Parent reviews for Bruno

Common Sense says

Intentionally shocking comedy even edgier than Borat.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 16+
Based on 38 reviews

Kids say

age 15+
Based on 50 reviews
Adult Written byteddy turner December 5, 2018

Hilarious Comedy, But Not For the Faint of Heart

I decided to write a review on here about this film because pretty much all of the reviews on here are making this film out to sound like it's a full on porno. While there is lots of sexually suggestive stuff in the movie, it's usually blurred out by black boxes and they're all done for laughs. The film's humor is very stereotype based and it's not for the easily offended. The movie is more cringe than funny, for example, Bruno, a gay male, tries to seduce Ron Paul (an extremely conservative & homophobic politician). Is it as good as Borat, absolutely not. Not even close. Is it funny. Yes. Is it porn, no.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Adult Written byHannahG June 16, 2015

Disturbing

I was very disturbed, it was not funny. I did not laugh once. I was crying in horror, more than laughing. Especially at the part when Brüno was whipping his penis around. The part that is most disturbing is that it's open on Netflix for children to watch, and should instead be located on its proper habitat, a porn site. In conclusion the movie was horrifying, and disturbing. It was painful to get through. If I could give this movie zero stars I would, but the minimum is one. I do not recommend, especially for children.
Adult Written byFilmFanatic May 16, 2014

Hilarious but very crude and explict

Anyone who would let their children be exposed to this shouldn't even be on this site. Its funny, but in a sarcastic and possibly offensive way. There is adult language and some minor violence, but the major concern is all the nudity and sex acts. There is full frontals of both woman and men, an explicit swingers party, explicit gay sex acts, and a violent dominatrix scene. There is also a penis which appears, and dances around for an extended period of time, then the camera zooms in on the urethra, which opens like a mouth and screams "Bruno!". In the dominatrix scene, a fully exposed woman wearing dominatrix gear rips the clothes off a man a tries to force him to have sex with her. Its played for laughs (he says things like "lets get to know each other first? and tried to get her to wear a fake beard) but the scene is very real. She proceeds to viciously whip him with a belt while yelling at him. There is no blood but he reacts with obvious pain and you can see red welts begin to develop where she hits him. The disturbing thing is this is NOT a scripted scene. The dominatrix is a porn star, who was told by the crew that "Bruno" was a virgin and that they'd pay her double if she could get him to have sex with her. Sacha marvelously manages to stay in character, but according to the behind the scenes, he was legitimately terrified as she had BROKEN HIS THUMB and he feared she was actually going to rape him. He makes an escape through the window and the scene ends with him running away.

The movie is very funny, but full of shock material that should not be seen by little kids. Also, children will most likely not even get the message, or the hints behind the humor that make this movie so funny.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Sexy stuff
Adult Written bycommin July 15, 2012

Why Is It R?

Sacha Baron Cohen Was Good In Borat. But Sucked In Bruno. I was having a slumber party a few weeks ago. After playing Truth Or dare, We were going to watch a few movies. I put in bruno, and about halfway though the movie, I shut it of because me and my friends were so embarrassed.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Adult Written by--Jonathan-- April 22, 2012

No

This movie is extremely unappropriated. It has 20 or so seconds of genitals, sex scenes and appalling racial abuse. Not very funny when the jokes are nazis, gays and babys getting crucified.
Adult Written bybrojackthe3rd February 18, 2012

Mayby

its not violent all it is is they use cause language and its sexual not for kids under 10 but not THAT bad
Parent of a 15-year-old Written bysupermonkeyrobot December 20, 2011

DO NOT SEE

DO NOT SEE THIS the first hour is filled with gay sex scenes and di*ks. If you don't know what sodomy is if you see this you will know and it is not even that funny see borat

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written by@@@ December 16, 2011

Gross but exeptional.

This is one of my favouite movies ever. Comedies get no better than this, but no more sexually explicit either.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Parent of a 11-year-old Written bymikeisawesome123 February 3, 2011

THE FUNNIEST MOVIE EVER!!!!!

Bruno is crude, rude, and offensive. One 30 second depict of a man's full penis swinging. Then when it gets erect, the urethra says "BRUNO!!!" and then the camera goes inside. Also lots of gay sex. In one part at a party it shows people having sex violently but is censored. Then he goes into a room with a woman and we see her bare (and rather large) breasts. Language isn't so bad.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Parent of a 6, 12, and 15-year-old Written bycab87670 November 27, 2010

Not my cup of tea

Sacha Baron Cohen's character Bruno is very offensive, lewd, crude and innappropriate for anyone under 18. To be frank, it was borderline pornography. So, I recommend not showing this to your children.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Parent of a 12-year-old Written bynameo March 27, 2010

twelve

I it really that bad I have seen it three times and its funny. For twelve and over if your kids are mature they can easily take this film

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Language
Parent of a 2-year-old Written byimw1984 January 26, 2010

Depending on your teen, okay from about 14 and up

IFFY 14+ or so, ON 17+ or so.

A bit over the top, definitely not something to let your younger teens watch alone, but can lead to great discussions about stereotypes, the media, fame, sex, etc. I'd probably have preferred it if it'd been a bit less sexually explicit, but it's not as if they display rape or bestiality or anything like that. All sexual acts (in which the actual penetration is blocked out) in this movie occur between consenting adults.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Positive Messages
Adult Written byMovie Man November 20, 2009

Wow... I Am Appalled. But, Strangely, Entertained! ABSOLUTELY Not For Kids Under 18!

