All parent member reviews for Jumanji

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Parents say

(out of 15 reviews)
AGE
8
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Adult Written byDr.Pepper January 16, 2010
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

One of the best

This is one of the best movies I have ever seen. The only main concern is that it might be a bit intense for really young children. Also there is some very mild swearing (One use of "h#ll" and "d@mn" each)
What other families should know
Too much violence
Parent of a 10 year old Written bydandy June 3, 2010
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

My kids think this movie is gross!

Violence. Here and there. One kid gets beat up in the beginning. I don't want my kids watching this crap! Language= d**n, and h**l. Violence= cars crash, guns, and stampedes. Not that many kisses only 2. But my kids still love it!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Adult Written bycrackerjack5 June 17, 2009
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

One of the best children's movies ever!

Fantastic movie!! Very clever; now I want to rent it again!
Parent Written byRJD76 November 7, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Good but not for young kids

There is a scene in which Bonnie Hunt's charater (who was a little girl when Robin William's character was sucked into the game as a boy) talks about how she can't believe he is alive because he was really chopped up into little pieces by his father.
Parent Written byerinw2 October 26, 2014
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Too much violence
Parent Written byT Dv June 24, 2012
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

For a little bitty kid, this is basically a horror movie. So, keep that in mind!

This movie was the right level of drama for our 4 year old because she enjoys animals going crazy and that is basically what is going on in this movie. She likes being frightened by movies. The finer aspects of the plot (time travel and such) are lost on her but she understood that the people in the movie were all caught in a horrible magic game. There is a scene with kids bullying another kid, and we had to talk about that, and there's a crazy old-timey hunter who's trying to shoot everyone, and we had to talk about that. ALSO, there are a couple of scenes where adults say they believe a kid was chopped up and his body was hidden in the walls. That would really freak out some kids. We just told ours those grown-ups were trying to scare the children, and she accepted that and never gave it another thought. Otherwise, it was a fine movie for her--one of the only ones she's asked to see over and over again.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Adult Written by413804 February 4, 2012
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Special effects are superior

An ok movie. Doesn't stay very close to the book. It was directed by Joe Johnston, who did the effects for Steven Speilbergs movies. The whole film just seemed like a special effects show
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Adult Written bykeeyan January 31, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

jumanji

jumanji is awesome
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Parent Written byj4mom January 25, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
We loved it, just watched it last night on DVD. Great action, interesting story line twist, plenty of good conversation points throughout the film. Major fantasy.
Parent of a 2 and 5 year old Written bytalanjs March 30, 2009
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
Parent of a 5 and 6 year old Written byRadyal12@atlas.cz February 16, 2009
AGE
2
QUALITY
 
Adult Written byRachel D April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Fantasy fun

A must have kids show that requires imagination and has great heart. Wonderful story to make a movie.