All parent member reviews for Kick-Ass

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Parents say

(out of 68 reviews)
AGE
15
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Adult Written byCaregiver September 10, 2010
AGE
17
QUALITY
 
Yes, I cringed at the portrayals of teen masturbation and sex, shook my head over a child who appeared to be about 9 (the publicity says she's 11) dropping F-bombs, and wondered why Nicholas Cage was making a full glottal stop between every word he spoke. But my moral objection has to do with the fact that human life and human death need to be treated with respect. This movie disrespects God's greatest gift, that of life. Even the death of the main character's mother from a brain aneurysm is treated humorously. I would've laughed heartily at a little girl who beat the crap out of big mean gangsters. But a little girl who uses guns to splatter their brains out the back of their heads? No.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent of a 13 year old Written byAlexxxx September 1, 2010
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

not for kids...

Saw all the commercials and it sounds good, son was excited about it, watched less than 10 mins and turned off because of language.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Adult Written bydudeman123 August 21, 2010
AGE
15
QUALITY
 
Lets face it Kick Ass is one bad ass movie. It's exciting, fun, funny, and majorly entertaining. It's one of those films that you just have to sit back and enjoy the entertainment. The plot is kind of cliche and weak, there is nothing really special in the script but, it is an enjoyable, action packed kick ass movie. I would recommend it to any older teens who enjoy superhero flicks.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Great role models
Parent of a 6 year old Written bybobula April 15, 2010
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

It is R rated for good reason

Parents, please, just because this movie is about super heroes - don't think it's safe to take you kids. All you have to do is search for the red band trailer on the internet and you will know what I mean. It is R rated for good reason.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byConcernedMan September 26, 2010
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Please understand the movie.

I find it disturbing that people allow themselves to be caught up in visual content and ignore the fact that this movie sends a deep message; stand up. Kick-ass had an encounter with three men much larger than him and he stands up to fight for the sake of a guy he doesn't even know. While some people may think it's promoting violence, it is not. It promotes standing up for what you believe in and not allowing others to do what you KNOW is wrong. The message here outweighs the negative aspects of the film which make it, in my mind, a complete success.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written byUnseen_America April 19, 2010
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Kick Ass -- the name says it all. A spoiler free review!

This movie is an extremely enjotable movie going experience! Let's get to the meat of this though -- Leave the kids HOME. While there is graphic slasher violence to worry about my concern is more with the 11 year old using extremely harsh language. It doesn't detract from the movie but most kids are likely to mimic if they see someone in their age group, Also, It does touch on a few sexual situations that might be innappropriate even though there is no nudity. Why you'll love it: This one is a nonstop action adventure with some silly satirical comedy thrown in. The secondary story of Big Daddy and Hit girl will leave audiences reaching for the tissues in several touching scenes. While most critics are harsh on this storyline, the key to remember is that this is intended for adults, and while Nick Cage's sociopathic parenting skills will raise a few eyebrows, the mixture of his out-of-touch lame dad personality and his Adam West Batman dialog make this story even better than Kick Ass'. The final scenes wrap up nicely and leave plenty of room for sequels, while telling a complete story. Also, the last act of the film is a definite must see, so be sure to get your popcorn and hit the restroom BEFORE the film.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Great role models
Adult Written byThatKrazyGuy April 12, 2010
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

"Kick-Ass" Kicks Ass!!

This movie is more classic than "The Dark Knight" was in 2008. This film is original, darkly comedic, and contains action violence so brutal that it brings "The Punisher" to shame. The subtle and not-so-subtle messages of bravery and heroism are compelling and the characters are extremely likable. This is a must-see. But, parents, a word of caution: THIS IS NOT FOR KIDS!! Children and impressionable teens should steer clear of this because this makes real-life superhero vigilante work seem quite possible, but also shows it's dangerous side. Kids will want to immitate Kick-Ass, Red Mist, Hit-Girl, and Big Daddy. Bottom line: GREAT MOVIE 5/5 STARS. NOT FOR CHILDREN UNDER 17.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Adult Written byWorldm May 4, 2010
AGE
17
QUALITY
 
