All teen and kid member reviews for Friday the 13th (1980)

Kids say

(out of 67 reviews)
age 13+
Review this title!
Teen, 14 years old Written byAntagonist November 22, 2012

Not as bad or violent as Commonsense says

This film is actually a scary horror classic. As far as violence goes, there's nothing out of the ordinary. Anyone 13+ can handle it
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old January 9, 2009

Friday the 13th is a decent slasher flick and is actually worth seeing

Now don't listen to Common Sense Media. They are wrong about the movie and it's content. There were only two sex scenes and they weren't even that graphic. A character mentions 'strip monopoly' but you only see her in bra and panties. You don't see any shots of nudity. For violence, there were some violent scenes but they weren't over-the-top and not too gory either. The language is the least of your worries. It's not even an issue. Just infrequent uses of godd*mn and sh*t. That's it. CSM is also wrong about the movie. I thought the movie was really good. There was enough kills, suspense, and it clocks at the perfect time. Overall, Friday the 13th is a perfect slasher flick. I would recommend it to age 15+. Shoot even kids could see it. CSM doesn't know what they're talking about.
Kid, 12 years old December 4, 2010

Sex, Drugs, Blood, Oh My!

I was really excited when I walked out of Blockbust, clutching Friday the 13th in my arms. When I finished it, I didn't know why I wanted to see it. First of all, Pamela Voorhees has too much character, she was young. She should have been like she was portrayed as in Freddy Vs. Jason (though it was realeased 20 years later), a white haired, scratchy voiced, crazy old fart that she wasn't in the original. She actually didn't seem crazy. Young kids should not watch this as their is too much violence (done with stunning visual effects at least), too much sex, and no good messages whatsoever, as the campers are all sex-craving teenagers with a love for Strip Monopoly and dope. But don't worry young children, it isn't even a good film.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written bygranth August 8, 2014

dont go camping on the 13th

Friday the 13th is the first in a series of films about a serial killer killing kids a a "cursed" camp. The movie doesn't have much language. For a movie made in the 80's this is a pretty brutal movie.There are teens killed, a disfigured kid drowns in flashbacks and there are sexual scenes between most of the camp councilors.
Teen, 14 years old Written byFILMCRITIC500 February 24, 2013

creepy slasher flick has low blood and little sex, but is still gory

a true masterpiece of horror, Friday the 13th is your perfect movie for a teenage sleep-over at midnight. asides for being a great film overall, it employs a chilling atmosphere, handheld-ish camera work, and well organized scares. but the violence and lewd behavior in this slasher flick make it too intense for younger horror buffs. this freaky movie has low violence and blood. what it does contain are several killings, a drowning, an axe to the face, throat slittings, stabbing, an arrow to the chest, and machete decapitation. all the murders involve spurting blood, and the decapitation scene shows the head flying in slow motion, with blood, tissue, and spine insides visible. dead bodies are seen smeared in blood, have arrows in them, or have open cut wounds. asides for the bloody violence, is an on-screen sex scene (no nudity asides from one bare breast) the counselors use moderate to mild words such as 1 s**t and uses of h**l and d**n. one characters smokes briefly. jump scares are abound.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old July 27, 2011

How is this generally considered to be violent?

How is this generally considered to be violent? The most violent scene is of a person getting decapitated. The Human Centipede features a graphic depiction of people getting sewn together. Why is it even considered violent in '80? A Clockwork Orange featured a graphic depiction of rape & it was made 9 years before Friday The 13th. Don't let this reviewers opinion fool you. It isn't violent. It's the perfect horror movie for younger kids. It appeals more to kids than Halloween. It's hardly scary, & not violent either. Friday The 13th is the 1 successful Halloween clone. I recommend it to younger kids. In conclusion, Friday The 13th is a fun slasher movie. I give it what would be the equivalent of a PG-13. I honestly can't believe it's still a R18 in Australia.
Teen, 16 years old Written bydavidguitar15..... March 21, 2011
Great movie...not as bad as common sense says
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 17 years old Written byNuno17xD October 3, 2010
Cooooool, AWESOME !~ but not for Kids, Ok for older teens
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byLongRangeShadow October 15, 2009

Common Sense Epic Fail

AHA, common sense, you have no taste. I've suspected it long, but now it is proven. I'm 15 and I know this is a classic. And "No Kids" gimme a break. Is this site run by 82-year-old women? And I'm a pretty reasonable reviewer for being a kid, too.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Kid, 11 years old April 20, 2014

Are you crazy, commonsense media?

this is one of the greatest slashers of all time! This movie has nothing more than brief nudity and IMPLIED sex! It has less sexual content than the original Halloween, and that got a 16 and up! No kids? This movie is only graphically violent, has moderate drug use, very low sexual content, and is very good. my rating: Sex/Nudity: 3/10 female breasts and buttocks are very briefly seen Violence/Gore: 10/10 very violent, probably the only thing you should worry about when letting your child watch this movie. Profanity: 3/10 Maybe 1 or 2 f words, very tame. Alcohol/Drugs/Smoking: 6/10 Moderate references to getting stoned, not too explicit Frightening/Intense scenes: 10/10 Very scary and violent
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byShaunOfTheBread September 20, 2016

First "Friday" dissapoints due to lack of infamous antagonist...

