Parent reviews for Friday the 13th (2009)

Common Sense says

Horror remake isn't for anyone, let alone teens.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 15+
Based on 45 reviews

Kids say

age 15+
Based on 117 reviews
Adult Written bySefal June 17, 2020

A movie everyone should see!

It's a really fun time that made our family very happy! A great movie! Please stop overreacting.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Parent of a 13-year-old Written byThe beavs May 3, 2019

Possibly nc17

It should be nc17 for extreme graphic violence/gore, pervasive language, drug references, and for extreme prolonged scenes of pornographic nudity, and sex

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byBusa B. March 18, 2018

UNDERSTAND

While i have seen countless parents saying things like "DON'T LET YOUR KIDS WATCH, 18 OR OLDER ONLY," the movie is really not all that bad. Parents should not allow their children to watch these movies based on age, but maturity. I started watching horror movies when i was 13 and have not been negatively effected by them whatsoever. But, I do know of some 13 year olds who I would DEFINITELY not allow to watch these movies. So what I'm saying parents, is know your kid.

This title contains:

Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Language
Adult Written byBenjamino2000 June 10, 2020

Underated

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written bytheshapetalks April 14, 2020

really not for teens or kids...

there's some scenes with nudity and sex. the sex gets kind of turned into porn in some sort of way. so that is something you should fast forward away from. But people who have been watching the series probably already know that Friday the 13th already has a lot of sex in it. But this movie how ever involves a lot of it. Jason in the movie is flat out scary, and tears people apart and throws axes at people. Most of the movie is a gore fest. but I would not say it's bad. It's actually a really good remake. But if your child is a horror fan and has been watching horror movies for a long time, you should still wait and show them some thing else. I have come to the conclusion that this movie is for grown ups. and it's R for a reason.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written bysimpsonsfan22 December 14, 2019

Sex is included

Great movie but the several sex scenes may be uncomfortable to some and the violence to some viewers I am not scared of the movie but some may be I love Friday the 13th movies I think they are awesome

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Adult Written byBlackchristmas November 22, 2019

I mean it’s okay but it’s violent

this slasher remake is a never-ending series of bloody, brutal, violent murders perpetrated by a mutilated sociopath. There are several explicit sex scenes, as well as scenes that mingle sexuality and violence -- like when a topless woman is knifed through the head with a machete. And as if all that weren't enough, characters swear nonstop, drink, and discuss and use drugs (particularly marijuana). The fact that all the pot-smoking characters wind up dead shouldn't be considered incisive social commentary, since those who don't partake wind up dead, too but you have to admit it’s a damn good slasher

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Adult Written byFluttershy12 October 11, 2019
Me and my 9 year old girl watched this and she loved it and I was ok with that so it is definitely a good movie and kids can watch it

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Adult Written byJames Hedrick March 20, 2019

No Surprise here.....

By now you should all know what you're getting into with this one. It's a grisly, gory, sex filled, raunchy, ride. If you like that kind of thing (as I do) enjoy! If not you shouldn't need me or anyone else to tell you this flick is not for you. This is the twelfth Friday movie so far, we all know the drill by now.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Written byAnonymous October 29, 2018

The butt review

This movie has a lot of cussing and violence and some sex. Not to scary but maybe scary for kids
Adult Written byHello96.5 July 16, 2018

It’s fine

I think the movie is just okay. In my opinion it’s fine for anyone 9 and up,
I just don’t think it’s a very good movie in general. But again, if over nine, you shouldn’t have a problem watching this
Adult Written bySoul boss June 19, 2018

Really good horror movie

If you don’t like horror movies this is a good option for you. There is a lot of sex. There is drugs.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Adult Written byDavid R. December 15, 2017

Good movie, even better actresses.

I wasn't a huge fan, but I watched it with my 12 year son who seemed to never want to stop watching. He especially seemed interested in the "female actors", most obviously in a topless water skiing scene.
Adult Written byHugh B. September 26, 2017

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byEli S. July 11, 2017

Not for the faint of heart

This movie wasn't as great as some of the other films in the series but it definitely wasn't the worst. It is filled with gruesome and gory scenes and also I think there's a very explicit sex scene but I'm not sure if it's in the normal version or the killer cut version. Anyway it is definitely not for the faint of heart and I think viewers should be 17 and up. Oh and also there's a lot and I mean ALOT of strong language and drug related scenes.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byJk12345 June 14, 2017

Good, horror remake

To me this film was sort of ment for teens especially, older ones but theres something about this film it gets me, its not totally bad.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byclarence August 5, 2015

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written bysamenv May 27, 2015

Is Better For 17 Year Old People Cause Is Has Sexual And Bad Words And Sexy Stuff

VERY VERY BAD FOR KIDS TO NOT LET YOUR KIDS WATCH THIS WATCH THIS IF YOUR 17 OR 18 IS BETTER

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Adult Written byfonzieg April 3, 2015

Bloody slayings, gratuitous sex, = fun slasher flick!

Here is a remake that improves over the original, the 2009 remake of the 80's slasher flick "Friday the 13th"! It has all of the creative and graphic bloody kills and the sex scenes that everyone loves in slasher movies! I'm not saying it's the sex that makes this a good fun slasher movie, i'm saying a slasher movie is not the same without sex scenes! Plus, Jason is a badass in this movie! Overall, don't be expecting a masterpiece, expect a fun slasher flick with Jason in it!
Adult Written byage 10+ May 27, 2012

Great Horror Remake That's Quite Inappropriate

Pages