All teen and kid member reviews for Bridge to Terabithia

Kids say

(out of 132 reviews)
age 9+
Review this title!
Teen, 15 years old Written byOGORMAN January 16, 2011

An extroardinary adaptation from Katherine Patterson's novel.

In the words of Leslie: "Close your eyes, and keep your mind wide open." These words portray a good message. Keep yourself open to all possibilities, nothing is impossible if you set all your efforts to it. This movie was a perfect adaptation of the classic book. Josh Hutcherson and Anna Sophia Robb are talented actors who played their parts extremely believably. I have no complaints about this movie.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byNoseStuckInABook April 21, 2010

Good movie adapation...tearjerker.

If you're one of those people who need their movies really close to the book, you may not like this movie. It plays heavy on the fantasy. But if you don't mind too much, you'll love this movie. It's touching and really well done in my mind. I've seen it several time, but I still die every time Leslie dies. Her death is offscreen, but it's still pretty upsetting.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 10 years old May 25, 2013

Beautiful, ending is very sad, so you may want to preview it.

This is an amazing movie about two ten year olds united by running. One day a new girl, boldly crosses over to the boys side of the playground and outruns all of them, a good lesson learned for the boys. Leslie Burke and Jess Aarons embrace their differences, and create Terebithia, a place in the woods only they know about. Occasional language, at one point, a six year old girl says some mild words and they get into a discussion about it. Jess's dad also uses a little language. The ending is extremely sad when one charecter dies. It's not shown onscreen. Jess is angry and his sister follows him and he shoves her because he's filled with grief and anger. This is a great movie, but I don't recommend to anyone younger than 8 or 9 because they might not get the meaning of the death and why everyone's so upset. These are great role models, with Josh Hutcherson and Anna Sophia Robb. This is beautifully filmed, some parents may want to preview it first to make sure your child can handle the sadness. I hope I was helpful!
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old February 14, 2016

Not for Sensitive Children

SPOILER ALERT: The main character dies. Kids who are very sensitive should not see this movie. Nor should they read the book. Otherwise this movie is amazing!
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written bytweeni February 21, 2010

R-E-A-L-L-Y sad!

(spoiler alert!) REALLY sad! leslie dies, which is a real shocker. the movie seems kid-friendly at first, but it kinda turns around after her death. i was amazed at the nerve moviemakers have putting such a tragic death in a kid movie. apart from that, ok, but it can get confusing.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Kid, 12 years old April 9, 2008

I didn't like it but....

I really thought this movie was bad. But I don't go for those feel good type of movies. Based on the trailer, I thought this was going to be an action flick. I was proven wrong. Out of the whole movie maybe about 10 minutes of action. I also may not have liked it because I went with my class of teenagers(and I'm sure you know how teenage boys sit through feel-good movies) But remember these reviews are ALL opinions. Also remember that if you want an action flick, see something like STAR WARS. If you want a feel-good movie, see BRIDGE TO TERIBITHIA. If you're a person that cries a lot, remember to be ready with Kleenex;)
Teen, 13 years old Written byMoggyCat November 16, 2012

a good film, but such a sad ending!

I liked this film a lot, but it had such a sad ending. I didn't know how upsetting the ending would be, and if you have a child who doesn't really enjoy the pain of grief that you only get when watching a sad film or movie, I would be a little carful. Though, having said that, this was fairly funny, and enjoyable. Positive messages like looking out for each other, and try looking at life from another point of view. I liked how the movie had a arty feeling to it. a few notes though; there is a bit of a boyfriend/girlfriend feeling of this, and the only other thing wrong with it is that it's too short. I felt that the sad ending came too soon. I don't genially like sad movies, but I would watch this again, but fast forward the sad bit!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Kid, 11 years old July 23, 2013

Amazing Movie!

Leslie's death is like, the point of the movie! This movie teaches kids about death, that it happens, and it can happen to kids, and how to deal with it.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byThreeDaysGracesGirl November 3, 2010
This movie... was so good. I cannot stress that enough.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old July 1, 2010

Really Good Movie

This movie is a great way to show kids using their imaginations, and there is no limit to what these kids can dream up. Viewers can sometimes relate to the children having school problems, like having no friends, or a class bully. This is also a great movie that shows friendship. However, there are a few sad moments, the biggest easily being one of the main characters dwowning in a river. And evil creatures the kids believe are there(But really not). I thought this movie was really good, with a great message. Overall, a very touching movie.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Great messages
Kid, 12 years old April 9, 2008
Kid, 8 years old April 9, 2008

This film stinks!

This was the dumbest movie ever!
Kid, 12 years old April 9, 2008

I don't really like this movie

the headline says it all
Kid, 11 years old September 1, 2013

This movie was awesome!

I really liked this movie. I recommend this movie to people with a BIG imagination (like me).
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written bydiamondthunder September 19, 2012

Too much for some kids but a very good film

The people whinging about Leslie's death need to grow up! Her death was the entire point of the film! That WAS the story! It wasn't supposed to be a fun movie that they 'ruined with a pointless death.' Anyone who can't see that is more immature than the average 10 year old. Judge the movie by its actual content, rather than demanding it be something completely different. For what it was- it was a brilliant film. Of course some young children will find it too upsetting, but it's the parents responsibility to know that rather than blaming the movie and labelling it unsuitable. I can't even believe some people trying to say that it was inappropriate even for 17 year olds! How absolutely ridiculous! Do parents think teenagers aren't aware of what death is?
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written byarthur16morgana January 14, 2011

sweet movie

i love this movie.its sweet but it was sad when the girl died.i saw it in theaters with my dad. he said he doesnt like it because the girl died.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old December 6, 2010

Good movie :)

I love this movie and the book though it's really sad. I said 8 and up because some kids get really sad. If there's a muture 6 year old though then go for it!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old June 19, 2010

Hate It.

I Hate it! It is horrible. They kill a 11 year old girl! How terrible is that. I heard alot of people said that you will cry but i did not. It was upsetting but not that much. Overall, a terrible movie.
Teen, 13 years old Written byreviewgirl13 May 12, 2009

Teaches lessons and is very good!

I say that this is a very good movie that teaches about the importance and power of friendship. Great movie, but parents, there is some language that's iffy, so if you don't want your child to see a movie with minor language, don't let them see this. But it's worth seeing! I was so close to crying near the end! So, yes, it's sad, too.
Teen, 14 years old Written bymkalv February 1, 2009

Sad, but nice.

I have heard people say that this film is for fans of Narnia. I don't agree. Narnia is a fantasy/action. This movie is a fantasy story involving school and drama. I liked it, but most kids won't.

Pages