Kid reviews for Chicken Run

Common Sense says

Charming animated escape tale has some peril, scares.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 6+
Based on 20 reviews

Kids say

age 8+
Based on 34 reviews
Teen, 15 years old Written byaaron_rose September 3, 2020

This is Terrifying

I don't get scared easily, but this movie is...horrifying. I remember watching it a lot as a kid and really liking it, but now that I'm re-watching it it gives me chills. The whole concept is pretty mature and I personally find the animation style really creepy. There are obvious Holocaust references and there are parts of it that remind me of The Handmaid's Tale. I don't know how this is rated G. Please don't let young children watch this.
Kid, 10 years old May 11, 2020

Yes

I watched this movie with my mom last night and honestly I really liked it for some reason. I would say it is 10+ because it has a lot of action and the chickens kiss at the end (0///0) and yeah. Some younger kids might get scared of all the action and stuff like that tbh

This title contains:

Positive role models
Teen, 16 years old Written byDesmay2 January 28, 2020

Great film, slightly questionable in parts.

Overall, it was a great film. Hilarious, lots of fun to watch. Parents should know a few things, though.

Violence: lots of peril. The film is based around chickens escaping a chicken farm, where they "lay eggs, day in, and day out, and then they kill us". A chicken is sent to the chop (off-screen, a 'thud' is heard). SPOILERS: later on in the film, the owner of the farm prepares to transform the farm into a chicken-pie farm, threatening to kill all the chickens. Attempts to kill one chicken with a knife, however the chicken escapes.

Swearing: Not really. Some may be uncomfortable with 'poppycock', etc.

Alcohol/Drugs: No 'drug' use, as such. There is a scene where some chickens pretend to be drunk and drink 'cocktails'.

Sex: There are a number of innuendos that would likely make the film PG if it was released today ("Why did you come here?" "Why, because of all the English chicks"... "You know you are the first chick I met with the shell still on?"... etc). Something to be weary of.
Teen, 13 years old Written bythor101 January 3, 2020

It is suprisingly disturbing

I was bothered by it for a while especially since i like animals more than people some chickens get DECAPITATED and it looks like one gets decapitated also a character drinks out of a martini glass and acts drunk how is it only P G?

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byryrysss September 1, 2019

NOT FOR LITTLE KIDS

first time i saw this movie i was in kindergarten, and it traumatized me. i sat in the back of the room and cried and begged them to turn it off. i refused to watch the movie for years and years after that. didn’t watch it again until i was 12. but when i saw it then, it was a good movie! but traumatized me as a child.

This title contains:

Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Teen, 15 years old Written bysophiedogga August 14, 2019

pornographic images

its just so nasty

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Kid, 11 years old August 5, 2018

Classic!

Some of Nick Park's best work!
Teen, 15 years old Written byLokiStarkLord May 26, 2018

Stop making movies aardmam !!

Look I know I went all out on this one lol it’s not an 18+ movie I’m sire it’s fine for normal people. But I was literally traumatized as a kid and wouldn’t watch for three years...I was shocked when I saw them try to kill Ginger with a knife and the pie machine was so scary. I usually watch animated movies but when early man was announced (it actually looked kinda funny, and wow, Eddie redmane, Tom Hiddleston and Maisie Williams!) but I was like I won’t bother lol the art style tienes me off of an entire studio. Omg.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Teen, 13 years old Written byJeremiah Gary13 May 8, 2018

THE BEST MOVIE EVER!

I love this movie when I was little. I used to watch it all the time and I still like it!! It's so awesome!

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Kid, 12 years old May 6, 2017

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Teen, 17 years old Written bydanny 7000 August 14, 2016

chicken run is not for little kids

i think chicken run is a amazing movie but its not for little kids because a character in the movie gets her head chopped off off-screen a rooster named rocky drinks out of a martini glass and acts drunk a character knits a noose two of the main characters are in peril when they fall into a pie machine and mrs tweedy tries to kill the chickens by chopping off their heads with a axe with that being said chicken run just like Aardmans other stuff before shaun the sheep was not made for kids but was just family freindly slapstick comedy and i dont reccomend it for anyone under the age of 13

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written byCamoFanatic123 August 12, 2016
Kid, 9 years old April 1, 2014

Very appalling with a scheme! Duh check the adds like seriously

I'm 9 and I still hate it to much violence listen before you child is scarred like I was

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Teen, 16 years old Written bymoviewannabe January 18, 2013

Who would win? Chickens or farmers?

The chickens would win in this movie. It is very, very funny!! DRINKING, DRUGS & SMOKING: Rocky puts a piece of his tail into a water cup and yells "Cocktail!!"

This title contains:

Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written bymaster belial November 29, 2012

chicken run is no chicken

it was one of the funniest movie i have seen

This title contains:

Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Kid, 9 years old October 3, 2012

Very nice movie made by Dreamworks Animation.

Very nice movie made by Dreamworks Animation.
Kid, 11 years old August 22, 2012

Terrible

I HATE THIS MOVIE SOOOOO MUCH!!!!! I became a vegetarian partly because of this movie!!! It made me realize what some farmers do to these poor animals!! :(

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Kid, 11 years old March 5, 2012
Teen, 13 years old Written byAstonLover January 27, 2012

An amazing film

A amazing movie from Aardman, i first watched this when i was about 3 and i havent stopped watching it, i still watch it now! It is a great movie for the whole family, you should consider watching it if you havent seen it otherwise your missing out! But everyones saying oh there a chicken being killed well that happens in the real world and the film is not lying as farmers do kill chickens if they arent any good also you dont even see the chicken get killed all you see is a shadow of the Mrs Tweedy and an axe!

This title contains:

Educational Value
Positive Messages
Positive role models
Teen, 15 years old Written byhomealonefan123 December 19, 2011

great stop-motion animated movie full of suprises

this british animated film is really suprising for a rated G. but lots of animated cartoon violence. including a scene where a chicken is killed. but great film.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness

Pages