Kid reviews for Crazy Rich Asians

Common Sense says

Messages, role models stand out in culture-clash romcom.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 11+
Based on 22 reviews

Kids say

age 12+
Based on 25 reviews
Teen, 13 years old Written bysubbaiahsruthi97 August 11, 2018

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byABKroopkin August 16, 2018

Funny, in-depth Comedy

There's a lot of suggestive content, but a great role model and very funny characters. There's quite a bit of swearing, as well as some touchy subjects (mainly cheating). It talks about living up to expectations, and has relatable characters.

This title contains:

Positive role models
Language
Teen, 14 years old Written byNadia Cloud August 16, 2018

Smart, funny comedy!

Crazy Rich Asians is a very great and enjoyable comedy. It has great humor and characters. I think it should be for people 13 and older because of language and complex plot. However, I definitely recommend.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Language
Teen, 15 years old Written bydouglsa August 17, 2018

Good Movie With Positive Messages

I think this movie is really good with an empowering message and heartwarming ending. Nothing bad happens and all the inappropriate content you wouldn't get unless you already knew about the content. i.e. A guy sniffs and touches the side of his nose implying coccaine use, which you wouldn't understand unless you already knew about that.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byLaxGirl13 August 20, 2018

So great to see an all-Asian cast!

I went to see this with my mom, aunt, and older sister. My mom and aunt are half Asian and they cried during this movie - they said they hoped me and my sister understood how much it meant to them to see all Asians on the big screen. Great movie!

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Kid, 11 years old August 19, 2018

The Best New Movie in a While

Constance Wu shines in this brilliantly funny new movie, with Awkwafina providing constant laughs as her sidekick. It is an important lesson about money and status, under cover as a funny movie that is enjoyable to anyone, but because of implied sex and cursing, not for the younger kids. However, it is recommended to anyone over 11.
Kid, 12 years old August 27, 2018

Great, predictable love story. Mild language and sexuality.

Crazy Rich Asians was a great movie! The plot and love story was very well done, compared to other romantic comedies. I think parents should know before taking kids that bad language and sexuality is a common theme here. Often times you will see a couple either begin or end a scene making out in bed. Or, at one point, two characters are very briefly seen with their pants off making out. And then with language, words like "sh*t", "b*tch", and one ittle f-word are used in the movie. Otherwise, I highly recommend you go see this movie. NOT a waste of money! :) (also if it says "too much something" down below, i don't necessarily think it was too much.

This title contains:

Positive role models
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byfamilytree123 August 26, 2018

Great movie... FOR FAMILIES...

There are many great messages through this movie, but I would think that a child around 11-12 should watch it with a parent. The bad stuff about the movie wasn't anything our family hadn't seen/heard though. Otherwise a great movie, loved it!

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Language
Teen, 13 years old Written byBlinkArmyOnce August 21, 2018

AMAZING! So great to finally see representation!

My mom and I went to go see this, and we fell in love with it immediately. Not even then. BEFORE we went to go see it. It's a beautiful romcom, and the performances were amazing! Especially Constance Wu. Has anyone else seen that Buzzfeed article about the mom who saw the trailer and made her 4 year old daughter that blue Marchesa dress Constance was wearing? She loved it so much! She even memorized Constance's line, "Immigrant stories are stories of dreams, of love, of sacrifice, of courage, of honour." It was absolutely adorable! I definitely recommend seeing this film, AND reading the book. Beautiful!
Teen, 17 years old Written byLordlcs September 14, 2018

Heartwarming Film

From just looking at the plot, Crazy Rich Asians might seem like trash, but trust me... IT’S GREAT! The film is is about reconnecting and reconciling with family. It highlights the importance of love and the bonds of friendship. Some bad words, drinking, and a few sexual references, but nothing good parenting can’t handle!

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byS.G_13 September 25, 2018

Drama Movie with comedy

Crazy Rich Asians is the first motion-picture to have an all-Asian cast. I didn’t expect much before watching this movie. I was absolutely wrong. The characters represented Asian actors in a great way! There was bits of comedy which stole each scene. I would recommend it to 13+.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Consumerism
Teen, 16 years old Written byjoshuadain September 30, 2018

Great Movie, not for kids

Crazy Rich Asians is a great movie, with great role models. But, this movie is not for kids. kids 13 and over are the ideal audience. The movie has quit a few sexy scenes were people get on top of each other. Many woman in bikinis and men in underwear are shown. A porn star is discussed. Their are also way to many shirtless men. But the movie has great role models and messages.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Sexy stuff
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byKking05 August 22, 2018

Representation of Asian Americans in Media

I was really excited to see this movie because of its all-Asian cast, and it did not disappoint. There were strong female leads, and the way that the protagonist dealt with the situation was not a hysterical outburst like in cheesy rom-coms. I personally think that it was a good movie, but there was implied sex and a few swear words. I think that it's okay for kids over 10 (after all, there are much more intense things shown on TV) and is definitely a feel-good movie.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Sexy stuff
Language
Teen, 13 years old Written byPingsum September 21, 2018

Great Movie and Has Good Messages

I didn't know what I was expecting when I went into the movie theatre, but I was so pleasantly surpised! Definitely an amazing romantic comedy. There's sex (not actual intercourse), but nothing over the top. Also a good amount of swearing. The main lady character is a great role model and fights for what she wants. Definitely a must-see!

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Teen, 15 years old Written bystacii03 September 6, 2018
Teen, 16 years old Written byadamg57 August 26, 2018

Humurous!

Never laughed so hard during a movie! Brings together cultural awareness, tackles hard hitting subjects, but includes a lot of humor! LOVE IT

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Kid, 11 years old August 16, 2018

Great

I'm the opposite of what some people here think, but I find the book amazing and the movie's great as well. I have nothing more to say.
Teen, 13 years old Written byno_one_loves_you.com August 14, 2018

Ehh

The name of the movie seems kind of derogatory towards asian people.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Teen, 17 years old Written byBDonn3 December 13, 2018

This is SO INNAPROPRIATE FOR CHINESE PEOPLE

I AM A CHINESE WOMAN AND I CANNOT I JUST CANT MY SON DIED AFTER WATCHING THIS BECAUSE HE WAS SO OFFENDED> HELP!!!!!!!

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byghtehrani December 6, 2018

Surprising...

This movie was really, really good. I personally loved it. At first I didn't really know what to expect, but it pleasantly surprised me in all ways. Rachel and Nick were an amazing adorable couple (for once a couple I could really root for) and it almost made me cry at times. Obviously parents should keep in mind the sensuality, there's a lot of shirtless guys and kissing abounds. Also various jokes here and there that are slightly more inappropriate in nature. Language is mild - there is a blink and you'll miss it f-word. But positive messages are definitely there and it was so awesome to see an all Asian lead cast!

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism

Pages