Want personalized picks that fit your family?

Set preferences to see our top age-appropriate picks for your kids.

Get age-based picks

Parent reviews for Eight Below

Common Sense says

Inspiring story about brave sled dogs.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 9+
Based on 26 reviews

Kids say

age 8+
Based on 24 reviews
Adult Written bymomrowley April 9, 2008
Adult Written bynavy62 April 9, 2008

A real nail biter!

What a great movie! My husband and I took our 2 kids to see this movie. (They are 8 and 10.) It was action packed almost the entire time. The dogs are adorable and it was hard to see them in peril. It was good to see the dogs work together to get out of tough situations. Being an animal lover, it was hard to watch Jerry leave his dogs! He does eventually get back to them, but it takes quite a while. That is a great moment! I would recommend this movie for kids 8 and up. It might be too involved for kids any younger. It definitely isn't your typical 'kid' movie.
Parent of a 9 and 11 year old Written byannabelle1970 October 11, 2015

Too much for my animal loving 9 yr old

I was hesitant to watch this with our 9 yr old. He loves animals and is very empathetic. He was wary when (*spoiler alert*) they had to leave the dogs. But when a dog fell down the side of the mountain, that was it for him. He got very upset and We went upstairs while our 11 year old and husband watched the rest. Our 11 yr old was perfectly fine. I think this is a fine movie as far as violence, language, sex is concerned. But I would say this is a no-go for sensitive animal lovers of any age.
Adult Written byAmy45 April 7, 2013

Not for little kids

My 1st grade boy, age 7 was scared. My almost 9, 3rd grade boy was very upset about the dogs dying. I wish I read more about it before I let them watch it. Not a great film for sensitive little kids.
Adult Written byIluvhuskies22 July 9, 2017

Eight Below is Great for kids

Eight Below is good for your little ones especially if you have toddlers younger than 6 years of age. Kids would definitely love that Walt Disney movie. If I like Eight Below, your kids will definitely love it too. It does a some violence in the movie, but they probably aren’t recommended for a kid under 12 years of age. Sorry if I didn’t edit this like I should have done this two years ago aka 2017. Don’t get me wrong but I’m not wrong like I do get wrong at times. Like sometime I do lie about stuff I shouldn’t.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Parent of a 9 year old Written bymamacat531 October 27, 2013

Good movie, but not for overly sensitive little ones (or easily scared Moms)

Really good movie, but very emotional. There is an overall happy ending, but several very sad scenes, and a few good scares, including one that had ME jump out of my seat and scream a swear word! My son jumped, too, but not as bad as i did. Be careful with kids who are sensitive.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Adult Written byMiaGirl October 8, 2011

Very Good but Sad

Great movie for dog lovers but a little sad, some moments could be scary for younger kids as the seal moment is completely unexpected. But overall a good family movie. "Look alive, stay alert."

This title contains:

Educational Value
Positive Messages
Positive role models
Adult Written byfunnky face September 26, 2011

the good movie ever

i think it is a good movie

This title contains:

Educational Value
Positive Messages
Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byMi3 March 8, 2011

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Language
Adult Written byfireech April 9, 2008
Adult Written bybethlthomson April 9, 2008

i cried

My kids love it with those's pretty dogs.
Adult Written byEverydayJoe April 9, 2008

A Very Enjoyable Flick

It's been a long time since I've seen a film I didn't have to mentally filter out some of the language, graphic scenes, or sexual content. This show is a winner. It strongly supports the virtues of loyalty and sacrifice too. It made my wife teary-eyed too.
Adult Written bysoccer girl7 April 9, 2008

I loved it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

It was a great movie. Especially if your an animal luver like me! Plus the scenery was breathtaking and really amazing and the dogs were adorable! PS: "XXX" is a great movie also
Parent Written byqtnn January 11, 2009
Adult Written bypanker April 9, 2008

great family movie, for over 9-10 yrs old

A great family movie. We all loved it - however, my 8 1/2 year old ( a real dog lover) cried almost the whole movie, as soon as you could tell Jack (one of the dogs) would die. Perhaps too sad for younger kids. Otherwise, a great family-friendly movie!
Adult Written bymrblech April 9, 2008

Cold temperatures, warm emotions

Your basic Disney film about a likable guy, his likable friends, and some very furry heroes. Gratuitous profanity is a silly but minor drawback - it almost should be a "G" movie. There's something for everyone in the family: beautiful nature scenes, some tearjerker moments, some suspense, comic relief, and even a bit of violence (thanks to Mother Nature).
Adult Written byShilohbloo April 9, 2008
Adult Written bysurfergirl2314 April 9, 2008

This is Great

This movie is a mix of happy and sad the movie never feel's happy in the middle but 6 out of the 8 dogs surivie wich is good and bad.
Adult Written bysassy007 April 9, 2008
Adult Written byCSM Screen Name... April 9, 2008

"Eight Below" Should Get "Eights Stars"

I LOVE this movie i saw it with my brother it was sad yet joyful Paul Walkers Greatest Performance it eas Great for everyone

Pages