All parent member reviews for Hop

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Parents say

(out of 50 reviews)
AGE
7
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Adult Written bypickle_pie April 20, 2011
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
I would not recommend this movie for children. I personally will not buy it or ever watch it again. The bunny goes to the playboy mansion. The fact that the playboy mansion is even mentioned in a movie targeting children is DESPICABLE!! And one of the theme songs..."I Want Candy" is a COMPLETELY inappropriate song! the lyrics are terrible and DISGUSTING!
Parent of a 6 and 8 year old Written byMother teacher April 20, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Horrible movie! Poor acting, racist and racy

I found this movie to have poor acting, sexual undertones and blatant racism. The "human" actors were not funny, not well acted and were stereotypical. The parents wanted their child to find a job, any job, and move out of the house. They made it clear that they found their son a failure. There were many sexual undertones...Chelsea Handler, David Hasselhoff, Hugh Hefner all had roles. The bunny talked about open relationships, being a sexy bunny, and getting into the playboy mansion. The racism was very uncomfortable. There was a scene where the Easter Bunny hadn't yet "cracked China" of the bunny getting thrown out of a Chinese grocery store in China. There is an adopted Chinese daughter living with the human family, who thinks she's great but has a horrible singing voice. She even says "I think I was adopted to make up for your son's lack of ambition." There is a band of blind black men, who just pretend to be blind as a gimmick. And there is the Latino chick (as in chicken) that is laughed at when he asks to become the new easter bunny, even though the job was vacant. He is the villain in the movie. This movie was just plain horrible! Please beware of these when taking children to the movie. There is nothing sweet or innocent taking place. It is full of mean spirited characters.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Parent of a 10 year old Written byRed Rebel Rider April 22, 2011
AGE
5
QUALITY
 
Most of the children at that show were 8 and above. They sat quietly, laughed during the funny parts and sang or moved during the musical parts. They all seemed to enjoy it and parents seemed happy with the movie as well.
What other families should know
Great messages
Parent of a 10 and 13 year old Written bymjones141 April 7, 2011
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

disappointed

I do not understand why the playboy mansion was even put into the movie. Regardless of whether the younger kids understand, it is the ones 9-10, that question why the bunny is sexy and what is that place. There is no need.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Parent Written bySingapore Cali mom April 8, 2011
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Sugar high

- There was TOO much emphasis on candy. They could have found a way of balancing out the nutrition aspect.
Adult Written bysongscreener April 4, 2011
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

know your older grade school kids

This movie was cut relly short. that said there is a pretty good amunt of product placement and the playboy mansion mentioned in a few scenes and EB considers himself sexy when he reads his map that says the playboy mansion is for "sexy bunnies" this could lead to some akward cnversations about what th playboy mansion is
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much consumerism
Great messages
Adult Written bybluucantu June 9, 2011
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

PLAYBOY, really?!?!

I don't care about consumerism so much, so I wish CSM would have put PLAYBOY in the sexy stuff category. I can't believe that they would put Playboy references (2) in a child's movie, it's sick and really ticked me off. I never would have gone, had I known.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Adult Written byhoffmans71 April 7, 2011
AGE
7
QUALITY
 
The movie was cute and pretty funny. It encourages people to not be selfish and self centered. WARNING: On two occasions a major and some minor chracter go to the PLAYBOY MANSION and speak over a loud speaker to a man that sounds like Hugh Hefner on top of that the PLAYBOY BUNNY LOGO is clearly displayed. We will not buy HOP because of this. I don't want my kids associating something positive and mostly innocent with a pornographic icon.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much consumerism
Great messages
Parent of a 2 year old Written byaniO April 25, 2011
AGE
3
QUALITY
 

Terrible!

Embedding adult humor in kids movies is just WRONG. It is so sad that even then 10 year olds reviewing here know what the playboy mansion is. How many passing references does it take before your 5 year old understands? Gross.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent of a 6 year old Written bymandykakel April 25, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

used jerk a lot, and referrenced playboy mansion.

used jerk a lot, and referrenced playboy mansion.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Parent Written byJaysus April 30, 2012
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Not the behavior I want my kids emulating

Am I the only one who wanted to grab the rabbit by the ears and stick him in a corner until he finally learned the slightest ounce of discipline? I personally will NOT play this movie for my kids, I never ever want them to think that E.B.s (the rabbit) behavior is in any way acceptable or even entertaining. My wife actually walked away from the movie, frustrated that kids in America are watching this movie and likely wanting to emulate this juvenile, irresponsible and disrespectful character.
Parent Written byveronicathecurious April 6, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Only if you have no morals.