I've always wanted to see this movie, and I was thrilled when I picked up a DVD copy, but was ultimately disappointed by the end. I was expecting lots of Jason attacks, but the killer was in fact, Mrs. Voorhees, Jason's psychopathic mother. Jason himself only appears in an extremely brief scene. If you want to see the famous Jason, skip this one and go straight to second, supposedly it has Jason in it. I have yet to watch it though... I recommend for 11+, despite CSM's harsh 18+, it contains only obviously unrealistic violence, some brief sex scenes, and momentary drug use.
Teen, 16 years old Written byooodlekanoodle69223 June 24, 2016

Why TF Would CSM Give This Movie 1 Star

Don't Worry Parents. CSM is just overreacting again (as always). I mean, this is one of the greatest movies of all time! And they give it one star?! Sure, there is some violence, but it is campy as hell! And yeah, there is some nudity, but who hasn't seen somebody naked. Overall, CSM just rates the film on how much swearing or violence or pubes are in the film, not the quality. Kids 13 and up should be able to handle this masterpiece!
Kid, 12 years old June 7, 2016
Friday the 13th is a movie that's just okay not the best. It has Violence and gore, sexual references and brief sexual content, not much profanity. The ending isn't really that great but its what it is. I recommend this movie for 16 and older.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Teen, 15 years old Written byKay Nichols Slaughte April 2, 2016

Great movie but very violent with some Sex!!!!!

Parents there is nothing bad about Friday the 13th but i recommend it for children 13 years old or older younger kids this movie is not for you!
Teen, 13 years old Written byAndrewMc January 21, 2016
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byRXNC-17XXX December 27, 2015

Not the best, but not too bad.

AGES 13+ ONLY!!!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byKmfan97 October 3, 2015

by today's standards this movie is really dated, but it's definitely worth a watch if your a fan of horror films.

I watched this movie just last night on tv because I thought the uncensored version would be just a bit too inappropriate for me due to the sexual content, so I ended up watching it and I gotta say that it was enjoyable and I'm glad I watched it, but it's definitely not a great movie and it indeed has it's flaws. This first installment does not star future series villain jason voorhees but it instead focuses on a group of camp consular's in their 20s including one played by a young kevin bacon in one of his first film roles, coming to camp crystal lake prior to it's reopening when they are stalked and killed off one by one by a unknown killer who many years ago committed murders at the camp. Keep in mind I did watch this movie on tv so the majority of the sex and graphic violence was censored but I looked into what happens in the uncensored version so I'm going to explain that to you. First of all there is plenty of graphic violence in the movie including a throat getting cut early in the movie, a death where the killer sticks an arrow through a characters throat, a bloody ax murder through the eye, and a head decapitation during the killers death scene. There is also one sex scene where the majority of it was censored when I watched it but in the uncensored version you hear quite a bit of pleasurable moaning as well as a few shots of bare breasts. The characters also play strip monopoly at one part but the worst thing that happens is that a woman strips down to a bikini and that's actually one of the best parts of the movie in my opinion. There is also a bit of swearing in the uncensored version including a little bit of f bombs but when I watched it on tv last night those words were obviously edited and the only swear word I heard was one use of god dam*. That's really all I can say about the inappropriate content and overall I thought this movie was worth watching but I wouldn't say it's a horror movie I would watch over and over again like the shining or halloween because this movie is honestly very cheesy and dated by today's standards but it's still fun to watch every once in a while especially around halloween! If your a fan of horror movies I would definitely recommend that you check this movie out at least once because while it indeed isn't the best horror film ever made, you won't regret watching it. The censored tv version of this movie I would recommend to 12+ due to a lot being edited out but the original uncensored version I would recommend to 14-16+. It depends on how mature your kid is and if you think they can handle it. By the way my actual rating for this movie would be 3 and a half stars but common sense media doesn't let us do half stars so yeah lol.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Teen, 15 years old Written byeazy__breezy June 11, 2015

One star? Really commonsensemedia

Isn't even that bad. Its not the greatest movie ever, duh but its far from the worst. The sexual stuff is the only concern here, the rest is fine for 14 and up
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 13 years old Written byyoulouzer26 March 22, 2015

Amazing but innapropiate!

Very entertaining and funny! Tons of sexual activity, underaged smoking, and gore. There is plenty of swearing as well.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byDuckCommander13 December 5, 2014

It is appropriate for younger viewers

This is a famous slasher film. There is two sex scenes but nothing is shown except maybe a breast. They play strip monopoly and are in their underwear. No uses of F***, 1 or 2 uses of S***, and G******, and finally a few uses of D***. Jack smokes a little but i soon killed. There is quite a bit of blood and some decapitation that is shown. But that part isn't that realistic. if your kids a very mature at 12 and know it's fake it's fine. But this was so awesome!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking

Pages