All parent member reviews for Burlesque

Parents say

(out of 9 reviews)
age 15+
 
Review this title!
Parent of a 16 and 17 year old Written byChristina Youge May 14, 2013
 

Awesome!

Even though this movie is a little risky, as long as you know your child, it is a great movie about following your dreams.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written bykhan2705 February 9, 2011
 

a visual dazzle, forgettable and weak screenplay, plot.

Ali (Christina Aguilera) is a small-town girl with a big voice who escapes hardship and an uncertain future to follow her dreams to LA. After stumbling upon The Burlesque Lounge, a majestic but ailing theater that is home to an inspired musical revue, Ali lands a job as a cocktail waitress from Tess (Cher), the club's proprietor and headliner. Burlesque's outrageous costumes and bold choreography enrapture the young ingenue, who vows to perform there one day. Soon enough, Ali builds a friendship with a featured dancer (Julianne Hough), finds an enemy in a troubled, jealous performer (Kristen Bell), and garners the affection of Jack (Cam Gigandet), a bartender and fellow musician. With the help of a sharp-witted stage manager (Stanley Tucci) and gender-bending host (Alan Cumming), Ali makes her way from the bar to the stage. Her spectacular voice restores The Burlesque Lounge to its former glory, though not before a charismatic entrepreneur (Eric Dane) arrives with an enticing proposal. well Burlesque was something which is really of my interest, you know a Musical with lots of costumes but with a good script and songs. this one just felt somewhere middle of it all. i wasn't quite impressed by this movie seriously i didn't liked it that much. i somehow knew it, it seemed pretty clcihed and overdone. Burlesque is a movie you will wan't to just watch it to have a good time, a crowd pleaser thing but will end up having mix feelings and reactions about it. you won't definitely be confused. this movie stars Christina Aguilera, her first movie as an actress and as the world knows she has an wonderful voice. she is a good singer and i love her voice. she has this huge voice like it has depth and volume good for the kind of the song this movie mostly has. i am not sure about her future in movies but in this one she was fine, not bad or amazing but lets face it, she did tried her best to play this cheesy part in this big cliche cheese filled movie, lol. she is ok, needs improvement that she will learn. other big name is Cher, seeing her after a long time. she was above average, not that good. she kind of reminded me of characters that were and are there everywhere and it was so cliche. i did not like her playing this character. her emotional scenes were convincing specially her song, the emotional one was awsome with her in it. well other supporting actors include Cam Gigandet, Stanley Tucci, Kristen Bell , Alan Cumming and Eric Dane. well they all were ok, they weren't really the focus point of this movie. so ofcourse what will one expect from this movie in the acting department. average. Direction for sure is weak, needs time and experience. direction should have been better. screenplay has very weak points and is not that good at many places. so screenplay wasn't impressing and so was the plot which sucks and tiring after a while and at some scattered places. story was ok, cliched but felt little bit good. costumes as you have seen are very Burlesque type, larger, brighter than anything else on earth and very overly done which in this case looks good. but costume designing needed a slight concentration. Art direction was above average. the choreography, honestly was not that impressing or memorable. some were slight good performances but even they don't feel much good but still fine dance performances. most of the songs aren't quite the one you will remember your whole life. 2 of the songs i loved one was the song BURLESQUE, not the Cher one or the one in the end but the other one. that song was so like the nowadays Gaga or Perry's pop songs. very catchy and lovely and the other one was Cher's song You haven't seen the last of me, which really moved me and i loved it. well this movie is full of colours and dazzling beauties and costumes and songs but this movie has some flaws in it. i somehow enjoyed it and at the same time was bored a bit and has some slight problems with it. still i am slightly over rating it by giving it GENEROUSLY 3 stars for i don't know, no reasons. Just watch it for visual pleasure and the few good songs. or else skip it.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Parent of a 12 year old Written byDawnMontgomery January 27, 2011
 

Very good movie

I took my daughter to see this movie and I definitely enjoyed it. Some parts were a bit uncomfortable with my daughter only being 12 but overall it was a good movie. She loved the music and the dancing even though I thought it was a bit suggestive. She asked me to buy it but I think I will save my money and get it free.You can get it free too here. www.prizerebel.com/index.php?r=3039374 Its simple and you can get this and other movies from this website.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bymgwynn224 March 7, 2011
 
What other families should know
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great role models
Parent of a 16 year old Written byDJ Betsy January 3, 2011
 

Be Burlesque....

