All teen and kid member reviews for Independence Day

Kids say

(out of 51 reviews)
age 11+
Review this title!
Kid, 12 years old June 13, 2010

America's Popcorn Flick

From the first minute of viewing, I implore you to set your brain to power-saving mode; if you initiate any sentient thought, or thought in general, as to the validity of the plot, characters, setting, or any detail of this movie, you will find yourself monumentally disappointed with why and what you spent at the cinema. This is a popcorn flick, pure and simple. It is meant for those that choose to enjoy explosions for the sake of explosions, and fighting for the sake of wiping out an alien race within two days of their arrival, which is completely realistic, if you don't think about it. Have fun!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much consumerism
Kid, 10 years old March 9, 2010
Not to realistic(I've seen to much new movies). Good movie tho.
Kid, 11 years old February 16, 2011

fun movie for 8 and up

This movie is pretty hard to take seriously, which makes it actually pretty funny. There is a lot of bad language and one guy gets drunk. The special effects are really cool when they destroy New York, LA, and DC. Overall, a pretty fun, entertaining movie.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written bygoldenretriever1234 October 23, 2015

Good movie, but not for little kids

Independence Day directed by Roland Emmerich is nonstop action and fun. There is very frequent swearing, cities getting blasted with laser beams with lots of fire, millions die, but there is no blood ever in the movie (at least not what I could remember). The scary part is when a man is choked to death by an alien. A woman is also shown in very little clothing. My rating: PG-13 for intense science fiction terror, some strong language, mild nudity, and smoking
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old June 28, 2015

Spectacularly over-the-top, violent and thrilling alien invasion movie.

Most kids over 12 will like this movie with it's loud, action packed quality, but some may be scared for the same reasons. BIoody violence, big alien and human face offs and chases. Near the beginning, a women is shown at a strip club, implied that she was the one stripping. Also some salty language, goddamn, bulls--t, shmuck and bitch, used regularly. But for a classic alien defense movie, with this with your teen (just make sure younger siblings are already tucked in bed!).
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 9 years old June 15, 2012

INDEPENDENCE DAY

Will Smith stops aliens from destroying the world. Probably the basis for MIB.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byrebo344 June 21, 2016

A true classic.

Despite being a sci-fi blockbuster, this movie has amazing action scenes, excellent acting (mainly Jeff Goldblum), great special effects and a decent story with heart. David Arnold's score is perfect. Grade: A.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 8 years old August 24, 2015

Pretty gory but cool alien,end of the world flick for teens.

My rating:R for bloody violence and language throughout.
Teen, 15 years old Written bybananalover March 23, 2011

stupid story

i absolutly hate this movie i don't get the story! the whole world being attacks by aliens. stupid conseped. there is some sex and alot of violence but not alot of cursing. don't waste your time watching this over 3 hour long movie. it sucks like heck.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Teen, 16 years old Written byMovieLover1117 September 8, 2010

Perfect For 5 Year Olds

I Hate This Movie... I Thought It'd Be Okay (Cause I Had Nothing To Watch) But No It's Just Plain Old HORRIBLE
Kid, 9 years old August 21, 2016

What a great Sci-Fi alien movie!

This movie was plain awesome. But it is not a little kid movie. There are uses of s--t, hell, bitch, bastard and damn. No F-bombs, but every other swear in the book. Also, one scene may be way too scary for kids 8 and 9. It`s where an alien comes alive in a jump-out scene and the alien wrecks everything and even talks in a creepy voice to the president and some other people. There is also a 30-35 second night club scene where a girl named Jazzman is wearing an outfit that looks kinda sex-like. There`s quite a bit of violence, also.
Kid, 12 years old August 7, 2016

Very similar to Mars Attack

This movie is very good, there is violence, but the graphics are amazing. The movie introduces multiple characters who all come together to celebrate the true meaning of Independence Day. This movie brings together families, and can get freaky at times. But, overall, this movie is one of the best Science-Fiction movies I have ever seen. If you like fast paced movies, this is probably a good choice for you.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Kid, 11 years old July 13, 2016

Independence Day Review

I think that Independence Day is a very good movie for lots of kids. However there is a mix of violence, language and sensuality that makes it 8+ SEX/NUDITY: 2/10 A brief scene in a club with women wearing G-strings and other flimsy clothes VIOLENCE/GORE: 7/10 Numerous fireballs and cars flying with occasional people A scene where they dissect an alien is bloody and intense and the alien wakes up and kills everyone in the lab A Boy has a bug (Virus) Numerous battle scenes between men and the aliens resulting usually in men dying A women gets injured and dies in a hospital PROFANITY: 5/10 1 mouthing of the f word ( I don't think anybody would notice Numerous anatomical terms Some scatological terms Some religious exclamations Thanks for reading!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much swearing
Kid, 10 years old June 24, 2016
Kid, 12 years old June 4, 2016
it is a brilliant movie for the family only 1 s word and only a bit of violence
Kid, 12 years old August 3, 2015

Not as scary as MIB

Not so scary except one part will make you jump the language is not worse than MIB watch it please it is entertaining!
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written bybtoc007 December 28, 2014

Independence day

This movie has a lot of swearing mostly the f word and b word. It also has some aliens that will smith and his gang try to kill. There are some pretty cool scenes in this movie though. This is a good apocalyptic movie. Mostly because it is not as scary as other apocalypse movies.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byHaithamB June 20, 2014

Entertaining, but rather disappointing.

Independence Day is not a bad movie, it is fun, entertaining summer blockbuster. Despite, the movie does have some flaws, including the lack of character development and a thin cardboard cutout plot. It could have been more interesting if they dig deeper into the characters' feelings and the past of the aliens.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Kid, 12 years old January 10, 2014

awsome

Very fun movie with cool special FX.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old May 19, 2013

Wicked Good

At times it was unbearably sad and depressing. I am 11. But I think this movie is amazing, and good for 13-year-olds. One scene involves strippers and I was a little disturbed. The movie, in short, was awesome. There is a lot of swearing. Mostly from Will Smith. There are lots of air battles and wicked explosions. My favorite part was right after the gross part, when they had to dissect an alien. Then my favorite part was when an alien talks through a human. You will be grossed, freaked, and scared out of your mind watching this one. But in a good way.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking

Pages