Kid reviews for Ex Machina

Common Sense says

Brilliant, emotional, mature sci-fi tale could be a classic.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 17+
Based on 14 reviews

Kids say

age 15+
Based on 21 reviews
Teen, 14 years old Written byRagglu May 10, 2015

Ex Machina a Sci-Fi Masterpiece

Ex Machina is a though provoking, eerie and intellectual movie aimed at older teenagers and adults. It contains a lot of swearing, many sexual references and nudity (although actual sex is never shown on screen), violence and multiple drinking scenes. The movie is sci-fi and centers around artificial intelligence, their morality, and how easily the human mind can be tricked by others. The language is particularly strong, with 'f--k' being used casually in many sentences. Female genitals are shown quite a few times and sex is implied, although nothing more than making-out happens on screen. The main character slashes his wrists with a blade, but it is easy to determine when the scene is over because of the loud music playing during it. A man is stabbed with a large knife twice, and the blood beginning to pool on his white shirt and onto the floor is shown. The other main character drinks heavily and gets drunk a few times. The movie leaves the audience unsure of what to think at the end, and leaves them wondering about human and robot life. I found this movie really interesting and thought provoking, and believe that this movie is suitable for mature young teenagers from around 14 upwards.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written bykushs July 28, 2016

Cerebral thriller provokes questions, conversation

While the movie creates commotion and provokes interesting questions, it may not be for the youngest of kids. The movie contains graphic nudity, however it is not sexual, implied sex is present, intense language is used, graphic violence is present, but it gets the filmmaker's point across perfectly. Nothing is unnecessary, and everything is used in context. Ava is the creation of Nathan (the creator of a google-esqe search engine), and is the first artificial intelligence to meet man outside of her creator. Caleb is a naïve man who wins a competition to meet Nathan. When he arrives, Nathan invites Caleb to partake in a turing test, however he is told that Ava is a robot. The test is to be aware of that, and still determine out if she has consciousness. Provokes conversation on whether or not AI is an ethical idea.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Kid, 9 years old May 15, 2016

Brilliant and highly entertaining sci-fi drama has plenty of nudity and is very mature and graphic.

This violent and sexy movie is about a young man that works at a coding company named Caleb. He wins some sort of contest, and gets to spend a week with the companies amazing boss in the mountains far away. The place where Nathan lives is beautiful, odd, and huge, but it's not bad for Caleb's taste. One day, Nathan asks Caleb to test an A.I experiment with him which is a human looking and sounding robot named Ava. Caleb is very excited, and it's true that Nathan is a genius. Caleb asks Ava some questions about her personality and life to see how "human" or how "real" she actually is, but then in a few private moments where Nathan can't hear them, Ava tells Caleb not to trust Nathan, and how she wishes to escape this horrible, trapped world she is in. Caleb then plans an escape plan, and he soon realizes Nathan may or may not be what he says he is. Violence 4/5: Although violence is brief, it's strong and quite bloody including slicing, stabbing, bashing, and characters starving. A woman robot's face is bashed with a piece of metal and her arm is cut off, and she is killed/shut down. A mans arm is sliced as blood pools and spills out of the wound. A man is stabbed in the back many times as blood splatters from the wound and forms a pool of blood, and he is killed. Creepy, destroyed robots are seen. A character starves to death. Two men fight with chairs and bash, and brutally beat each other, and one stabs another with his nail with heavy blood. A character starves to death in a trapped room. Intense imagery and some frightening scenes. Sexual content and nudity 5/5: Plenty of full-frontal female robot nudity which is graphic and realistic and shows breasts, bottom, and genitalia with pubic hair. Graphic discussions about how men can have sex with robots. A reference to oral sex and masturbation. Explicit discussion about internet porn includes references to many sexual positions. A man and a woman start to have sex by thrusting into a wall and he's touching her genitalia area as he moans with pleasure. Implied sex. Many graphic sexual references. Language 4/5: Very frequent, strong language includes several uses of "f--k" "c--t" "c--k" "c--ksucker" "bastard" "whore" "bitch" "a--hole" "d--k" "motherf----r" "a--licker" and one use of "p---y and c--tlicker." References to genitalia includes the word "d--k and p---y." Drinking and drugs 4/5: Many sequences show a main character getting drunk as well as getting high, implying he cannot stop himself from drinking. A character takes some pills. Characters drink wine and heavy alcohol. Many drug references. This movie is brilliant and highly entertaining but violent and has plenty of drug use, language, and graphic nudity. My rating:R for sexual content, graphic nudity, pervasive language, some disturbing violent content, and some alcohol/drug use and references.
Teen, 13 years old Written byiWatchAlot August 7, 2015

violence is nothing too much nudity for kids

i had to just kind of walk out of the movie because of all the nude scene

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byTIE41 May 31, 2016

Not for children

This movie is not for kids, there is a Lot of bad language, and scenes which show butts, boobs, etc. the word f-ck is used frequently throughout the movie. The movie is a total disapointment its boring dull etc. I would not reccomend this movie.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Kid, 12 years old July 17, 2016

No sex, only nudity!