Love it! It teaches you to dream big and go for your dream. Be focused and you can do whatever your talent is...Don't give up or get sidetracked by love, lust or sex. Work hard and anything can happen! Music and dancing is incredible! Some scenes are risqué but definitely funny.
What other families should know
Great role models
Adult Written byJoe-SF December 18, 2010
 
Such a talented cast & such a bad, predictable script. A few great new songs. Christina A was a surprise---pretty good in her role. Cher was great, but wasted in this script.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Parent Written byMusic/Movies December 26, 2012
 

Sex: 8/10, Violence: 2/10, Language: 8/10, Drinking: 7/10

Sex: *A man walks into a kitchen naken in front of his girlfriend. We can see his bare butt, but he hold a cookie box over his privet parts. *A man and a woman kiss in a living room and later they snuggle under blankets, but no sex is shown. *A few kisses are shared in a bed and you can see a couple is nude, but once again, there is no sex. *A couple breifl kisses in a backstage room. *A man wraps his legs around a woman after hanging from a clothes rack and calling her beautiful *A cople talk about a time they got drunk and had sex as they dance and hold each other, he then kisses her cheek and they are both told to "Get a room", *A woman breifly kisses her ex husband after they gain a lot of money. *A woman dances sexually and touches her legs. This happens in many on the seens. *Girl dancers thrust and lean on each other in sexual ways. *A woman touches her boons and thrusts her leg while singing a song with sexual lines. *A woman sings and chants lyrics about love and sex as she sits sexually on a chair. *A woman stripes naked on a stage and stands behind a pole so her privet parts cannot be seen. *A woman wears a leatart and fishnet tights. *A woman wears a short dress and moves up and down on a pole several times. *A man admits that he was chewing on a nother woman's earlobes, but he wasn't dating her. *A young woman tells her boss she slept with her husband to make her jealous. *A woman accuses another woman of sleeping and seeing to many men. *A man sleeps with a nother man and then invites him for a lunch after they had off screenn sex. *A woman tells her ex husband and one of her buyers that she got a tatoo on her butt. *A man touches a woman's hips and hey breasts and he talks and cuddles with her sexually. --- Violence: *A woman slams a crowbar into a woman's car window after fighting with her. *A woman knocks down a lamp with a pillow out of anger. *A woman vomits in a bathroom after she gets pregnant. --- Language: F*ck, A*s, Sh*t, Sl*t, Damm*t, B*tch, Bullsh*t, Godd*mn, Assh*le, Pr*ck.... There is also namecalling like crazy, chick, tacky, cow... the list goes on and on. --- Drinking: *Woman and men drink through the movie. *A woman has a drinking problem and gets drunk in more than one scene, and she even drives after she gets drunk. *Women fight over drinking, and who gets what shot. *A woman says she has a buzz. *A woman holds up a big bottle of liquor and says she doesn;t need a glass.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 10 and 13 year old Written byManila Mom April 6, 2011
 

Nice dance and music

Very entertaining for my 12 yr old and her friends. There is some drinking and behavior that I would not consider good for a role model but the characters are "cliche" and sort of comic book like so not a "real-life" role model.
Adult Written byy-town movie girl January 31, 2011
 

Perfect girls night out or girls night in movie......loved it !!!!

Personally, I loved the movie. Can't wait to see it again and wouldn't mind owning the movie. Certainly one that you can watch over and over again. Singing and dancing superb...just wonder if Julianne Hough helped with choreography. She didn't have a big enough part in my personal opinion.