Want personalized picks that fit your family?

Find entertainment that fits your kid's interests and your parenting style.

Go to For Your Family

Parent reviews for Captain Marvel

Common Sense says

Powerful female superhero story has some violence, language.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 10+
Based on 84 reviews

Kids say

age 10+
Based on 114 reviews
Adult Written byMacmacandcheese March 7, 2019

Unconvinced

Honestly I feel like I was watching an actor try to play a super hero rather than an actual superhero like black widow or Thor . She was unconvincing and her facial expressions and acting just wasn’t there
Adult Written bytwocastles March 9, 2019

Very disappointing

Despite all the hoopla from both sides, I looked forward to seeing this. I just want to enjoy a movie and be entertained. This was a snoozefest for most of the movie, even in the action sequences. There could have been a better origin arc for this story. Nothing is ever explained properly. Deviates heavily from the comics, which, cinema often does. She becomes basically an unbeatable force, which is a point the anti SJW camp makes that is certainly true. Ms. Marvel / Captain Marvel was never THIS powerful. She'd never hold a candle to Thanos, but that is the angle they're playing. And distorting the role of the Kree is disappointing as well. But all that aside, the biggest annoyance I have is with the actress that plays Captain Marvel. She's so unbelievable, wooden, and unmotivated. Who is this person? She is God-awful. She's like if Kristen Stewart and Jebnnifer Lawrence melded together into one being with a higher pitched monotone voice. Marvel has so many actors that play their roles so well, and make them easy to believe and submerse yourself into the story, but she is the antithesis of that. She was grating and annoying. Like Natalie Portman and Hayden Christianson in Star Wars prequels. A much better choice would have been that woman from Vikings...what is her name? Katherine Winnick or something like that? She would have made an awesome Captain Marvel! Might have rescued this movie from the boredom it purveyed.
Parent of a 8 year old Written byGerald Z. March 8, 2019

Very violent & disappointing. This is a poorly done Marvel film.

If you are not a serious fan of the Captain marvel comic franchise, don't waste your money or time. A complete flop. Basic plot issues are poorly explained and Brie Larson is completely unconvincing as Captain Marvel. The film consistently fails to connect dots for viewers and has 'rushed' all over its execution. Basically, in the original Comic Captain Mar-Vell was an alien Kree soldier sent to Earth to keep tabs on human beings but most viewers will find the filmed explanation of all of this incoherent.. Sloppy and terribly made film. On Earth, he takes the alter ego of Walter Lawson and befriends a woman named Carol Danvers, a U.S. Air Force officer at a top secret military research facility. This most recent film release flips a lot of the script and does so in the most corny and unimaginative and poorly threaded fashion possible.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Parent of a 10 year old Written byPhoenix T. March 8, 2019

Horrible and poorly made film. Don't waste your money or time. A flop.

This is a really poorly concieved and badly executed film. Much of it doesn't make sense with all sorts of incoherent plot points. Disney is trying to squelch the review-bombing from people who have seen this chaotic mess. Don't waste your time or money seeing his.
Adult Written byDresmorris March 7, 2019

Disappointing

Very predictable. Typical plot, action, conclusion. A solid C Film. Some funny jokes but ultimately just a let down.

This title contains:

Consumerism
Adult Written byBoneyardLimited March 8, 2019

They tried to make Wonder Woman, but made Green Lantern instead.

There’s not a lot to redeem this movie. It seems to confuse ‘mean’ with ‘funny’, and does so repeatedly. The main character is unlikable and arrogant, which is a bad combination. Ben Mendelsohn steals the show, which is how badly the writers portrayed Sam Jackson’s character. The action scenes are dimly lit and shake around like the camera man is afraid he’ll miss something; that combined with choppy editing makes them a jumbled mess. The skrull make-up is phenomenal, though, and the plot turn is actually not half bad. The tone was very different from other Marvel movies and felt much more like J.J. Abrams’ Start Trek movies, so if you like those movies you’re in luck.

This title contains:

Consumerism
Adult Written byheymatt18 March 8, 2019

Captain Mehvel

This movie hit the ground with a lot of controversy. But putting that aside and going in with an open mind, I found the movie to be slow at times, uninspired, and overall a letdown especially for comic book fans. There are really no noteworthy scenes in this movie (bar the great Stan Lee cameo) and the film plays out like a phase one film. It wasnt a bad movie but it wasn’t anything special either.
Adult Written byJeremy Rivera March 9, 2019

A disappointing romp all around

Terrible music choices, poor acting, the story was completely basic and predictable. There wasn't a single point in this entire movie that I was able to sit back and enjoy. To be fair however, if anyone follows marvel comics this is the outcome they would have predicted anyways. Hopefully endgame isn't nearly as bad, I have low expectations but here's hoping. Oh and Disney, here's a little hint, don't use a dead man's Twitter to try to advertise your tradh.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byJoshua B. March 9, 2019

So boring. Much bland.

