Parent reviews for Firehouse Dog

Common Sense says

Dog adventure has peril, scares, heavy themes.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 11+
Based on 13 reviews

Kids say

age 7+
Based on 18 reviews
Parent of a 6 year old Written byLyndsaylou82 October 26, 2009

Could work for older kids . . . not for younger ones . . . **language**

I am a teacher at a Christian school and wanted to use this movie for my kids during Fire Safety Month. I started showing it in class today (not thinking anything of it, because it was labeled a "kids" video) and in the first 25 minutes of the movie the words "dog from hell," suck," and "butt crack" were used. In my opinion those words are completely inappropriate!!!

This title contains:

Language
Parent of a 6, 11, and 13 year old Written bystiwu92 January 17, 2010

Good family film

Kids love it.
Educator and Parent Written byAllen Wang April 4, 2013

Firehouse Dog Ratings of A Movie

I Think, The Movie "Firehouse Dog" is A Good Movie And Best Motion Pict ures And Children Can Watch "Firehouse Dog" Whatever They Like And S till Parents Should Always Be Strict When Their Children Watch "Firehous e Dog" And Protect From Violence And Mild Language! Thanks!

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Language
Adult Written bylizziebell04 April 9, 2008
Parent of a 11 year old Written byJenoi January 8, 2010

Perhaps not for sensitive kids.

My son was 9 or 10 when we saw this and he found the fires too scary and consequently didn't enjoy the movie,

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Adult Written bymelo April 9, 2008

Mostly Great!

I thought it was a little much to have the dog defecating in the stew. The "anything goes" mentality in Hollywood is really bothersome. The "harem" of dogs for Rexxx was a poor addition as well. The movie would have been 5 stars without these two additions.
Parent of a 7 and 10 year old Written bymathmom April 9, 2008

Surprisingly nice

Went to the movies with my 2 kids (9 and 7) to see The Last Mimzy, which wasn't playing anymore. I asked at the ticket counter if they had information about this movie, like why it was rated PG, and they showed me a great binder full of information (FYI for parents). I was pleasantly surprised by the humor, fun and good values that were in this movie. Even the idea of the firehouse that was going to be closed down showed team-spirit and what working together with friends can achieve. A little too much potty humor for my taste, but my kids thought the dog farting was funny. Not sure that the romantic story lines were even necessary, and the commercialism for Apple products was huge !(iPod, computer, etc.) Overall, though the story was good and had lots of action.
Parent of an infant, 3, and 11 year old Written bygrahamandheather April 9, 2008

Good family movie

This was touching and had more of a plot than I expected. It is a great movie for dog lovers.
Adult Written byerthmom4 April 9, 2008

Nice

We have 4 children and this movie entertained them all. Aside from some inaccuracies when depicting Firefighting(my husband is Fireman) it was money well spent. We had a nice afternoon at the movie and a few good laughs.
Adult Written byCSM Screen Name... April 9, 2008
Adult Written bystickypants02 April 9, 2008

Mothers should have a sense of humor too!

While most mothers at the theater where I watched this movie gasped at some of the stuff in it(poop in the pot scene). I, myself, that it was funny. When you have boys, you have learned to take this kind of stuff with a grain of salt. Let your hair down and laugh people! I thought the movie itself was funny in some areas, quite serious in others. My 5 year old loved it of course!
Parent Written byzeuann April 9, 2008

good family movie!

I recently took my 2 girls - 4 & 7 to see this. My 4 yo was a little antsy at about the 1/2 way point but said she enjoyed the movie. My 7 yo really enjoyed it. I felt it was a little slow at parts. But other parts were really cute. There was only 1 "bad" word in the movie which wasnt' really a bad word and for a PG movie was age appropriate ("that sucks" was used in one part of the movie). The only other iffy part was when they wanted to cheer up Rexxx and he had 3 poodles in his bed waiting for him, fortunately it seems to go over the kids head. For sensitive kids the fire scenes may be scary (both my girls hid at one part of the movie) The only commercial/social part of the movie was was when the boy skipped school and lied to his fathers' friends about it being a day off and then his father punished him by taking away his PSP, Ipod, Playstation, etc. This was a refreshing movie where there were virtually no parts that needed to be explained away and no bad or unwanted language. Good family movie, I wish more were made like this!!
Adult Written bysrluna67 April 9, 2008