All parent member reviews for Charlie St. Cloud

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Parents say

(out of 12 reviews)
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Parent Written bySophron March 24, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

'The True Meaning on Charlie St Cloud !'

I think this movie would be advisable for viewers of 12 + because i believe in spirits and i have had some ghostly happens go on and i can relate to it personally but it teaches children how to cope and not just children , but it taught me , to live by love even though the stars walk backwards, and is for anyone suffering heart ache or grieving, when a loved one has been lost and has some very strong and powerful messages about the positive aspects of life and makes them feel good coming towards the end of the film, this film could be for anyone , couples, partners , family viewers and aso someone reaching out for comfort and can have no one that can understand them as much as the film can; it breaks out the true meaning of how devastating it is to loose but also to live , love and let go! if you 'd like to get in contact with me on your own personal opinions then please call 07581104850 thank you zac efron in truly my actor i love him soo much i feel like a child myself he is truly an outstanding role model for kids and teenagers and even for myself haha! and im 34, this man means well and should continue with what he is doing , because ladies and gentleman , boys and girls, there is none like him , zac if your reading this you amaze me XXXX
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Educator Written byMychemicalstinkpants January 23, 2011
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

powerful but heart breaking movie is to intense for kids

s**t is used 4 times ass is used 3 times and d**k is used 2 times there is drunk people and a kid is killed
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bynammy July 31, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
I loved the book and was very excited about the movie. I was afraid that Zac Efron's leading role might turn into nothing more than a teenie-bopper's delight and spoil the message of the story, Instead, Zac has turned the corner and become a true actor and leading man! The story followed the book fairly closely, but may be hard to undeerstand the first time through. My biggest disappointment was with the ending. The change the writer made was huge and completely unnecessary. It diminished the deepest meaning of the story. The few bad; words were barely noticeable, and the romance was implied more that shown. Charlie's grief at his brother's death was hard to watch. My advice, read the book.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 14 year old Written bydramaqueen@hotm... August 5, 2013
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Better than The Notebook! way better!

better than The Notebook. i rather this movie than The Notebook. this was a good movie well to me.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Adult Written bywonder dove December 30, 2012
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Fine movie for Zac fans!

I've only seen this movie once. Thought is was kind of strange but definitely watchable. Zac Efron fans will adore this movie, but if you are not (like myself) it comes off slightly boring and awkward. Zac's performance however, was very good and his love interest played by Amanda Crew was a delightful touch to the story. Good for 14+ due to some violence of a car accident killing a young kid, some gore. A punch to the face. One reference to sleeping together after a passionate kiss. Zac is also shirtless. Language is common for a PG-13 with some sh*ts, cr@p, h*ll, d@mn. It has a few good messages about coping after losing a loved one - to stay strong each and every day forward!
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent of a 6 year old Written bymadsmooney1214 October 5, 2012
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

charlie st cloud

Efron's younger fans? Do stars who are popular with younger kids have an obligation to make media that's appropriate for them? What role does alcohol play in the movie's central tragedy? What are the real-life consequences of drinking? Why is Charlie consumed by guilt? Can you keep the memory of a deceased loved one alive without getting lost in death? How does the movie handle this topic? Do you believe in second chances? Why?
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byjoshua martinez December 11, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
Charlie St.Cloud is a awesome movie great for older teens but this movie has some heavy themes that maybe too much for your younger kids such as loss and tragedy and parents you need to know that charlie st.cloud has some mild violence such as a car accident scene and a little fight scene at a bar also there is some sensuality such as passionate kissing and talking about getting laid there is also some language used and some underage drinking this movie has a powerful message it is said that not to live in the past and that the best way out of tragedy is to take one step at a time toward joy, no matter how difficult it may seem. It also says that putting off a dream doesn't mean losing it completely also for the role model charlie is a good but he's so dedicated and loyal that his own needs go by the wayside. He doesn’t know how to manage his grief and instead drowns in it.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 14 year old Written bychickaflik August 31, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Great movies, iffy for tweens, "off" for 10 and under

It's a really good movie, I went to see it with some 11-12 year olds at a birthday party and it was good. Depending on the person I think a 10 or 11 year old could handle it. There are a few bad words which are they main concern and there are parts that are harder for younger viewers to understand. Teens would love this movie but it's more a girl movie. There are a few kisses but it's ok. People who have a tough time with sad movies may not want to see it.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 14 year old Written bymykidsloveme August 8, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

KIDS

LOVED IT!!!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 9 year old Written bybrib140 July 31, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

good for tweens

good
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 13 year old Written byGeorgie1234 July 30, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Perfect for kids over age 11 due to a sexual scene

I thought Charlie st. Cloud was a very moving film. However there is one scene that may not be appropriate for children under the age 11. It is a sexual content scene but does not show nudity or detail. Clothes remain on. But it might still be inappropriate for kids under 11. Otherwise Charlie st. Cloud is a very good movie.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written byMeghan Maher July 29, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Good movie

What other families should know
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models