All teen and kid member reviews for Forrest Gump

Kids say

(out of 134 reviews)
age 12+
Review this title!
Teen, 14 years old Written bywhyhellomister144 February 23, 2010

Perfect for all/most teens....fantastic overall :)

Okay, I'm going to start on a positive note; this is one of the GREATEST movies of the '90s, maybe of all time :) Everything about it is great; I don't even need to name the specifics. That being said, my parents didn't let me see it until I was 11, and even then I didn't get some of the content (ex, AIDS, what's that white powdery stuff on the mirror?, the strippers, etc...) that I got later. But if your kid gets that stuff and isn't too sensitive...they're sure to fall in love with it :)
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old January 9, 2011

Forrest Gump

I loved this movie when I saw it for the first time with my 11 year old cousin and her friends, but I had some concerns. Morgane (my cousin) is the type who askes questions about romance and other topics she's too young for, and being the eldest of the group, I didnt know how to answer. By the way, THIS MOVIE RULES!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byuhya May 30, 2011

excellent , but sad and has sex.

very good, but there's war violence, sex and language.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byMovieGuy23 June 13, 2011

Forrest Gump is a lovely masterpiece.

Forrest Gump is the moving tale of a simpe-minded man who floats through life much like a feather. The movie ingeniously combines satire and melodrama into a seriocomical film that is hard to beat. Hanks gives the performance of a lifetime and Gary Sinise and Sally Field are just as admirable. Note to parents: The movie, although the characters are admirable and the messages are strong, still contains a good amount of content. There are sequences of war violence, a strip club scene, partial nudity, and a reference to an abusive father "touching" his young daughter. If teens can handle it, be prepared to be swept away by one of the sweetest films ever made.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 16 years old Written byJflores14 April 24, 2015

Beautiful tale of love and adventure

I absolutely love this film that I viewed in my world history class!!! It is so intersting, sad, sweet, and funny. Even though it is so good, there is ALOT OF INAPPROPRIATE CONTENT FOR A PG-13! CONTENT: Violence- war scenes depict bloody and graphic deaths, people's legs are blown off and they are insinetated. People die in sad ways. A father physically and sexually abuses his daughters. Sex- a young girl is sexually abused as a child, a mom has sex with a man in order to get her son into school(sexually explicit sounds are heard from the bedroom), a woman takes off her bra and places a mans hands on her breast(the sides of her breats are seen and he stutters and it is heavily implied he had an erection and later an orgasm), a woman performs in a club and sings with a guitar naked(she is cover by the guitar, but is seen from the back and her rear in a thong is seen and then she storms away and you can see a distant shot of her naked breats), a porn magazine features bare breats for a brief second, a woman is shown to have slept with many men, a man and a woman have sex. Language- scattered uses of damn, he'll, shit, bitch, Bastard, and more. A character says "f**king Vietnam" and a couple of muffled f-bombs are heard. Drugs- a woman take cocain in one breif scene MY RATING: PG-13/ for thematic material, war violence, nudity, sexual material, langauge, and brief drug use
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much sex
Teen, 13 years old Written byLulay August 8, 2014

Mostly For Teens

I watched this today, and I cannot say that I was disappointed. Parts that contain certain content can be a bit iffy, but the movie in itself exceeded my expectations.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written by3rdPersonPerspective March 22, 2015

A beautiful masterpiece and must-see

Forrest Gump is indubitably a film that should be seen by all people. Tom Hanks delivers his incredible Oscar-winning performance as a simple man who sees the world for what it is. He narrates the audience through the major events of the late 20th century, giving new perspective to each. However, the content is a little mature. While there is no explicit nudity, multiple sex scenes permeate the film and a character contracts AIDS. Violence, too, appears, mostly through the war in Vietnam, although it remains fairly tame, never lingering or becoming too graphic. Cocaine is briefly shown and snorted. There is one very forceful F word, and multiple uses of the S word. On the whole, the film stays within the parameters of a PG-13 movie, and the overarching themes are very redemptive. It is one of my favorite movies of all time.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old August 14, 2010

Recommend for mature teens

This movie was a masterpiece. Tom Hanks played a good role as Forrest. Parents should be warned that the there is some inappropriate content like drug use/smoking (I remember there are several scenes of smoking and one of scene of cocaine use)sexuality and curse words that should not be used like the f word, the s word and the d word is used too many times and I was suprised by the racial remarks on African Americans. overall,it was a good movie and deserved to be awarded for best piture. Thank you for reading my review.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byMovieFreak101 April 9, 2008

"Run Forrest, Run!"

