Parents say

(out of 26 reviews)
age 10+
Review this title!
Adult Written bymomrowley April 9, 2008
Adult Written bynavy62 April 9, 2008

A real nail biter!

What a great movie! My husband and I took our 2 kids to see this movie. (They are 8 and 10.) It was action packed almost the entire time. The dogs are adorable and it was hard to see them in peril. It was good to see the dogs work together to get out of tough situations. Being an animal lover, it was hard to watch Jerry leave his dogs! He does eventually get back to them, but it takes quite a while. That is a great moment! I would recommend this movie for kids 8 and up. It might be too involved for kids any younger. It definitely isn't your typical 'kid' movie.
Parent of a 9 and 11 year old Written byannabelle1970 October 11, 2015

Too much for my animal loving 9 yr old

I was hesitant to watch this with our 9 yr old. He loves animals and is very empathetic. He was wary when (*spoiler alert*) they had to leave the dogs. But when a dog fell down the side of the mountain, that was it for him. He got very upset and We went upstairs while our 11 year old and husband watched the rest. Our 11 yr old was perfectly fine. I think this is a fine movie as far as violence, language, sex is concerned. But I would say this is a no-go for sensitive animal lovers of any age.
Parent of a 9 year old Written bymamacat531 October 27, 2013

Good movie, but not for overly sensitive little ones (or easily scared Moms)

Really good movie, but very emotional. There is an overall happy ending, but several very sad scenes, and a few good scares, including one that had ME jump out of my seat and scream a swear word! My son jumped, too, but not as bad as i did. Be careful with kids who are sensitive.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Educator and Parent Written byAmy45 April 7, 2013

Not for little kids

My 1st grade boy, age 7 was scared. My almost 9, 3rd grade boy was very upset about the dogs dying. I wish I read more about it before I let them watch it. Not a great film for sensitive little kids.
Parent Written byMiaGirl October 8, 2011

Very Good but Sad

Great movie for dog lovers but a little sad, some moments could be scary for younger kids as the seal moment is completely unexpected. But overall a good family movie. "Look alive, stay alert."
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Parent Written byfunnky face September 26, 2011

the good movie ever

i think it is a good movie
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byMi3 March 8, 2011
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Parent of a 7 and 8 year old Written byqtnn January 11, 2009
Adult Written byKrbbup November 20, 2008

Horrible Tear-Jerker

I purposely did not see this movie in theaters because I knew some of the animals died. My family rented it and I could only watch about thirty minutes of it before I almost cried! I have a very soft spot for animals, so if you can handle seeing mans' best friend left behind to freeze, go right ahead. The story is about a group of people who are scientists studying the weather and climate of Alaska (I think). When a business/scientist comes to the base in search of a guide, the main character sets of with his dogs and the visitor to go and study the land. A horrible accident occures, the man is injured and the main character heads back to base with him and the dogs. Bottom line: all of the people get into a helicopter (to get the injured man to a hospitail) and leaves the dogs during an ice storm. This is where I stopped, so I do not know what happens after this. I personally would NOT recommend this movie to anyone who cares about animals or who cries easily.
Adult Written byfireech April 9, 2008
Adult Written bypanker April 9, 2008

great family movie, for over 9-10 yrs old

A great family movie. We all loved it - however, my 8 1/2 year old ( a real dog lover) cried almost the whole movie, as soon as you could tell Jack (one of the dogs) would die. Perhaps too sad for younger kids. Otherwise, a great family-friendly movie!
Adult Written bymrblech April 9, 2008

Cold temperatures, warm emotions

Your basic Disney film about a likable guy, his likable friends, and some very furry heroes. Gratuitous profanity is a silly but minor drawback - it almost should be a "G" movie. There's something for everyone in the family: beautiful nature scenes, some tearjerker moments, some suspense, comic relief, and even a bit of violence (thanks to Mother Nature).
Adult Written bybethlthomson April 9, 2008

i cried

My kids love it with those's pretty dogs.
Adult Written byEverydayJoe April 9, 2008

A Very Enjoyable Flick

It's been a long time since I've seen a film I didn't have to mentally filter out some of the language, graphic scenes, or sexual content. This show is a winner. It strongly supports the virtues of loyalty and sacrifice too. It made my wife teary-eyed too.
Adult Written bysoccer girl7 April 9, 2008

I loved it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

It was a great movie. Especially if your an animal luver like me! Plus the scenery was breathtaking and really amazing and the dogs were adorable! PS: "XXX" is a great movie also
Adult Written byShilohbloo April 9, 2008
Adult Written bysurfergirl2314 April 9, 2008

This is Great

This movie is a mix of happy and sad the movie never feel's happy in the middle but 6 out of the 8 dogs surivie wich is good and bad.
Adult Written bysassy007 April 9, 2008
Adult Written byCSM Screen Name... April 9, 2008

"Eight Below" Should Get "Eights Stars"

I LOVE this movie i saw it with my brother it was sad yet joyful Paul Walkers Greatest Performance it eas Great for everyone

Pages