All parent member reviews for American Gangster

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Parents say

(out of 13 reviews)
AGE
16
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Adult Written byClearlyInappropriate July 10, 2011
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

AmericanGangster

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written by4Spice September 6, 2010
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

good gangster movie

this movie is a one time see movie but it is a good movie 16 and over foe violence lots of nudity and language
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 3 year old Written byizzymommy May 13, 2010
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Good, but NOT child friendly!

This is a pretty deep and disturbing movie and I can't figure why anyone would let someone underage watch it. This does have it's place with other gangster flicks, but not child friendly due to all the sex, violence, language, drugs etc.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byMissy369 April 9, 2008
Adult Written byelizabeth76 April 9, 2008
AGE
0
QUALITY
 

TOO EXPLICIT!

This movie was only good due to the fact that it is based on a true story. It is exciting to someone who loves a ton of shooting and killing/action movies. However somethings were un-needed and too explicit for any age I believe. VIOLENCE: A man is burned alive in the beginning scene, people "shoot-up" drugs throughout the movie, lots of blood not only from self abuse but others. children neglected because parents are drug addicts and passed out or high. Tons of killings with lots of blood splatter. SEX: About 7 to 8 scenes of 3 to 12 naked women processing drugs. Breasts and nipples visible. 4 FULLY naked women in several scenes, however the genitals are a little blurred, it is still very explicit. Another scene when a man is massaged, 3 breast baring women are shown in the room (nipple visible, but wearing thongs) Lots of women dressed in tight clothing and dancing provocatively. Rowdy sexual situation in a kitchen, nothing explicit.
Adult Written byDoggoneit April 9, 2008
AGE
0
QUALITY
 

way too long to make the point

Adult Written byconversee April 9, 2008
AGE
0
QUALITY
 

Realistic picture of the heroin drug culture

This move very graphically portrays a drug cartel and drug use. There are an incredible amount of scenes that show people using heroin and they aren't prettied up for the camera. It also shows a great deal of the brutality of people in this trade. I applaud that they did not glamourize drug use/sales as so many films seem to. I would really only recommend this to teenage old/mature enough to handle intense scenes. Depending upon your child, it may be a good way to show them the reality of that lifestyle.
Adult Written byDandelion71 April 9, 2008
AGE
0
QUALITY
 

Compelling crime drama

This movie kept my attention riveted the whole two plus hours. Not for younger teens-depicts the very seamy underside of drugs, corruption, organized crime. However, excellent movie for the appropriate audience.
Adult Written bysmoo April 9, 2008
AGE
0
QUALITY
 

Great flick, but not a kid pick!

Being a single mom, anything with Denzel is alright with me. For me, this movie surpassed even the eye candy factor & was an incredible film...for adults! My 10 year old son has been saying he wants to see it, but only because of the massive hype around it. The clips they show on the trailer are about the only parts of this movie that I would let him see! Way to much drugs, violence & complicated content to have to try to explain to a kid.
Adult Written byneglectedt@yahoo.com April 9, 2008
Adult Written bycoolmom101 April 9, 2008
AGE
0
QUALITY
 

Hello,

This was a very entertaining movie. I loved it. Even though you might not agree, I let my 13 year-old, stepdaughter, go see it with my cousin. She loved it. I think though, you should see the movie before your kids and watch it to make sure it is ok with you recommendations that you want for your child. ;) Sarah
Adult Written bysupnse April 9, 2008
AGE
0
QUALITY
 

A must see

My friend and I went to see this film on Opening day, Friday 11/2/07@ 12:15PM show in our small city of Waco,Texas at the Star Plex Galaxy 16. The film was excellent and Mr.Washington and Crowe were outstanding as usual. But what I did not like and feel it was the theatre was the microphone dropping down over Mr. Washington and Armad Asante' during their first and second meeting. From the middle until almost the end of the movie,we saw the microphone. Then after Lucas was sentenced,and where the captions appear at the bottom of the film was not always visable,just partially. This was poor film quality,and I know these High Powered actors,producers and directors,would not have of this! I feel it was a boot leg film. It was shown on the largest seating screen theatre. Oh I did speak with the personnel at the theatre, and they gave me the excuse that it was sent to them like that. If so, something needs to be done about that. No they did not offer me a ticket to view the film on another screen,thus it was showing on 2 screens. I hope this message gets to Mr.Grazer,Scott,Washington and Crowe. ALL IN ALL I ENJOYED THE FILM,and will purchase it when it comes out on DVD.
Adult Written bylemonlover July 19, 2012
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Graphic violence and sexual activity along with drugs and language make the film unsuitable for any kids.

The mvoie has uses of f**k, n***a, s**t, c**t, d**n, and more. Very graphic film. Explicit sex is in this film, along with the drug market.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking