Kids say

(out of 142 reviews)
age 13+
Review this title!
Teen, 15 years old Written byJaysnake June 27, 2011

A classic Horror

This movie is very suspensful and keeps you on the edge of your seat the whole movie. Suprisingly there was not much blood and gore. You should see this movie it's very good.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 10 years old January 11, 2011

FUNNY!

this film is not as scary as i expected it to be, it was really funny when a alien came out of a mans stomach LOLOLOL
What other families should know
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old January 30, 2016

Sci-fi/horror epic isn't for the squeamish; however, creative, mature tweens and teens alike will love it

Overall, the rating shouldn't stop teens and tweens alike from enjoying this masterpiece of science fiction and horror; for those who are easily grossed or creeped out, this may not be the right movie, but mature teens and tweens will love it! The aliens are all pretty gross and creepy, and the movie is very intense--with near-constant peril and countless deaths--and language is infrequent but strong: exclamative terms are used throughout in times of peril (i.e., the F-Bomb). There's also some pretty gross and gory content; a man begins to vomit and a baby alien bursts out of his stomach in a mess of guts and gore (however, the special effects from the time in which the movie was made obviously weren't as realistic as they are now, and therefore the impact of the scene should be lessened for kids of this generation). TheProBros thinks that Alien is fine for tweens around the age of eleven and twelve!
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written bywhaleoh4060 March 11, 2011

pretty intense

The movie had a pretty violent scene, but only once and it was pretty short. The rest wasn't too violent, around a PG-13 level. There are a few jump scenes but it isn't that scary.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 11 years old March 18, 2011

FREAKY- Jump Scenes, not that violent

WAY TOO MANY JUMP SCENES- I even had to close my eyes and shut my ears for some of them. Disgustingly gross, but not that violent. I'm fine with violence. Just be careful for the jump scenes. It happens very frequently.
What other families should know
Too much violence

Great for teens

I would totally recommend this classic horror flick if it wasn't for some scattered language and a scene showing pornography taped to the walls in the background. Definitely not appropriate for younger kids, but teens will be fascinated by the different techniques used to shock the audience.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 16 years old Written byBKrootz January 18, 2011

Good for middle to older teens.

I liked the movie a lot. It definately was not that scary by today's standards, though. It was kind of gory in some parts, but not un-handleable. It was slightly disturbing, but it added to the effect of the movie. There was bad language and some posters of topless women in the background in a scene or two, but were out of focus and not all that obvious and easy to see. I thought it was a good suspense movie, and on the lower end of the R rating it got. I would recomend it for middle to older teens. There was also minor alchohol, but nothing to bad. It would probably get a pg-13 rating today if not for the topless women.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byCupcakeSweetie7534 July 12, 2011

Not As Scary As You Think!

I personally love Sigourney Weaver, she is very pretty and a talented actress. She did a great job in this movie, and was perfect for her part. Although, this movie is not for smaller children. (There is a part were an alien bursts out of a character's stomach. There is a lot of blood and guts.) Also, if your child loves animals, a cat is at risk of danger yet is not harmed.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Kid, 8 years old April 19, 2015

Horrifying, shocking, sci-fi action thriller is very boring but extremely violent.

This violent horror thriller takes place when a group of people in space discover a planet with alien life on it. After they find out that the alien followed them back onto the space ship, the alien starts killing them. This movie is very violent. In one scene an alien pops out of a man's stomach and blood spurts and splatters everywhere. There are 6 gory and bloody murders. 1 man is eaten, another is stabbed, and another has his face bitten off. There are also several jump shocks as aliens jump up behind the people. The violence is very gory and quite creepy and scary. The movie is extremely suspenseful, and you may not want to watch during some scenes. There is lots of swearing including a couple uses of s--t, f--k b---h and son of a b---h. At the end of the movie it is just entertainment with no positive messages, but one character is a brave strong female character. This movie is kinda entertaining but it is pretty slow and not fun at all, but otherwise it is a dumb movie and it will definitely keep young kids up at night.
Teen, 13 years old Written byALonelyNarwhal September 30, 2016

In Space, No One Can Hear You Scream

Alien is an amazing movie with a great atmosphere. The acting is great, and so is the writing. The movie feels very claustrophobic and does an excellent job of creating really tense scenes. The xenomorph is very frightening, largely due to the fact that the movie very rarely shows the alien's entire body, or even how it moves. Since we know so little about the alien, we are scared of it. Another reason why this movie is such a classic is because of its simplicity. There are no crazy plot twists or long exposition dumps. It's just a story of normal people trying to survive. In one scene, an alien bursts out of a man's chest, and there is lots of blood. There is swearing throughout the movie. However, the movie should be appropriate for kids 12 and up.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written byBlackSmokeDemon May 4, 2011

