Hubble 3D

  • Review Date: March 18, 2010
  • Rated: G
  • Genre: Documentary
  • Release Year: 2010
  • Running Time: 43 minutes

Common Sense Media says

Space lands on Earth in 3-D glory in this kid-friendly docu.
  • Review Date: March 18, 2010
  • Rated: G
  • Genre: Documentary
  • Release Year: 2010
  • Running Time: 43 minutes

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

What parents need to know

Positive messages

The film emphasizes the importance of scientific discovery, especially the work of the Hubble telescope. Running through the whole movie is a sense of reverence for the universe and all its mysteries.

Positive role models

Everyone depicted in the film, from the astronauts to the NASA employees who prep them, and the filmmakers, too, seem excited for their project. Their love of what they do is palpable.

Violence
Not applicable
Sex
Not applicable
Language

One use of the word “damn.”

Consumerism
Not applicable
Drinking, drugs, & smoking
Not applicable

Parents Need to Know

Parents need to know that this documentary about NASA’s final shuttle expedition to repair a broken part of the Hubble telescope is an educational goldmine offering facts about space and a bounty of images of distant galaxies caught by the instrument. Kids and grown-ups alike will enjoy this excursion into space via 3-D IMAX technology. Due to the 3-D effects, younger kids might find the viewing experience slightly unsettling and might need help adjusting to the special viewing glasses.

Parents say

Not yet rated
Review this title!

Kids say

What's the story?

Floating thousands of miles above our planet, the Hubble telescope brought images of the universe down to Earth, including nooks and crannies that date back billions of years. But soon after it was launched in 1990, scientists discovered one of its mirrors had a flaw; a handful of shuttle trips to mend it took place, but after the crash of the Columbia shuttle in 2003, it looked like there would be no more trips. But in May 2009 a crew made one last stop, IMAX camera in tow. HUBBLE 3D tells their story.

Is it any good?

QUALITY
 

Avatar might have taken 3-D to another level, but this documentary proves the technology is satisfyingly applicable to nonfiction films, too. Space, already an awesome cinematic subject, seems, in fact, more wondrous with it, turning a world that most can only imagine into something almost palpable. Screened only in IMAX theatres, the 3-D effect is heightened, making for an experience that’s part thrill ride, part astronomy lesson, and all entertainment. (Leonardo DiCaprio’s narration echoes the audience’s amazement.) At 43 minutes, the film is hyper-efficient, and we long for a little more insight into the astronauts themselves. And if only the 3-D effect would stay stable at all angles; one wrong shift can make the images seem wobbly through the special glasses viewers need, but these are small quibbles for a straightforwardly awesome film.

Families can talk about...

  • Families can talk about what it must be like for the astronauts who journey into space. What drives them to sign up for such an adventure, and how difficult do you think it is to perform such mundane tasks as removing bolts amid the splendor of the universe?

  • How did the 3-D effects change the viewing experience? Do you think it was improved, or was it too distracting? Did you experience any strange physical effects from the 3-D?

  • Why were scientists determined to make it out to Hubble one more time? Does it seem like a worthy endeavor?

Movie details

Theatrical release date:March 19, 2010
DVD release date:March 29, 2011
Cast:Leonardo DiCaprio
Studio:Warner Bros.
Genre:Documentary
Topics:Science and nature
Run time:43 minutes
MPAA rating:G

This review of Hubble 3D was written by

Common Sense Media's unbiased ratings are conducted by expert reviewers and aren't influenced by the product's creators or by any of our funders, affiliates, or partners.

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

About our buy links

When you use our links to make a purchase, Common Sense Media earns a small affiliate fee from Amazon or iTunes. As a nonprofit organization, these funds help us continue providing independent, ad-free services for educators, families, and kids while the price you pay remains the same. Thank you for your support.
Read more

See more about how we rate and review.

What parents and kids say

See all user reviews

Share your thoughts with other parents and kids Write a user review

A safe community is important to us. Please observe our guidelines

Kid, 11 years old July 9, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Perfect for the tweens not for the little ones

i loved it... when we went on a field trip to see it the images were GREAT! ITS LIKE THERE RIGHT IN FRONT OF YOU! amazing... i recomend ages.... 9- and up. compared to my age i was a little scared at first but after a while you get used to it. AMAZING!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 9 years old March 28, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 
Kid, 12 years old July 28, 2010
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Amazing for All Ages

Awesome movie!!! I saw it at IMAX today and I have to tell you, it was the best. It is slightly dizzying though. I liked it a lot!! It was beautiful. I put violence on there, but it's not really violent. That was the closest I could get to it being a little bit creepy with the voice of Leonardo DiCaprio and the darkness.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Great role models

Poll

Did our review help you make an informed decision about this product?

Essential School Tools