I thought it was good but not for kids maybe unde 16 or 17 because it has sex and shows a guy about to masturbate about a naked girl on the national geographic website
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 10 and 11 year old Written bygregheffley April 27, 2010
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
f-word ,s-word, a-word and the h-word,no sub words like darn
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Parent of a 10 year old Written bysaftyj101 May 12, 2010
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

no no no

no no no no no no no no
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 4, 7, and 9 year old Written byRachael Starke April 15, 2010
AGE
17
QUALITY
 
Please help this mother of three daughters understand how a movie can be so violent, sexual and offensive that no one under 18 can see it without a parent (given that the entire purpose of an R rating is to protect children from seeing things harmful to them), but a child fully 7 years younger is actually IN it as its central character and the initiator of the aforementioned offensive content. Shame on the soulless company and the heartless parents who subjected a minor to this madness.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Adult Written byJilly1981 August 25, 2011
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Way too much "F"... Dislike the movie. Wish was never made.

Hello. A few years ago, my friend and I went to see this movie. I am a 30yr kid-at-heart adult who just saw this movie. When I saw the previews on TV, I thought this was gonna be a great super hero movie. It was based similar to Drake Bell's Super Hero Movie in away, but more "R" version. The only thing my friend and I did not like was the "F" word in the whole movie. I will NOT buy it on DVD. This is NOT a good movie for your kids to see. However, it does have a lot of kick but action. Overall, this was our very 1st Rated R movie, so this is a NO for kids.. Truest me...
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bycallofduty5 August 5, 2011
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

FAIL

Too graphic for teens and most adults, avoid since language is aggressive and frequent, contains hard drug use and also very gory violence. NOT FOR ANYONE BELOW 18!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byNeonKennedy November 10, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Excellent movie. Well made.

What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Adult Written byfirst class June 21, 2011
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

kick ass

pretty violent and many sexual references and scenes.lots of profanity.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent of a 11 and 14 year old Written bySuperParent April 28, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

kick-buttcheeks :)

i loved this film. patrick and quentin enjoyed it, i highly recommend you bring your teens to this movie, it has great humor and it is very entertaining, however the film is pretty violent, there is a lot of swearing, and a few scenes that involve sex and masturbation. but other than that this film is very funny and awesome
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Educator and Parent of a 4 and 9 year old Written byconnielove93 August 28, 2010
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
I loved this movie!!! It was much better than I expected and the characters were fun! Kick ass is about a picked on nerd who wonders why no one has tried to be a superhero. He decides he'll try to fight crime that nobody seems to do anything about. Behind the violence and language kick ass has some positive mesages about helping others in need. In general this is not for kids under 15 but the common sense review was too harsh because the movie has some redeeming qualities.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Great messages
Adult Written byMovies Viewer August 15, 2010
AGE
17
QUALITY
 
This is a very disturbing movie which goes beyong bad. Most parents
Adult Written byJakk May 19, 2011
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Violent but positive morality tale for older teens

This film has raised a little bit of controversy due to its high levels of violence and profanity, but it's also got a very positive message and is a film with heart. I can't recommend this film for children, because the violence is bloody, over-the-top, and frighteningly realistic. There's also constant use of strong profanity (especially the f-word) including one use of c-word uttered by a child. The sexual content is at a PG-13 level, consisting of an implied sex scene and a few crude jokes. However, despite the film's mature content, it's a very positive film with a great message. The film teaches that everyone has a responsibility to help their neighbor, and that you don't need superpowers to help someone in need. The film also conveys a strong sense of love and family through Hit-Girl and her father. This film has a lot of mature content, but it's really nothing worse than what you'll hear in the halls of an average high school. This isn't a film for kids, but I strongly recommend it to older teens due to its positive message.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Great role models
Parent Written byNevets January 19, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Unnecessary Extremes

Sad to say but this is a very good movie that should be banned. It would have been good without a girl being so young and without the 11 yr old's constant use of the fu*k word and the "C#nt" word. (if I had spelled that out, this site would have banned my comments). This disturbing 11 yr old (actual age) also cut off parts of peoples bodies. The comments and raving review of an 11 year old providing a review on this site also is disturbing. Regardless of ratings, kids too young will see it and think it is appropriate (like the young reviewer on this site). The 16 year old boys commenting on this site, saying it is a great movie and people should lighten up, are probably the same boys that want to have sex with your 11 year old daugher who is 5 years out kindergarten. It was a good movie, but I (and especially a kid) would be a better person for not having seen it.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking

Pages