He certently did! This flim is just to good for words. Tom Hanks acting was god-like. So was Gary Sinese! (Sp?) Goodness me, He was brilliant. Cheated out of the Oscars. Best supporting acting i've seen. Ever. When I say, "Life is a box of chocletes" every looks at me and nods. And the people who don't need to taste the choceletes for themselevs! Magic.....pure magic. Best Wishes, MovieFreak101 This movie is ok for: 11+
Kid, 12 years old July 15, 2011

Greatest movie ever!

I thought it was an excellent movie, despite infrequent sex content, a great deal of drug usage, language, and gorey war violence in the vietnam scene, its a great movie with good messages and positive role models. I wouldnt let kids under 7 see it, 7-10 is your decision, 11 and above is a-ok. Also some parts are very emotional such as when bubba dies in battle, forrest mom dies, jenny attempts suicide and later dies because of a virus. And there is foreplay in the movie along with stripping, and making love. There is also a great deal of war violence. Other than that a great movie, go see it!!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written bykelsey805 April 18, 2011

good movie but way to much language......

ok so i LOVE this movie and all but the thing is, it has a lot of language as well as some sexual content, i wouldn't suggest this for younger kids (unless you have a censored version or whatever) but other than that it's amazing.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great messages
Teen, 15 years old Written byarthur16morgana January 21, 2011
i watched this movie because my dad kept telling how good it was. so i watched one day and i loved it. i would watch it again.it was funny but also sad. i cried in it.very interesting. lots of people at my school like it too.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old October 28, 2010

More for 11,mabey 12+

I Love this movie ! Tom Hanks Is a great actor. It has alot of Drugs, which is not my biggest conserne. I dont like the laungeuge at all and I dont like the sex realated stuff in the movie. I think Forest Gump(Tom Hanks) is a great role model,has positive highlights but dose to much to get Jenny(Robin Wright).
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written bymoviegeek97 February 25, 2010
one of my favorites but may be iffy for younger kids
What other families should know
Too much sex
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byPoison Ivey October 10, 2009

Entertaining!

I was really impressed by how good this movie was. Everything fit together so nicely. I watched it three times in my life, and I still cry at the ending every time I watch it. There is one violent war scene. Lots of language. And there is some sex but I'd say anyone over 11 can and SHOULD see it. I can't believe I waited so long of seeing it on the shelves before fianlly picking it up! A must see.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written byPunkchic May 15, 2009
I loved this movie! Forrest Gump is a great character. And it teaches you not to do drugs. The only iffy parts I saw were one part where it's kinda bloody and another where Jenny and Forrest make out on a bed. I saw it as a class movie so it's not too bad. ITS MY FAVORITE NOW! And you'll wanna it over and over again!
Teen, 15 years old Written byTnMovieFan2 April 9, 2008
Teen, 15 years old Written bybubbo April 9, 2008

Great

Good for kids 12+
Teen, 13 years old Written bylovetravel423 August 28, 2016

Emotional and moving movie, just a few iffy parts

This is probably my all-time favorite movie. It's so emotional and has a touching storyline. Your child should be mature before watching this movie because of some sexual parts in the movie. There is also some violence to be aware but overall this is a GREAT movie! Definitely have to watch this movie in your lifetime!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Teen, 13 years old Written byTom Roxburgh August 24, 2016
One f word. Some sex scenes and strong implied drug use. No violence

Pages