Some adults seem to think that children won't get the adult humor, but I for one do not want my 4 year old asking me what a PlayBoy Bunny is! I did not let my children see it and I won't. Letting your child watch this will open up a host of problems, from using the word "sexy" to running away when they are mad about something. There is no target audience, the jokes are just mean and rude and not even funny. I guarantee the parents who gave this movie good reviews did not actually sit down and watch the movie. Either that or they have morals like that of a chocolate Easter bunny...hollow on the inside.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Parent Written bygardner1218 August 5, 2011
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

fine except the palyboy scene

i thought most of the movie was fine, but I sat there holding my breath when the playboy mansion scene came on. I was really furious about that because it does NOT belong in a child's movie at all! I seriously don't understand why they did that. I figured it would go over the heads of my 3 and 5 yr old, but I cringed hoping my almost 8 yr old would not pick up on the word "sexy" that was used multiple times in that scene.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent of a 6 and 12 year old Written bySuzyak April 20, 2011
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

racist and boring

Maybe E.B. and Fred can achieve their dreams, but what about Carlos? The slacker Anglos in this story have greatness thrust upon them, but the hard working and ambitious Hispanics need not apply. The idea that the top job (Easter Bunny in this case) must be passed on from father to son belongs in Arthurian legends and not in a modern setting. In addition, it was boring. The kids said they liked the movie, but have not mentioned it since and usually want to see a good movie several times.
Parent of a 11 year old Written byBlessed Mom2 April 18, 2011
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Perfect for All Ages!!

I thought this was a very cute movie. My daughter, 11-years old, loved it as well as my husband and I. If you are used to violence and potty language then this movie is not for you, which is why I believe a number of reviewers called it "dumb and boring." However, if you want to go to a nice family movie with cute characters and a sweet story line, I would definitely suggest this movie. I found no issues with this movie. The scene at the gate of the Playboy mansion would be over a younger child's head and the reference is very obscure. Go out and enjoy this cute movie for Easter!
Parent of a 4, 6, 7, and 12 year old Written byjk2137 April 8, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Boring for Under 10, So So for 10+

I like others, object to the Playboy Mansion and Playboy symbol being used in this movie. It is completely unnecessary and unrelated to the story.My almost 8 yr. old granddaughter was bored during the movie. I think the creators made the same mistake that was made with "Beezus and Ramona" . In "Hop" they created a story around a problem that children don't understand - living up to the parent's expectations. In "Beezus and Ramona" the problem was the father's unemployment. Most children under the age of 10 don't understand these things.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Parent of a 10 and 12 year old Written bybrown_eyed_girl April 2, 2011
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Cute characters make up for weak story

Really on the fence about this movie. It's not really a great story but the animated characters are so cute and there are many funny moments to keep older viewers engaged. Lots of slapstick but most of the humor is clean. We went with kids ages 4-12 and everyone enjoyed themselves. The big disappointment was the human father, a huge jerk who doesn't really change throughout the movie. There's also a scene where the younger sister's performance is interrupted and mocked but no one seems to care. She has several snotty, insulting lines in the movie that they could have done without. I was surprised CSM rated it so low for consumerism when the opening credits shows Cadbury wrappers/logos and Hershey Kisses. I heard a kid say, "I don't get half that much stuff in MY Easter baskets!"
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Parent Written byThe adult guy June 1, 2013
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

BAD\INNOPROPIOT CONTENT

Omg it has content of freaking play boy
Adult Written byTimTheTVGuy October 20, 2012
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Very bad.

I saw this movie last year because it looked so good,and it turned out to be garbage.It was boring,lame,stupid,bad voice acting,eye burning CGI,and unlikeable characters.I mean it was aboslutly horrible,and i'm not hard to please at all.Bleh.
Parent Written bypriestofthehome May 25, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Strange scenes

This movie had many uncomfortable moments a lot of which have been posted by other reviewers. One I found subtle and disturbing was what seemed to be a marriage of sorts between the male human character and the male bunny. In the ceremony they are both asked to touch the egg of destiny scepter (phallic symbol) with their fingers while the presiding bunny says something like "by the power vested in me I pronounce Fred and EB co Easter bunnies, ... now go forth and deliver".

Pages