All parent member reviews for Crazy, Stupid, Love.

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Parents say

(out of 12 reviews)
AGE
15
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Parent of a 11 year old Written byavrilnyc August 3, 2011
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Smart movie but with certain inappropriate parts

It was a smart movie with a lot of surprises BUT too much sexuality. I found creepy the whole subplot where a 17 year old girl has a crash on a married 40-something and takes naked pictures of herself to give to th emarried man and then she ends-up giving these naked pictures to a 13 year old boy who had a crush on her...and this behavior is presented as OK!! I don't want my 11-12 year old getting any ideas that such a behavior is OK!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Parent Written byPrude September 14, 2011
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Not good, trust me

I felt like I should wash my brain after this movie. Granted I am a person who doesn't watch R movies and who finds a lot of the PG 13 movies are not for anyone under 18. There was a young boy caught masturbating, a 18 year old likes an older man and to get his attention she makes nude pictures of herself she never gives him. An older man sits at a bar drinking and picking up on women who he takes several home with him. A younger man is shown to be drinking during most of the movie and hits on and takes home many women. The wife has an affair there is an almost sex scene. I could go on. The problem is the director only gives you glimpses and a sense of what is going on so a lot of people feel this is a clean movie cause it shows very little but in reality this movie is so damaging.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bywonder dove August 5, 2013
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

PG-13, Really?

This could pass for an R-rated film if they threw in a couple more f-bombs! Really. I got this film as a gift and already expected the content to be raunchy - which isn't always bad but to target a movie like that towards the younger crowd is wrong. It's very sexual with plenty of inappropriate topics. Was it any good? It definitely kept me watching and yes it was pretty enjoyable overall. However, one of the main characters (Ryan Gosling) was unbearably annoying most of the time - he plays one of those "I'm too cool for you" macho guys who tries to get every woman into bed with him. The whole film basically is a bad influence, but it's mindless fun for the older crowd. Language is bad for a PG-13, you hear f-words, sh*t, d*ck, @sshole...etc the list goes on. Violence is mild but has some bickering between characters, a fight. Sexual content is extremely frequent (Commonsense did not list half of it - so here we go!), part of the opening scene a young seventeen year old girl is babysitting a thirteen year old boy and walks in on him masturbating. Same girl has a strong crush on the thirteen year old boys 40-something father. Thirteen year old boy has a huge crush on the seventeen year old babysitter and tells her he loves her frequently. Seventeen year old takes naked pictures of herself to give to the older man - her parents eventually find out. Girl gets explicit advice from another girl at school on how to attract older men. Guys go to bars frequently to see who they can take home to bed. Guy shows another married guy how to do it. Major make-out pre-sex scene of a married man and another woman (nothing shown). Cheating between married couples, talk of a divorce. Lots of skimpy outfits. Making out in bed. Sex discussions. There is plenty of drinking and bar scenes - girl chugs down alcohol to calm her nerves before sleeping with a guy she just met. This film is not appropriate for kids or teens under 16!!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 9, 10, 13, and 13 year old Written bySingaporeMomof3 January 27, 2012
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Sex, sex, drinking, more sex, & oh yeah, fight for your soulmate

It is just to much focus on sex, seduction, multiple partners and betrayal in a light-hearted way that minimizes the real trauma that exists for people and could leave teens with ideas of sexual behaviour to try out
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byjoshua martinez December 3, 2011
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

14 and up.

Crazy, Stupid, Love is an average movie about managing family relationship, managing friendship, and modeling healthy relationships and with that being said this movie is good for your older teens but parents this movie has some sexual content some strong language used and lot's of social drinking the positive message is that relationships are living, breathing things that require tending to thrive. Also, you need to take care of yourself first before you can truly care for others and the role models is that Cal and Jacob form a deep friendship and are loyal to each other.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written bymotogirl199 August 22, 2011
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Very offensive movie

I walked out of this movie half way through, although from the very opening scene I was uncomfortable and just should have left then. I can't believe people think this kind of a movie is entertainment, I was shocked and offended the whole time. The language was terrible, the messages were negative and depressing, the whole movie was so degrading. I can't believe the ages of some of the people who put in positive reviews. Parents, wake up and teach your kids some standards!!
Adult Written byzeekattacklee January 30, 2015
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

CsL review

A Nice film for adults and mature teenagers, But not for the kids.. The film itself was actually pretty good.. But otherwise, It does get overly sexual.. Parents need to use wise judgement before letting their young children watch..
What other families should know
Too much sex
Adult Written byMovieLover92 April 29, 2013
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Very good but a little mature for 13 year olds

I thought this movie was very good and had a lot of funny moments but I don't think this is a movie that I would let my 13-year old, if I had one, watch. At least not without supervision. It has a lot of sexual humor in it that kids can misinterpret. Other than that I thought it was a well made film.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byfreehope. March 20, 2012
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Great! Excellent Acting!

