Parent reviews for Because I Said So

Common Sense says

Keaton and Moore can't save bland, cliched romcom.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 16+
Based on 16 reviews

Kids say

age 13+
Based on 22 reviews
Adult Written bydvdgirl March 10, 2019

Better than how to deal

I enjoyed it and I’m going to watch it again not bad.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Adult Written byJules M. August 19, 2017

Not For Kids !

Loved this movie ! But I'm an Adult.
This is definitely not a movie for kids.
I mostly loved the movie because I love all the movie stars in this in particular show.
I also loved the story as well.

Adults Watch, Enjoy, and laugh!

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Adult Written bydarksat April 4, 2014

Nasty woman decides to 2 time and deceive 2 guys. Terrible Morals

Completely puerile piece of crap about a woman who thinks seeing 2 guys at the same time is the best way to find love. Didn't watch the end but I hope they both dump her sorry ass.
Adult Written bywonder dove March 24, 2013

Mandy's worst film!!!

Diane Keaton is insanely annoying in this film, I have not seen anything more irritating than her character. I think that's mainly what is most disliked about this movie, it is also very cliche and overdone. The sisters are ditzy and act dumb, the mother is horrifying and the whole concept is rather boring and seems like it's trying way too hard to be funny in a mainly sexual way. It's supposed to be about an overbearing mother-daughter relationship and each daughter has her own problems. Mom pays most attention to Millie (Mandy Moore) who desperately wants her daughter to date (why?...I have no clue). She even encourages her to go to bed with the guy! The movie is about 96% on the subject of cheating, sleeping with more than one person and non-stop talking about sex and other inappropriate nonsense you would never talk about with your mother out of all people! Language is not too bad (no f words). Violence is mild and made for humor. Sexual content is constant including a porn site watched twice by a mother with sounds heard and a dog h*mping, even a small boy uses phrases like "can I see your v*gina"...etc, the list goes on. Mild drinking. Bad messages throughout. Do not watch with your young daughter (or mother) or better yet, don't watch this!! Waste of time.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Adult Written bycecilia hudes April 9, 2008

I LAUGHED AND CRIED IT WAS GREAT!!

I went to see this movie with some of my girlfriends and enjoyed every minute of it. The ending was funnier than anything and every actor did a great job. I have already recommended it to some friends.
Adult Written byJeanne08 April 9, 2008

I laughed, but not for 13-17 year olds

In appropriate discussions on sex between daughter and mother. Discussions dealt with more than facts about sex.
Adult Written byMom of 3 April 9, 2008
"Because I Said So" glorifies casual sex. Do you want your kids entertained by that notion? We don't.
Adult Written bylisagre April 9, 2008
Adult Written bybrinajo April 9, 2008
Adult Written bylorlinhail April 9, 2008

I laughed , I cried, I explicitly explained wrong behavior to my 13 year ol

Adult Written bypolimylove April 9, 2008

This movie killed me!

Talk about the worst movie of all times. I totally lost my mind while watching this. I could have watched mold and been more interested. This was probably one of the worst movies that ever went through my brain.
Adult Written bylinex_4 April 9, 2008
Adult Written byashpetrone April 9, 2008
Adult Written byfishlady April 9, 2008

suprisingly dirty...i was very dissapointed

i am so surpised that even kids thought this movie was ok to watch. I'm 26 and i turned it off after the first 25 minutes or so--when daphne started watching porn on her computer and the man in the film made a discusting and totally inappropriate comment for anyone to hear, i'd had enough.

there wasn't two minutes in the first 25 minutes of the show that someone didn't say something that had to do with sex. and the worst part is that the mom (daphne) encourages her young and unmarried daughter (mandy moore) to do it!

anyone who says this film is ok for kids to watch is nuts. i wouldn't recommend it to anyone, old or young. in my opinion sex should be very private and intimate and should be shared between two married people and certainly not flaunted in front of the world like it is in this show and so many others.

...no wonder our american society is so messed up.
Adult Written bymoviemomof4 April 9, 2008

Hmm?

This movie sends the wrong message to teens....The mother and daughters talk often about sex, sexual parnters(!) and even about having more than one partner at a time! PLEASE!!!! Who condones such behavior?!
Adult Written by040557 April 9, 2008

Insane!

This movie is wrong in so many ways: physically, emotionally, and spiritually. Physically, it made me sick, emotionally, it made me sad and spiritually, it made me pray. What an awful movie. I turned it off when the mother says that pride is an admirable quality blah blah blah. Save your eyes and ears and select another movie. Hollywood has it all wrong.