All parent member reviews for High School Musical 2

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Parents say

(out of 32 reviews)
AGE
8
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Educator and Parent of a 7 year old Written byaxxiom2000 October 27, 2014
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Typical Disney Mindless Production with Stereotyping of Women as Gullible and Vain

Disappointing absence of opportunity to provide a positive role model for boys or girls - instead, Disney continues to portray kids as mindless and void of any interests outside of those championed by "main street" consumerism, and goes further to portray girls in a very chauvinistic manner. If you want your boys to grow up to think of women as objects or "trophies", or if you want your girls to grow up to think of themselves as pawns whose only value is their looks - this movie is for your kids.
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Parent of a 12 year old Written bynka August 31, 2014
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Couldn't let 12 yr old daughter watch past the first scene

The first scene shows a girl in skimpy shorts riding piggy back on a boy. Then the boy and girl, eyes locked romantically and singing a song, go slowly down a staircase, faces gradually coming closer and closer. I couldn't let my 12 year old daughter watch the movie beyond this part so I don't know how the rest of the movie is. The first scene itself was enough to bring the barriers down on this movie for me. It seems mine is the only review which disapproves this movie for kids less than 15 years of age. So I assume many parents nowadays have more liberal views than I do.
Parent of an infant, 6, and 8 year old Written byMomma comma July 23, 2013
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Best and a great discussion topic (explore, discuss enjoy)

What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much consumerism
Parent of a 6 year old Written bymadsmooney1214 September 28, 2012
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

high school musical musical 2

Families can talk about how the media typically presents teen life. Do you think people get an inaccurate view of teen life from the media? Why or why not? Tweens: Do you find the characters and scenarios in this movie believable? Why or why not? Were any of the issues the characters faced similar to ones you've experienced? If so, how did you handle them? Families can also discuss how this movie compares to the original. How have the characters changed since the first High School Musical? Which do you like better? Why?
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much sex
Too much consumerism
Adult Written byBeckstar October 29, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

not for me, but fine for kids

I think these films are really crappy and show absolutely no lessons or morals. But fine for kids. If you don't mind your child watching cheesy musicals with no morals. Then go for it.
Parent of a 6 and 11 year old Written byfastraxsg July 1, 2011
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Better then movie1 and 3.

I think its a great movie! kids like to dance to the music and are enchanted! I watched the movie more than five times!!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Parent of a 5 year old Written byLdyGreeen November 7, 2009
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Fun for whole family

Our whole family watches this. Our 5 year old sings along and can recite the lines too.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written byfarrell1 May 9, 2009
AGE
8
QUALITY
 
Not good sequel to the series. :(
Adult Written byliddle.biddle February 23, 2009
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

BORING!!

This movie is so boring you get sick.This actors are not that good but it is kid apropriate. Kids 0 and up can watch this movie! boo high school musical 2!!
Adult Written byphillymom77 January 5, 2009
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

Good Movie!

If this movie is not for young kids then who is it for. I am very strict with what my son watches and I like this movie. There is one kiss in the whole movie and there is no real sexual content because all of the relationships are very innocent. The story line is basic and probably a little boring to the teens. I took my son to see Madagascar because it was a cartoon and regretted it for adult jokes but even though this movie is real kids it has none of that.
Adult Written bydolphinlover9 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Parent Written byplclemo April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Adult Written bycrap April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Adult Written byspongebobrocks22 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

great

better than #1
Adult Written byjcarole April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Parent Written bymb1234 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Parent of a 10 and 10 year old Written byjrenouard April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Great role model for girls

If my girls emulated Gabriella, I'd be ecstatic. She's smart, nice, strong, doesn't allow herself to get pushed around, knows her own mind and self. The messages in this one are actually better than the first.
Adult Written byRealDeal April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Adult Written byquest13 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Good

The only problem of this film should be the biinis in this tons and tons and tons of tiny bikinis espacially sharpay. Other than that fine.
Adult Written bydramer124 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Great Movie

Much bettter rhan the first one:although little kids may not look to the fact that girls talk about boys,a and there is a date in it. Also flirting between Troy and Gabriella, other that this, Great Movie!

Pages