All teen and kid member reviews for Gran Torino

Kids say

(out of 45 reviews)
age 14+
Review this title!
Teen, 15 years old Written byChambear August 5, 2009
Gran Torino starring Clint Eastwood, is a film about a Polish Korean War veteran who is hates the Hmong neighbors. But over time develops relationships with his neighbors. This movie only has strong language (Mostly when we see the gangs) and some non-graphic violence and a scene where we briefly see non-graphic pornography. This is a great film for 13+!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byKelsey B February 16, 2016

Great movie to watch

It is a good movie with a good message about racism, but it comes about in a rough-around-the-edges way. There is a lot of swearing, and I don't think who watches it should so much be based on the age of the person, but maturity. They need to be able to handle the violence. There is a lot of shooting and some punching, which may be disturbing. There is also a girl who is raped, but it is not shown and hardly mentioned. The main character grows and by the end, is actually not that bad of a role model (besides his swearing and violence, of course). There are also some funny parts, as well, though, making it a bit lighter.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byBestPicture1996 September 25, 2009

Moving but racist film

The language was unbelievable, but "Gran Torino" is ultimately a fantastic movie with unflinching performances by all. As you can see by its box office numbers, "Torino" is a very popular film. Only Eastwood could make millions upon millions of people flock to theaters to see a movie about a stubborn old man and his foreign neighbors. All teens, in my opinion, should see this movie.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written byGemini97 February 24, 2013

What you need to know about this movie...

This movie gran torino talks alot about life and death but even though it has a lot of swearing and a little violence it is a really educational movie. Walt Kowalski appears to be a bitter war veteren but in the end the other races mainly the hmong culture turns walt into a really great person to be around. i would recommened it to just about everyone i dont think its appropriate for young children to watch without an adult or someone over the age of 13. Enjoy!!
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byBrittni_Rasa January 28, 2013

Very Awesome!

Best movie ever!!!
What other families should know
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 9 years old August 30, 2012

Great

Good movie.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Teen, 17 years old Written byabbacus June 18, 2012

Really good!

I wish there was not so much language. But it's still a great movie! Fine for mature, older teens.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byShamester123 April 30, 2012

Has Swearing, but a positive message.

This Movie is about a Veteran of the korean War who has Hmong neighbors moving in. at first he doesnt like his neighbors due to his frightening past, but when a gang thereatens them, he grows a friendship and realises that the Hmong people are not so different from himself. This is a great movie with a positive message, but swearing and racism is an issue. Good for 12+
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written byLegend736 April 21, 2012

Great film,Eastwood is amazing

Educational and moving.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byNo Name, for real. February 25, 2012

lots of racism.

alomst if not the whole movie is covered with racial slurs and insults.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byJustino4 February 15, 2012

Good Movie, Extremely Harsh Language

Good movie. I watched the cencored version on TV and I already know the movie's chock full of racist slurs and offensive language. The whole movie, the character's mouths weren't even matching what was said. It got to the point of annoyance.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written bylaceynoelle97 December 1, 2011

DONT MISS THIS MOVIE

I literally just got done watching this movie. It was amazing, I'm 14 years old, and I NEVER watch rated R movies... but i made an exception for this one... I'm glad I did. It was absolutely amazing, but the fact that common sense places most focus on the racism of the movie really doesn't do it justice. Yes, racism is an issue... but it's just a surface issue. I didn't think about racism once one character was raped and the others were shot at.... all I could think is how screwed up our world has become. Eastwood was clearly trying to do more than call attention to racism in this masterpiece, I truly believe that the themes in this movie are critical- and if you miss them.... there's no point in watching the movie. The ending was bittersweet, and I was furious for the last 20 minutes or so of the movie... but it is such a great concept. This movie couldn't have been done any better.... My only concern is the language... while it does add character to Walt and the others.... i don't like hearing all that nonsense... But i would definitely recommend this movie to my mature friends, it's not something for kids, and kids wouldn't get the overall theme anyway.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byBrybry102 July 20, 2011

Greatest Movie.

At first walt wasnt a role model, but when he starts loving the Asians he starts to take care of "toad" he loves them all now, but when them gangsters start coming around, it gets violent, but still it is to protect them all. And that his sister gets raped, then Walt gets very angry, at the end is just pure sad. I cried. It shows the real world. i watch it all the time, and still cry, i love it.
What other families should know
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byman of god February 27, 2011
i am 13 and me and my brother rented the movie. I loved it! but there is a boat load of f-words and other terrible words that i cant say. but besides that i loved it!
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byasecoolish February 2, 2011
this is not another dirty harry just to tell you its an amazing flick you actually care for the people in the movie. there is language and some violence with partial blood but its not a shoot em up movie its great for ages 13 and up.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written bysplatterhousedude December 5, 2010

iffy for kids 12 and up

This is my personal favorite movie ever! This movie is really good It is very sad and not for kids 11 and under. This movie was so sad it made me cry!
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written bylainilala July 27, 2010

Loved it

I LOVED this movie, it was really good. Theres no lesson to it or anything...but just overall its a great movie. I was 12 when I watched this, and I understood it fine, and I really enjoyed the movie. But that may be because I more mature then most kids my age. LOVED THE MOVIE!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written bychrisissocooldude July 16, 2010
awesome movie with brief boring parts. This movie is definitely Rated R for violent scenes and strong pervasive language
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byimawesomebroski July 2, 2010
a good movie. occasional bloody violence, some disturbing and thematic content, extreme pervasive language, and strong racist terms.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old June 13, 2010

Clint Eastwood Has Done it Again!

While some of his most recent works of art have been average at best, "Gran Torino" provides a dark yet significant tone when it comes to the subject of gang violence sanctioned by general racism and hatred towards one's fellow man. You are able to bond with most of the characters allotted, all of them putting on the convincing facade of realism and imminent danger within their community.
What other families should know
Too much violence

Pages