The character of Carol Danvers (Captain Marvel) is one with no real weakness. She spends the majority of the movie as an expressionless super-powered individual who shows little to no emotion. She does not serve to be a great role-model. She treats every single situation with the same arrogant "I've got this." smirk. There is no real character arc to follow. The movie begins with Danvers being this super-powered being with no weakness who shows no emotion, and ends with Danvers being a super-powered being with no weakness who shows no emotion. The plot is rather mundane, and doesn't really draw the audience in. This is an entirely forgettable film, and seems to push the message that might makes right. You don't need to be nice to others. Vulnerability is undesired. Strength and force is the way to go. The film completely fails to give us a relatable main character with weaknesses and vulnerabilities. These are things every human has, and having those in a story allows the character to overcome those weaknesses to show what true strength really is. There is none of that in this film.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Language
Consumerism
Parent Written bymickrussom March 8, 2019
Adult Written byjayson d. March 8, 2019
Parent of a 10 year old Written byGlopezane March 8, 2019

Another MCU hit!

If you are an MCU fan, this movie is on the must-see list. Strong female protagonist will definitely show your little girl that no matter how many times you fall in life, what matters most is not giving up and getting right back up every single time. Mom and I usually see a movie first to find out whether our 10yr old daughter (Who is extremely sensitive to tragic, sad, scary scenes) might find the movie too scary, etc. We will definitely be taking her to see Captain Marvel and she can't wait! My wife and I worry not for violance, swearing, etc. We are more concerned when a movie has too many sexual innuendos, etc. Which this movie and overall the entire MCU has very little of.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Adult Written bygloriadan March 8, 2019

Great message

Ultimately this movie teaches perseverance, and the importance of getting up every time you fall. I love how the female characters support each other. Also if you're a parent who came of age in the 90's, you'll love the soundtrack. As good as any other Marvel movie. Can't see why anyone would hate it's "message" unless their problem is the female lead. There is no other "message." It's a Marvel movie.
Adult Written byvilla22 March 9, 2019

Disappointing

I was 15 when Iron man came out, I literally grew with this universe and is one of the things that I love in this life, how do I even start with this one. Let's do it with the good stuff, Sam L Jackson was as great as always beside the fact that they completely ruin the Fury character in this movie. The De-aging was amazingly done, some CGI were great, Ben Mendelsohn is one of the few highlights of the movies, but what was hand down the best part of the movie were those two tributes to the absolute legend that Stan Lee was. Now, the bad. Oh boy the is a lot wrong with this movie, apart from the whole pushing *world that starts with A and finishes with GENDA* with it's done in the most basic and unsophisticated way possible, it's just not a good movie, it's in fact one of the worst of these 10 years. The fight scenes were bad and messy. The MCU has earn after a lot of great movies and 10 years of work the loyalty of us going in with an open mind but it's just awful. It's sad because even tho the character it self is no where near as "beloved" as the prense and Larsson herself are claiming to be, clearly evidenced by the multiple reboots, low sales and constantly discontinued comics, it wasted probably one of the most interesting conflicts and characters of the whole Marvel comics, the Kree and Skrull war and the Skrulls them self. It also ruins a lot of characters, but no one more than Nick him self, an active shield agent, not only it had him holding a cat, witch by the way is way over praised as a lot as rest of most of the cast, while an retired old woman handle the Skrulls in an effort to forcibly make her look badass yeah like we didn't got enough of that. Also the whole cat - eye thing is a complete disgrace to the character, it was a thing that was teased years ago, it could have been epic and they decided to do it in such a stupid way for the love of God. Horrible decisions like changing MarVell sex, turn SHIELD into the office basically and the most problematic issue is the continuity problems that the movie brings. How did they get the tesseract, why SHIELD and Fury didn't knew about other beings in space on current time on the MCU, why is she "so strong" but you nerf some of the actual more powerful members of the whole Avengers roster like Thor, Hulk, Strange or Scarlet Witch. This is worry some in so many ways, the fact that this is supposed to be the character that is to be face of the new team and the new phase of the MCU, is very very worry some. Also the fact that Kevin Fergie saw this movie and gave an green light is way more worry some. I know fear for Endgame, as it's set to her to be an important factor in the movie, it's sad to see the MCU come down to this way. This could easily dictated the end of the MCU era.
Adult Written bydasorrow March 15, 2019

Captain marvel A super hero giving a super zero performance.

this was borning lack luster had tons of plotholes. was not worth the ticket price. the lead sucks horrible no emotion no acting ability her lines are horrible and the story in general is bad. i loved samuel jackson and the support case really felt like that help beri out alot almost to the point where she was dead weight. you dont have to see this to understand anything in the avengers movies so i suggest you just skip it or wait till it comes out on tv. beri is also telling her fans she hate white males and males over 40 that are not of color she also supports AOC so i dont like her in general shes is an idiot.
Adult Written byKublai_Khan March 14, 2019

Boring

Some of the worst writing in a big budget action movie I've seen in a while
Adult Written byTHE ICHI March 14, 2019

Sigh

It could had be better
Adult Written bylmmoore21 March 11, 2019

Feminist Propoganda

Although it capitalizes on and makes good use of the basic Marvel formula, I just can't bring myself nor my family to push for women ever being stronger than men at any times. Ultimately, it was an enjoyable show, but it gives little girls and young ladies, and even fully grown women unrealistic and skewed views of women dominating men in both public, and domestic life. Terribly dissapointing

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byFMCMama March 11, 2019

Captain Marvel

We walked out. I thought it was terrible. I took my son thinking it would be good to see a strong female lead but didn’t count on the open alien autopsy scene, the violence, the graphic nature of reading the memories and plane crash visuals. I also found the storyline weak and pointless. We left halfway through. An expensive mistake.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Adult Written by12345sheldon March 10, 2019

This title contains:

Consumerism

Pages