ALIEN the only final fronteer that will get you a face hugger

When I first watched this I thought it wouldnt be scary for me (I've watched alot of scary movies befor) but it was givin a very creepy sense that the Alien (real name XENOMORPH "Zeno-morf") was in my house and it creeped the S*** out of me. I love Sigourney Weaver she's my favorite female movie star (lol her jew fro was huge back then)
What other families should know
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written bysnoge July 15, 2015

A classic thriller, but not for children.

Classic thriller, with quite a lot of jumpy-outy moments, particularly towards the start. However, it's a magnificent film. Normal 14+ should be ok, although tougher kids who are younger could watch it. Kids who aren't afraid of jumpy-outy moments will really enjoy it, like I did.
Teen, 16 years old Written byBigA2 April 28, 2011
Yes, it takes a while for the action to get going, yes, the Alien looks fake as hell in 2011 and yes, it’s not really all that scary, but Ridley Scott’s classic, (somewhat) minimalist sci-fi/horror film is still a timeless piece of art. I just love how everything starts so relaxed, with characters casually sitting around spouting forgettable techno babble, then slowly changes mood into a dark and unique slasher-flick, as the creature eliminates each crew member, with the tension continuously growing and growing as the film progresses. There are a few moments that’ll make you jump out of you a seat (and a few that you can easily see coming, but this could just be the film’s age showing). Scary or not, Alien is a simple and straightforward story but told brilliantly with plenty of style and likable characters (which is more than I can say for its sequel, Aliens). Oh, and Ripley is probably the only developed female heroin, who’s also pretty, in existence. It's a real shame female movie fans don't have more characters like Ripley to look up to. The fact that CSM gave this only 3-stars should be a crime.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written by8colony8 October 28, 2010
I just saw this yesterday. We have a language filter on our DVD player, but there's alot of swearing including the F word. Some characters smoke. A Facehugger (a small alien) attaches itself to a man's face. A few days later while eating, blood spurts through the mans chest then a baby alien bursts through with blood splattering the walls. There is blood in other parts. There are innapropriate pictures on the wall at one part. Ripley is seen in her underwear as she puts on a space suit. Bloody dead bodies are seen. There are plenty of tense and scary parts. A man's head is nearly punched off but he is a robot. He continues to fight with his head hanging off, with wires and white blood spurting out. Then he is shot with a flamethrower and his face melts. Though fully clother, a woman is raped by an alien. Watch this movie before your kid does, but it is fun.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byAstronautSpace October 10, 2015

This movie so so spectacular

Ever since I first saw this when I was 11, it has been one of my favorite movies. It is super suspenseful, dramatizing, and amazing. A lot of people die gruesome deaths and stuff. Also, there is language. But it's the best movie ever, about Ripley and her crew trying to survive when one of them touches an egg, a dangerous alien hatches, and tries to kill them all. Watch the director's cut, it's so much scarier and the film is also a piece of art.
Kid, 12 years old January 1, 2017

AWESOME!

This movie is amazing! It's slightly scary but for me , it's really funny! My favorite part is with the chestburster, which catches you by suprise. The movie makes you feel like you're there. Defenitely not for younger kids though. BEST MOVIE EVER!
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written byFlimFanE December 26, 2016

A HORROR MASTERPIECE

Alien is a masterpiece with an intense atmosphere (the best kind of horror movie) and very few jump scares (which is actually what makes it scary). The character development in this film is possibly one of the best I have ever seen, and my advise to families is that if you believe that they can handle this movie try letting you teens watch it, (if you think they are too young try supervising them first) and if they get too scared or you think it is inappropriate then turn it off. Overall it is a movie I have rewatched at least 5 times and is worth a watch.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written byjrstewart03 December 15, 2016
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old December 3, 2016

Scary and VERY supensful

My mom let me start watching this at age eleven and I am to the part where they attempt to get the face hugger of the guys face. I do want to say I was in much suspense. There were also many very cool scenes like when they first got on the alien ship.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much swearing
Teen, 17 years old Written byNOname123 November 27, 2016

Ridley Scott's best film! But extremely scary.

Not too violent, but still extremely scary. Some strong language is used but it is infrequent, and used during the alien outbreak only. Lots of kids or early teens may possibly get nightmares, unless your a horror movie maniac leave this until age 16 and up.

Pages