All parent member reviews for Flipped

Parents say

(out of 15 reviews)
age 11+
Review this title!
Parent of a 11 year old Written byMaryJoy June 5, 2011

A good movie

My 11 year old daughter felt this movie was fine for her and she made some connections to her own life. I was hesitant at first to have her watch it as the reviews made it sound as if the movie were laden with inappropriate language. There were four instances. I agree these four instances could have been toned down with no ill-effect, but my daughter knows how to make better language choices. My daughter says she loved this movie (she just finished watching it for the 2nd time in 2 days)! I felt it was fine and said some positive things about friendship, standing up for what you believe, and looking beyond the surface.
What other families should know
Great messages
Educator and Parent Written byChrisP 3 July 2, 2015

Really quite good, but ...

There were many aspects of this film that made me want to show it to my 12 boy. The sub themes about strength of character, integrity and not caring so much about others' perceptions was strong and well done. I loved how the boy protagonist wrestled with these and the courage to do what was right despite himself. Yes, the swearing was not necessary and a shame; but I am surprised that no review so far has referred to the references to pornography and the inference to masturbation. The older sister jests with the boy protagonist that he is hiding Playboy and that he is hot a sweaty from it. I am more concerned to know about the presence of these notions as a parent than the odd swear word. I don't mind so much if swearing takes me by surprise, but I want to be the one to introduce these sexuality notions to my chilluns, not a movie. PS. I agree with the comment expressing surprise about the 7 old girl protagonist obsessing about her first kiss. I suspect romantic thoughts and feelings can be quite real at that age, but our culture is so bent on sexualising everything that it was not surprising that it had to be wound up into the idea of the first kiss. Let's let kids be kids and stop sexualising them at younger and younger ages.
Adult Written byBestPicture1996 July 1, 2014

Harmless but lame at times

The movie "Flipped" is positively adorable, with the theme of young love making it hard to critique it harshly. But it doesn't have that great a substance to it, some characters are 2D, though by showing your kids this film it certainly has a strong female role model, and the guy has to realize that he shouldn't care what his friend thinks. The dialogue is water thin at times, though I did like seeing both sides of the story from the 2 main actors. It's a cute movie, and I watched it on basic cable, but could tell the kids swore at times, so be cautious of that.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much swearing
Parent Written byzephyrrs October 9, 2012

Great for 10-13

All my kids 10-13 loved this. My 13 year old son had read the book and when I asked him if we should watch, he readily agreed. My 10 year old daughter was glued to the TV and both my boys were as well despite it's romantic bent. They enjoyed the spotlight this film places on the awkwardness of being a tween in a charming alternating narrative. The acting of both the main and supporting cast is phenomenal and marked of future stardom for the kids.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much swearing
Parent of a 9 and 12 year old Written byColumbiaMDMom August 4, 2012

A Charmer of a Movie

Rob Reiner’s 2010 film “Flipped” missed many theatres, and it’s a shame because it’s a charmer of a movie. It’s the coming of age story of Bryce Loski, who meets his neighbor Juli Baker the day he moves to his house as an 8-year old. Put off by her overtly friendly manner, he resolves to avoid her. Socially awkward, he enlists his friends’ advice in maintaining his distance. Bryce’s father (Anthony Edwards) derides Juli’s family for not maintaining a proper suburban lawn, but Bryce’s grandfather (John Mahoney) takes a shine to the effervescent Juli. The story is told both through Bryce’s and Juli’s perspectives, and we come to see how much Bryce does not understand and know about Juli. This understated film is enjoyable for the whole family. The soundtrack is a bonus for fans of early 1960s pop music.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written byFilmManiac May 9, 2012

Light and endearing

What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much swearing
Adult Written byJenPete January 9, 2011

Too bad about the completely inappropriate foul language. :(

This was such a cute book, and the film is nice EXCEPT that the language is completely inappropriate and, really, 7 year olds thinking about their first kisses? While intended for a young audience, the use of misplaced foul language (which EASILY could have been omitted) precludes our children from viewing this film for some years now. Use of "jacksh--t," "hell," "crap," "goddamn," and "a--hole" (though I completely agree he was an "a--hole) were incredibly poor judgment. For children accustomed the this language and inordinately young crushes, this film is beautiful and otherwise sweet.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent Written byLaura01 March 4, 2014

Don't judge a book by the cover!

This is a phenomenal film that shows in an entertaining way how wisdom, honesty, and kindness transcend age! What we really see is what we normally do not in our daily lives… the flips between Juli’s perception and Bryce’s perception of the same events allow us to see how a careless comment can be devastatingly cruel to another person. Juli’s selflessness, patience, and commitment to “staying true to her values” is the catalyst for the positive changes we see in Bryce’s character. When we learn that Juli’s uncle is retarded and we see how she deals with this, how Bryce’s friend deals with this, and how Bryce does not have the courage to stand up to his friend… well, we see something that happens every day in the lives of kids this age. Learning to stand up for what you know is right is the overarching theme of this movie and we see it play out with a variety of emotions. The last scene is priceless! There are some brief, isolated language issues (kids this age will have heard these words before) and one reference to looking at a Playboy magazine (although this is not what is happening and nothing of the sort is shown), but these instances are far overshadowed by the uplifting and positive messages in the film!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 12 and 14 year old Written bykvh2kids September 27, 2013

Fantastic - A girl, boy's & other's perceptions and judgement

A story told in two view points (boy & girl) of perception, judgement of events and influence of your perception by others - both bad & good. It is the grandfather's experience and thereby wisdom and patience which allows the boy's view to realize his reactions and actions were not fair and true. It show's that one should give time before judging and allowing other's negative influence to thrive at the price of another who often has reason's for their own.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 11 and 13 year old Written byjulier2011 February 21, 2011

Slow and Harmless, Not Bad but Not Good either

I thought the story was very slow and was not particularly compelling. Sorry! I had high hopes for this film as I am a big fan of Rob Reiner's. A Princess Bride was much more entertaining!
Parent of a 10, 12, and 13 year old Written bySnout-Dog January 10, 2011

Great movie destroyed by needless cursing

Very good movie, with good messages, and learning opportunities for kids. It is hard to pull off this kind of story and still be able to entertain today's kids, but they did it. I am still totally dismayed why this and other movies think they can't be complete without all the swearing. I understand why it must be in some movies for reality's sake, but it was totally unnecessary in this movie, and very inappropriate for anyone under age 13.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 10 and 12 year old Written bycyndifug8 December 2, 2010

Great family flick

I enjoyed this film very much, however it had a mature theme which might make it a bit slow for the younger crowd. It had very positive messages about evaluating the inner person, and accepting people for who they really are, as well as not being afraid to be yourself. I absolutely loved it.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Parent Written byMomSense2 October 4, 2010
Imagine a movie that teaches girls to look beyond the handsome face and really evaluate the person inside. Wouldn't it be great if your son learned that beauty is only skin deep and the best girls often look plain at first glance. This wonderful movie teaches character, honor, loyalty, and never settling for anything less. It is the perfect Daddy-Daughter or Mother-Son flick. I loved this movie and drove 50 miles to see it. It was worth the effort. I think it will be one of the best movies of the year for me.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 12 year old Written bybuild99940 September 28, 2010
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written by479168 August 19, 2010

Sweet story of the changing relationship between a girl and boy

Very sweet story of friendship, family values, doing the right thing for the right reasons, and young love -- shown through more than one person's viewpoint. There is one family member who is verbally very negative / somewhat abusive, and another family member who is mentally disabled. It clearly demonstrates that there is always more than one side to any story.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models