I'm a mature 12 year old and although there was a ton of language, a lot of nudity (no sex), a little gore, some drinking, and finally a very sad ending. I had no trouble handling it. It might help at a younger age 12-14, to have a discussion w/ your parents about the movie

This title contains:

Language
Teen, 16 years old Written byanakin007 May 12, 2016

Amazing thriller with some graphic nudity

Ex machina is one of the best current thrillers. While most of it is probably fine, the nudity at the end of the film is highly graphic. The rest of it is perfectly fine.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Teen, 13 years old Written byrebo344 May 18, 2015

Ex Machina was (ex)cellent.

I already found one of the most brilliant movies of 2015. Great ideas, outstanding acting from Domhnall Glesson (Dredd 3D), Alicia Vikander (way better in this than Seventh Son) and especially Oscar Issac (A Most Violent Year), more than decent visual effects and cinematography and it also has an open ending. Grade: A+

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byJimena12 January 10, 2016

Physiologically Confusing

The story line was very good as well as the acting. Through the entire movie you are left wondering the characters motives, which keeps you hooked and interested. The ending is a little creepy though and leaves you slightly disturbed.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Teen, 17 years old Written byStevie111 May 16, 2015

Intense and Mature Sci-fi Thriller

This brilliant and dramatic sci-fi thriller is quite good, but has some very mature content. There is lots of drinking and language throughout. There is some violence towards the end, but nothing too graphic. There is lots of graphic female nudity and sexual dialogue. I really enjoyed this film and its intensity. I would recommend it to fans of the genre..

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Teen, 17 years old Written byTornadosplash44 January 26, 2017

One of the best Sci-Fi Thrillers I've seen!!!!!!!!

This movie was great!!!! Going in I didn't expect it to be a non-traditional sci-fi considering I don't watch a lot of this genre. But it was so well made with the acting, plot, and graphics! However this frequent cursing during this film. Only uses of f**k and s**t. For violence, there isn't a lot of it, but it can get explicit when on screen. This includes a man slicing his arm open to confirm he's not a robot, some beatings, stabbings, and dead bodies. For sex, expect several raunchy references, flirting, and plus there's lots of nudity. This includes frequent female rear and frontal nudity. Overall a great sci-fi film that is best left to teens 17 and up.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Teen, 16 years old Written byelizabethswann August 19, 2016

great movie with amazing visuals, not for kids

The movie displays full frontal female nudity, but is contained to two scenes. A man is stabbed in the back with a knife and we see blood seep onto his white shirt. A man cuts his skin open with a razor and blood pours out of his cut (this scene is rather gross and some viewers may want to turn away). Foul language including 'f--k' and 's--t' is used often. The majority of the movie is dialogue driven and should be suitable for most teens.
Teen, 14 years old Written byimoviegoteen August 21, 2015

For A Mature 15 Year Old!

Although plenty of nudity, boobs, butts, ect. But the thing is the nudity is not used for a sexual purpose. No onscreen sex, maybe some talks about it but nothing happens.. Some violence. This film was a classic in my eyes, I don't think it was in theaters, if not it should have been! Lots of uses of F**k, and some other words. But overall your mature 15 year old would really enjoy this film.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Kid, 10 years old May 24, 2015

Shocking twisted movie

RED FOR 0-11. Orange for 12-15. GREEN up. Lots of full women frontal nudity and violence and language

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Teen, 13 years old Written byl e m o n a d e December 16, 2018

Awesome, for teens only

I watched this last week with my dad and my sister. I thought it was super thought provoking and deep. There are naked female robots shown, and two characters make out, but nothing more than that. A bit of violence is when Caleb cuts himself with a razor, and near the end (SPOILERS) Ava and the other robot stab Nathan, there’s plenty of blood there. The movie has a creepy vibe in general. Expect frequent profanity. Overall, this movie was excellent and the ending really makes you think. I personally would say teens and mature tweens can handle the violence and profanity.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Language
Teen, 14 years old Written byAva1 August 2, 2018

Excellent but Frightening Sci-Fi

It was amazing!! I really enjoyed this movie. The acting, storyline, and visual were all phenomenal. The scariest part for me was knowing that this movie could actually happen in real life, and that when we develop true AI, it will most likely not end well. There have been a lot of movies that depict scenarios depicting what will happen if we develop true AI, but I think this one resounds the most because it seems the most realistic and plausible. I think every computer geek and person interested in the implications of artificial intelligence should watch this, it will definitely make you think.
Teen, 16 years old Written byZhee July 16, 2018

Amazing

This is one of the few movies which left me staring at the credits at the end of the film. This was the first time in my life I have ever thought "this is heavy". This is the future.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byTom80 January 4, 2018
Teen, 15 years old Written byjesusteen420 July 14, 2017
Teen, 13 years old Written byLeondaboss June 10, 2017

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking

Pages