Want personalized picks that fit your family?

Find entertainment that fits your kid's interests and your parenting style.

Go to For Your Family

Parent reviews for Dark Phoenix

Common Sense says

Sophie Turner is best part of intense, dark X-Men finale.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 13+
Based on 9 reviews

Kids say

age 11+
Based on 13 reviews
Adult Written byDaniel S. June 9, 2019

Extremely violent and distressing should have been r

This film was nearly rated a r but it should have been took my daughter who 14 to see this and it was extremely gory with some upsetting and disturbing scenes this film shouldn't be seen in 3d or big screen maybe 2d will be okay but the violence shocked me and I'm complaining to the age rating company

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Adult Written bygevianarif June 15, 2019

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Adult Written byhelen079 June 15, 2019

It's definitely NOT PG-13.

Rating: definitely NOT PG-13. There is extreme violence and use of guns, a graphic car crash, two favorite characters getting stabbed with pointy objects protruding from their chest (one dies), human chests getting caved in by aliens, forcing a disabled man to walk as a form of torture, humans and aliens-posing-as-humans dying in various horrific ways, etc. Besides that, both my kid and I liked it as a stand-alone X-Men movie, but not as a farewell to Xavier and the X-Men. The final scene was disappointing because Xavier's family is the X-Men, not Magneto. The script could have been better at places: more exposition and less telling was needed regarding why Xavier shielding Jean's mind was "a bad thing" (we had to take Mystique and Beast's word for it, while I, as a viewer, thought he did what was best at the time for the little kid's mind), and there should have been less repetition (both Jean and Magneto used the exact same words at least 3 times in the movie). It was an emotional movie, and I'd gladly rewatch it on DVD, where I could fast-forward the violent bits.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Adult Written byiTCarLos June 11, 2019

THiS iS NOT A "THE DARK PHOENiX SAGA".

I've seen a lot of Negative feedback on this Movie & I strongly believe that it deserves the Best ranking. First, the Director, Writer & all the People behind this Movie, didn't say that this would be a Comic-like Saga & this is not a continuation nor connected to the X-Men: The Last Stand (2006). In my opinion, this is like a New (or Re-tell) Story of Jean Grey because if the production will make a Saga, it would be a Decade like in Comics, so ENOUGH of comparison. [& by the way, I watched this movie twice & the second time I watched it, I brought my Bestfriend to see this Most Powerful Character, ever] This movie is a PERFECT one for delivering the Story of the MOST POWERFUL SCi-Fi CHARACTER in History. From being a child who can't control her power that accidentally kills Her Mom turning into a vessel of the Most Powerful Cosmic Entity in the Universe. Sophie Turner gave a natural emotion & acting-skills to the character from the Start to the End. She is the Best Jean Grey, physically. All Actors gave their best on this movie & I can give them 10/10, each. See? I can't literally end this review because of this Awesomeness of this play & I can guarantee you that after watching this, you realized that PHOENIX is the Most Powerful Comic Character. Manga and even Anime characters can't beat this powerful cosmic entity so for the People behind this movie, CONGRATULATIONS! You all did a great, great job!

This title contains:

Positive role models
Adult Written byGamefan28 June 9, 2019

First half of the movie sucked second half much better

First thing parents of fans of x men should know is that this one takes it's time getting started theres little to no action in the first half of the movie but after that it turns into your typical x men movie with explosions guns fist fights ect be sure to talk to kids about the fact that you'll never leave them as that is a theme of the movie I can't say I recommend it for small kids but aside from that it's pretty good if you've seen everything else

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byMike35kd June 8, 2019

Amazing

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Adult Written byHobNobbin June 7, 2019

Complete Snorefest

Ugh, this was extremely tiresome to sit through. Waiting for anything to happen while waiting for the uninteresting dialogue between uninteresting characters to finish. Bad CGI and woeful cinematography coupled with bad directing and abysmally bland sound design and you have an effective means to help you fall asleep. Don’t bother with this one.

This title contains:

Consumerism
Parent of a 6 and 10 year old Written byMarvel-Allstar June 7, 2019

Darker Phoenix

Some younger kids might be emotionally mature enough to watch this film but I think my 6 year old boy would not appreciate the complexity of the story in the same way as my 9 year old daughter. There was only 1 strong swear word that I noticed (there may be more) but children can only learn about the world if they understand that these words are used and it is not gratuitous. Enjoyable film with some excellent action sequences. The tone and style has a different and moodier feel which helps distinguish it from other superhero films yet is much more colourful and enjoyable than the DCEU offerings that tried and failed to achieve this. The character development was a little hurried with both the heroes and the villains to be as engaging as they could have been. That said it has some scenes that were well written and acted to bring some depth and emotion to the events. McAvoy, Fassbender and Hoult stood out with strong performances but some of the acting by others at times was good but more functional from Turner and Sheridan and Lawrence is unfortunately miscast as Mystique/Raven. It sits somewhere in the middle of the franchise. I will never watch Last Stand or Wolverine Origins again but will watch this again.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Adult Written byStevegates1234 June 6, 2019

May think this will be fine for your kids but extremely violent for big screen

Lots of horrible deaths and gory the rest of the film fine just the violence was very bad took my 13 year old daughter and wish I had waited to see it at home even though she seemed fine afterwards I could tell she wasn't and was a bit upset at some scenes this film will be great for at home but at cinema not good for younger teenagers because of violence and gore

This title contains:

Violence & scariness