All parent member reviews for Home Alone 2: Lost in New York

Parents say

(out of 11 reviews)
age 8+
Review this title!
Parent Written bywonkles December 27, 2009
Bigger production, same cast and elegant NYC settings can't save this preachy, plodding plot that ends with a stream of relentless and violent comic gags that don't compare to the cleverness of the original.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Adult Written bysouthernmom27 January 2, 2010

Watch out for the profanity!

We skipped through the first Home Alone because of the profanity, and after reading several reviews (including Commonsense's review), I was under the impression that this movie had no foul language. NOT so! There's a very clear da**it and Kevin, the main character, calls the bad guys an a$$ at least two times. We sat down with our 5 & 7 year old thinking we were going to have a good, clean, fun movie night. What a disappointment. No matter how much we enjoyed Kevin's antics, we won't be watching this again.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Adult Written bywonder dove November 5, 2012

Much better than the first!!!

I find this one quite better than the first. It was the most watched in our family when I was young, so it stuck I guess. There are a lot more traps in this one, more laughs and more adventure. Plus the beautiful views of New York! Great photography! Kevin is not home alone in this sequel, however, he takes the wrong flight when trying to keep up with his fast paced family who are late arriving to the airport. He takes a turn and heads for a flight to New York instead of Miami. There, his great adventure begins. After living it up for a while with his dads credit card, Kevin comes in contact with the two burglars from the first film, again. Only this time, they catch him several times. Kevin is smart enough to escape and becomes friends with a "Pigeon Lady" who keeps each other company. He decides to stop in at an uncles house who are renovating and turns the place into a huge trap to catch the bad guys. His mom later finds him after countless hours of searching, only to be reunited at the end spending Christmas in a gorgeous New York hotel with his whole family. There is more violence than the original (throwing bricks and hitting a burglar in the face several times, being hanged on a hook, being blasted by an iron, violently electrocuted to the point of seeing his skeleton...and so much more), more language (mainly name calling like "horses @ss" but nothing over the top). Better traps, a good story and LOTS of laughs. It is much scarier and darker than the first so only mature kids with a sense of humor should see it.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Parent of a 7 and 10 year old Written byMattmchugh February 5, 2011

Reprehensible stupidity and sadism posing as slapsticks for kids

My son saw this in school during some half-day party and wanted to watch it for a family movie night. I have a dim recollection of seeing the first "Home Alone" once, so I figured it was harmless enough. I was wrong. It's a terrible, terrible movie. The script and acting are wretched, though that in itself doesn't necessarily condemn a kid's movie. What makes this movie awful is the relentless bodily harm perpetrated on the villains. I'm no prude and understand the concept of live action "cartoon" violence, á la Three Stooges, but this was just over the top. In a realistic time and place, two live actors are shot, crushed, burned and bludgeoned over and over, walking away from dozens of lethal attacks. Frankly, this is a rotten message for kids of any age: that real-world violence has no consequences. I don't buy that it's just slapstick or fantasy. It's casual sadism, pure and simple, of a variety that we ought never to encourage in our kids. I'd rather show my kids "Saving Private Ryan" than let them watch this kind of tripe.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Parent of a 5, 6, 7, 10, 10, and 17 year old Written byCharlie The Cat December 18, 2011
Parent of a 6 and 7 year old Written bykatino August 1, 2010

watch before making decision

my six year old daughter walked out in the middle - too scary. my almost 7 1/2 year old son had a lot of questions (ie: how could they forget their son, what is kerosene?) and i am hoping he didn't retain any bad ideas. i think it is very funny but not sure i should have let my kids watch it. i had watched it years ago and didn';t remember it the way i see it now that i am a parent.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Safety and privacy concerns
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent of a 4 year old Written bychaotican October 16, 2011

Torture porn for kids - offensive

I'm offended, and that isn't like me. It is not the violence, it is the cruelty and the torture. I think that teaching our children to laugh at people getting nail guns fired at them is sickening. I turned it off in the middle and I'm still upset.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Adult Written byjcorac19 August 7, 2011

Awesome!

Ive been watching this movie since i was 3!! that dont mean i didnt swear at a young age!!
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Adult Written by4Spice October 24, 2009

even a better classic

better then then the first one whatch it kids will love it
Parent of a 17 year old Written bylove2 September 29, 2009

not as good as the last one

not as good as the first one. but still a good movie but lots of vilonce.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Educator Written byMiguel M. December 15, 2016

BEST CHRISTMAS COMEDY MOVIE

OMG I LOVE THIS MOVIE ITS THE BEST even when uncle frank was showering in the movie and he saw kevin and said GET OUT OF HERE YOU NOSY LITTLE PERVERT OR IM GONNA SLAP YOU SILLY that made me laugh kevins mom said KEVIN!! at the airport which makes comedy in this movie when the sticky bandits got pranked marv getting electrocuted and harry screaming because of fire in his head both of those scenes will make your day even better when you are sad this is the best movie ever
What other families should know
Great role models