... Oh... my... God! This was the single, inexplicably raunchiest film I have ever laid eyes on. Half the movie I laughed because it was too rediculous and offensive not to laugh. But, readers, this is the grand-daddy of raunchiness. There were actual sex scenes; like, real pornographic sex scenes, if not for the black bars. In fact, if not for the black bars, this would be considered a funny, offensive porno. I mean, I was speechless throughout the film; I couldn't believe my eyes, ears, and, sometimes, my mind for some parts. I honestly thought a nightmarish flashback hit my mind during a portion of the film. PARENTS: *EXTREME WARNING*: This is the single raunchiest and edgiest film possibly in existance. If you saw Borat and thought that was inaproppriate, than you are in for a very crude awakening. Actually, an extremely crude and offensive awakening. Also, if you are easily or even somewhat offended by certain subject matters, than this is not for you. Extreme Irreverance could be the second title for this film, of it were renamed. Please, praents, I beg you, don't allow a teen or child to witness this film. Yes, it is funny and sometimes witty, but it is grossly offensive and completely inaproppriate, even for some adults. Well, thanks for reading - Move Man

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Positive Messages
Adult Written bySally Mander November 20, 2009

Why not NC17?

Cohen's satire is genius, but he definitely takes things way too far. How can you not love catching really stupid people at their worst? Especially people who have run for president and questionable baseball heroes--some of this was in the deleted scenes. I love his movies because of the outrageous humor, but really would like to see them without the sheer, raw, unnecessarily blatant sex scenes which are truly tasteless.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Adult Written bybeph September 19, 2009

horrible

absolutely inappropriate for any age group. i was disgusted and left after 15 minutes. i tried again later on the computer and still sickend. nudity was abundant. sex was woven throughout and nothing about it was entertaining or funny. making fun of unsuspecting people isnt very funny.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byJonthemoviebuff August 1, 2009

High concept "mockumentary" just doesn't work

I'll say something first, I LOVE Da Ali G Show and thought Borat was quite faithful to the show, so my dislike of this movie is not because of prudishness.

The problem is that the film goes so out of it's way to shock the audience that you often don't know whether you're laughing because of uneasiness or because it's genuinely funny, a bad sign. The film has a few noticeably brilliant scenes(a segment in the Middle East for example), but if you look beneath the vulgarity, the majority of the film isn't that funny, it's just rather disgusting, crossing the boundary between raunchy and just plain gratuitous. I will say this again, I AM NOT A PRUDE. I wasn't disgusted by a penis flopping around for 30 seconds until it becomes erect and screams "Bruno" because it involved a talking penis, I was disgusted because it didn't serve any purpose other than to make people gasp. This film is supposed to be about exposing prejudices, but when Bruno is a walking stereotype who goes out of his way to flaunt his homosexuality, it justifies the bigotry of the "participants". This was why Bruno was the weakest character on Da Ali G Show, but that show had 2 brilliant characters to balance him out.

If you've seen what the film is Rated R for, then I won't need to explain too much, I'll just say there's plenty of full frontal male nudity and some strong profanity.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Parent of a 10-year-old Written bymoviecritics July 30, 2009

Bruno your message sucks!

I hated it...not to say that there was nobody in the theater! I am shocked that this movie is in theaters and should be at the nearest s*x store! It is dammaging to kids and this movie has nothing that conveys something intelligent. Even I did not want to see any body parts...especially close ups and there was horrible portrayal of the sexual act and homosexual acts which no one wants to see in such a way!!! DO NOT GO IF YOU ARE UNDER 18 years of age!!! In general do not waste your time on this nonesense, go watch something else!!!!

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Parent of a 1 and 12-year-old Written byDominikaRudzka July 29, 2009

Such a bad movie that they shouldnt have made it

I went to see this movie with myself and it was so bad and i saw 5 year olds in the theater i just hated the movie so much i left at the middle of it

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byKarua July 29, 2009

Don't Waste Your Time

If you're gay; don't see it. If you're straight; don't see it. This movie is offensive no matter who you are or how you look at it. Being offended by this movie is not the exclusive domain of the gay community as some critics make it out to be. Before I go any further, if you didn't like Borat you won't have a chance at liking this movie. Sacha Barron Cohen obviously wanted the same shock factor that Borat possessed, but sadly could not deliver. Bruno is a classic sequel gone wrong movie. While Bruno wasn't necessarily the sequel to Borat, it was certainly overshadowed by the first movie. Cohen should have considered the two movies being compared, as they will be, and focused more on creating a quality piece over making the audience gasp as they did with Borat. The movie's funniest moments are shown in the commercials and are not funny the second time around. Or the fifth time around if you watch a lot of tv. While the movie is laced with bits and pieces of comedy, the overall crude, tasteless sex scenes and close-ups on genitals in the movie take away from any humor. Not only do the vulgar scenes make the movie less enjoyable, they divert attention from the movie's message: the absurdity of homophobia. Whatever Cohen was trying to accomplish with this film just didn't happen. I give Bruno -2 stars for a tacky, sequel-esque comedy that just wasn't funny.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Adult Written bywho75 July 26, 2009

should be over 21 they should card you at the door

the most sexcrazed movie I have ever see, it IS a Porno, this is not a funny movie, it is just shock Value with alote of nasty sex seens, this should be rated X, it is ranchy even for a porn. this is a gay porn, and most if not all gays will be affended, and disturbed. what this movie says is if you are gay, you are a sexcrazed Freak. I am not easily bothered at things of a sexual nature, but I saw this movie with a friend, and nether of us had any idea of the content of the movie this movie whent way to far. way beyond Borat. this film belongs is porn shops not in theaters, it should be rated X, I talked to a man just after seeing it who had seen it, he also did not know how sexual it was going to he and said that was a porno, I said yes a gay porno, and yes some things are blocked out but it does not matter, this was like hard core porn, they only blocked out parts so they would get away with more. on this one he should get his ass sued off, I will not watch one of his movies agin.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff

Pages