There is drinking by adults in restaurants as well as references to hooking up after being drunk. There's a lot of swearing- although a part of which is done by a 13 year old. There is making out, kissing, holding hands, straddling, references to sex, comments about sex that's going to happen, and almost innuendos. There's also implied sex, as well as naked pictures taken by a teen though you don't really see her. Violence: There's a sort of fight where a few men lunge at each other, or punch the other but its done humorously. Hilarious funny movie. Great film that depicts the dark sides of love and manages to be deep and thought provoking as well as hilarious and well directed at other parts. Carell and Moore are excellent, funny and their characters are well done. Parents are very likable. Gosling is excellent as his role, both funny, smooth, convincing, and heartwarming. Stone is excellent as well, delivers hilarious lines, and has excellent chemistry with Gosling. Stone's best friend in film - Liz Lapira-- has a minor albeit hilarious role with lines/actions delivered perfectly. Tomei is hilarious as well. Jonah Bobo-- excellent as a young actor, plays his part really, well and his hilarious. Analeigh Tipton-- pulls off awkward really well, especially where she's trying to figure out how to take photos which she can clearly do since she was a finalist on Top Model Great film-- teens 15 and up could see it. I'd pause for 14 year olds, and evaluate based on who your child is; at fifteen it should be fine. A teenager persues a married man for whom she babysits for- worth considering before letting your kid watch. She also gives naked pictures to a 13 year old she used to babysit for. Women in bar portrayed as silly though other main character women other than the teen are portrayed as intelligent and strong.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bysarahkay89 January 3, 2012
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Not for kids/teens.

Not the happy, rom-com I expected it to be. I was extremely disappointed with the flagrant and casual sex as a main (somewhat positive) theme of this movie. It had *some* redeeming moments such a Ryan Gosling's character verbalizing that his sexually open lifestyle did not bring him happiness. But I was most shocked by the ending which included the babysitter giving a 13 year old boy (the child she used to babysit) porn pictures of herself.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byArlene Carballo December 30, 2011
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Fun movie, same stereotypes.

The movie was fun. My husband and I enjoyed it. The main problem I have with Crazy, stupid, love is their portrayal of women. Not one is presented as smart or, at least, savvy enough to see these pick-up artists for what they are. In one of the first scenes, the Hanna character listens to all the lame lines the guy is laying on her and rejects his behavior. She simply leaves the bar. However, no one else reacts that way. The bar is just filled with gullible, beautiful, young women with tiny brains and boring personalities. Even Hanna (angry and drunk after an absurd romantic fiasco) returns to the bar to hook-up with the pick-up artist. And, of course, all these young women react exactly the same regardless of who is delivering the lines. Age and/or appearance are not issues for them: Mr. Gosling’s and Mr. Carell’s characters both are successful on their pursuit of one-nighters after the middle-aged Carell is properly dressed. However (mind the double-standard), age and appearance are very much important for the male characters in the bar. Not one of the women they interact with is over 30 (obviously, not counting Marisa Tomei who definitely does not look like most middle-aged women). So, what am I saying? I rented the movie for my teenage daughter and discussed with her how dumb all the girls from the bar were presented, because the bottom line is no one wants their daughter to behave like one of the bimbos from the movie.
What other families should know
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byDasGinatron November 6, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Decent dramady, but mature themes.

So this movie is decent. However, there are things to consider when letting your kids watch it, or even watching it with them. If your 16-year-old is dead-set on seeing it, let them. If your 14-year-old is dead-set on seeing it, watch it with them-- but be prepared for "awkward" moments. There are some strong adult themes in this, even regarding the teenagers in the movie. However, the overall message and ending is a positive one. It has it's funny aspects, but was even more serious than I had anticipated. Also, be aware that a solid 40% of this movie takes place in a bar where people are "picking up" other people (or at least attempting to.) As long as all aspects are considered, as a parent, you should be relatively aware of your teenagers maturity level and can decide from there. As for preteens or young children? Put this flick on after bedtime so the adults can have a chuckle-- they would not understand the theme anyway, and it saves you from insurmountable uncomfortable questions post film.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking