but otherwise it is a dumb movie and it will definitely keep young kids up at night.
Teen, 17 years old Written byryan@atlantis March 11, 2011

Great for teens

I would totally recommend this classic horror flick if it wasn't for some scattered language and a scene showing pornography taped to the walls in the background. Definitely not appropriate for younger kids, but teens will be fascinated by the different techniques used to shock the audience.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written byBlackSmokeDemon May 4, 2011

ALIEN the only final fronteer that will get you a face hugger

When I first watched this I thought it wouldnt be scary for me (I've watched alot of scary movies befor) but it was givin a very creepy sense that the Alien (real name XENOMORPH "Zeno-morf") was in my house and it creeped the S*** out of me. I love Sigourney Weaver she's my favorite female movie star (lol her jew fro was huge back then)
What other families should know
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written bysnoge July 15, 2015

A classic thriller, but not for children.

Classic thriller, with quite a lot of jumpy-outy moments, particularly towards the start. However, it's a magnificent film. Normal 14+ should be ok, although tougher kids who are younger could watch it. Kids who aren't afraid of jumpy-outy moments will really enjoy it, like I did.
Teen, 16 years old Written byBigA2 April 28, 2011
Yes, it takes a while for the action to get going, yes, the Alien looks fake as hell in 2011 and yes, it’s not really all that scary, but Ridley Scott’s classic, (somewhat) minimalist sci-fi/horror film is still a timeless piece of art. I just love how everything starts so relaxed, with characters casually sitting around spouting forgettable techno babble, then slowly changes mood into a dark and unique slasher-flick, as the creature eliminates each crew member, with the tension continuously growing and growing as the film progresses. There are a few moments that’ll make you jump out of you a seat (and a few that you can easily see coming, but this could just be the film’s age showing). Scary or not, Alien is a simple and straightforward story but told brilliantly with plenty of style and likable characters (which is more than I can say for its sequel, Aliens). Oh, and Ripley is probably the only developed female heroin, who’s also pretty, in existence. It's a real shame female movie fans don't have more characters like Ripley to look up to. The fact that CSM gave this only 3-stars should be a crime.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written by8colony8 October 28, 2010
I just saw this yesterday. We have a language filter on our DVD player, but there's alot of swearing including the F word. Some characters smoke. A Facehugger (a small alien) attaches itself to a man's face. A few days later while eating, blood spurts through the mans chest then a baby alien bursts through with blood splattering the walls. There is blood in other parts. There are innapropriate pictures on the wall at one part. Ripley is seen in her underwear as she puts on a space suit. Bloody dead bodies are seen. There are plenty of tense and scary parts. A man's head is nearly punched off but he is a robot. He continues to fight with his head hanging off, with wires and white blood spurting out. Then he is shot with a flamethrower and his face melts. Though fully clother, a woman is raped by an alien. Watch this movie before your kid does, but it is fun.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byAstronautSpace October 10, 2015

This movie so so spectacular

Ever since I first saw this when I was 11, it has been one of my favorite movies. It is super suspenseful, dramatizing, and amazing. A lot of people die gruesome deaths and stuff. Also, there is language. But it's the best movie ever, about Ripley and her crew trying to survive when one of them touches an egg, a dangerous alien hatches, and tries to kill them all. Watch the director's cut, it's so much scarier and the film is also a piece of art.
Teen, 13 years old Written byaustant September 5, 2016

alien

wow so much blood it was so gory i cat do blood but you need to see it some cussing grate role models its a grate movie all and all
Teen, 15 years old Written byRahul S August 8, 2016

A smart blend of sci-fi and horror

This movie serves as a sci-fi and a horror flick. Even though there isn't much blood on the whole(except in one scene) it is still scary and keeps you on the edge of your seat after the first 20 mins. or so. This is cinematic art at it's best.
Kid, 12 years old August 7, 2016

Awesome horror film will keep kids up at night

Parents need to know that this film isn't overly violent but is extremely scary and defiantly not or children. The violence is not that bad. But expect some bloody and gory aftermath and blood spraying everywhere, there is also one scene where an alien burst's out of a mans chest which is shown onscreen blood and guts splatter all over the room. The horror themes are what you have to worry about pretty much every scene has horror in it after the first 20 minutes of the film and most of the scenes would make all kids under 13 wet there pants even most teens would be scared. There is also some mild language "f--k," "s--t," "a--hole," "ass," "bitch." Also the crew members make some sexual jokes and drink. If you do let your kid watch this film then be prepared for them to never sleep again.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old June 30, 2016

Great movie

This is a great movie,and does have the occasional swear, death and gore scene but really this film isn't too inappropriate. It does also get you on the end of your chair.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written bymoviewatcher2312 June 9, 2016

Alien

This is a movie that is extremely dated, and not that good in my opinion. It is pretty intense, and not for kids unless there mature and not scared that easily. If I was in charge I would rate it R for Bloody Creature Violence, Gore, and Strong Languge
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing

Pages