Want personalized picks that fit your family?

Set preferences to see our top age-appropriate picks for your kids.

Get age-based picks

Parent reviews for Get Rich or Die Tryin'

Common Sense says

Mythic tale based on 50 Cent's life; not for kids.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 17+
Based on 11 reviews

Kids say

age 13+
Based on 6 reviews
Adult Written bygeo51288 April 9, 2008

I Would not Watch it at all.

I take it as bad as a 2 min. sex sence.
Adult Written byPhilip Merrill April 9, 2008

Surprise...it's an "art movie"

Having expected this to glamorize rap, money and violence in a toxic, intoxicating head-trip, I was shocked to find it was a sensitive art movie...primarily...with many levels of meaning and a lack of sensationalism. A friend said, "No wonder, look who the director was." (My Left Foot, In The Name Of The Father, The Boxer, In America) Having followed Common Sense Media since it launched, I was sooo proud to find that your review did justice to this picture. I was expecting a big STOP sign. What I love about this movie is that it shows a life nobody would want to lead filled with people who are appealing and real even when they are awful and worth avoiding. Any movie in which Bill Duke puts in one of the more predictable and superficial performances has got to be a movie with REALLY great character acting, because Duke is always good+. I'm not sure I "enjoyed" this movie, but it will not surprise me if I think about it for the rest of my life. Especially Grandma! Thank God for Grandma's. PHIL :)
Parent Written byGood Thing April 15, 2010

Message

I love the overall message of Marcus trying to find himself and his choice to follow his dream. I love the fact that he portrayed himself as a friend to Charlene and then allowed that to blossom into relationship.
Adult Written byDianaB 3 October 22, 2015

Get rich or die tryin'

When I first seen this I loved Curtis "50cent" Jackson and I listened to his music at the time. This was a great story but I do not recommend for anyone under the age 18!

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written by4Spice July 28, 2010

I Loved It

i love 50 cent and this movie is awesome lots of action killing plenty of violence and nudity parents don't let your kids see this if you like gangster movies watch this one don't expect a love movie

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Adult Written byfeelinthepain235 April 9, 2008

Actually a Good Story

The message is what brings this up to 'Pause.' It shows that anyone can come up off the streets and make a life for themselves. A good message to depressed people who think they have the worst life ever it shows that there may be worse things out there.
Adult Written byMr. Strong April 9, 2008

Awesome but not for kids!

An awesome movie, but keep it away from kids!
Adult Written bymike_crawley2006 April 9, 2008

My opinoin

i think this is good movie cause it shows kids how, and what could happen if you sold drugs and it shows parents the reflect on kids when you neglect them
Parent of a 14 and 15 year old Written byLiz Perle April 9, 2008

let your kids go but talk to them

kids are exposed to the kind of mythmaking spin this movie exudes every day. they have to learn how to separate the wheat from the chaff. Let them go see this glorification of violence and greed. They're going to go anyway. But it's so morally bankrupt that you have to point that out otherwise they might buy it all hook line and sinker
Parent Written byJill Murphy April 9, 2008
Adult Written byAwthentic April 9, 2008

must see film for anyone over 18

great movie based on true events..not for kids.