All parent member reviews for Live Free or Die Hard

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Parents say

(out of 22 reviews)
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Adult Written byKitsune87 December 20, 2009
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
The best in the Series.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Great role models
Adult Written byonlygoodthings April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Adult Written bysarahkay89 November 17, 2010
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Fine for adults / older teens; would not recommend for kids/tweens

Well done movie. But lots of language. Very violent. One inappropriate make-out scene (guy keeps grabbing girl's breast as the kiss) Overall, I would not recommend for kids or tweens.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Adult Written bydjrgeek April 18, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
It is really an action-packed thriller! Might be to violent for younger kids, but is still awsome!
What other families should know
Great messages
Adult Written by4Spice October 22, 2009
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

very good 12 over

great movie but not a classic like the last three but more updated then the last three
Parent Written byTHE MOVIE BUF!!!!! July 12, 2011
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Very good movie but very rude and violent

Lots of violence coarse language and a bit of sex strong violence coarse language and medium sexual content
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Adult Written bycoolmandude April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Adult Written bybfranklin April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Action-Packed

This was a fast moving, action-packed movie. My husband and I both loved it. Our 15 year old daughter didn't care for it.
Parent of a 11 and 14 year old Written bycucamonga December 31, 2011
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Highly unrealistic action flick

I am shocked that some parents are recommending this film to 13 year olds. There is a make out session where a guy caresses on top of the bra of a teen ager, the daughter calls her dad an a***ole, and there is a lot of bad language.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent of a 17 year old Written byjoeryker August 8, 2010
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
Awsome thriller...but has almost as much language as action.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written bychangster.eminem May 7, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

You Want A Fighting Terrorist Movie With Some Humor? Here it is.

This is one of those fighting terrorists movies where it can be comical at points.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Parent Written byPlague December 15, 2009
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Live Free or Die Hard

Great action movie for Die Hard fans everywhere.
What other families should know
Great role models
Adult Written bygounseen April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

A great movie, but a little violent...

The fourth installment in the Die Hard series lives up to its name. Although not as good as its predecessors in my opinion, it is still worth your time. I think that the reviewer before me gave this movie a bit too harsh of a review. For example, the ONLY mention of drugs in this film is when a character is being treated for his wounds by a paramedic. The other reviewer "red-flagged" this. I would disagree. But, this movie still does have its share of violence. There is frequent killing, and high-octane action. But it is relatively bloodless compared to any of its predecessors. Bruce does use his catch phrase, Yippe-Ki-Yay M******f*****, but the word f***** is partially covered by a gunshot. Overall, this movie impresses me. I would recommend it for kids age 13 and up, just as the rating suggests.
Adult Written byLIEN~KOF April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Adult Written byG3 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Adult Written byMovieCheck555 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Amazing

One iffy begining scene but it is short and not a big deal Violence is heavy but not too gory
Adult Written bymulchi April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

i saw it and it was awsome

bruce is my hero in all movies but he just rocks screen when you see him do things you could and would not do in real actual life kids this film is not for you but sis and bro who are 17 19 20 are
Adult Written byquest13 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

A good pure aciton flick

See it with your teens they'll love it and so will you!
Adult Written bymotherofireland April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Much better than expected.

Funny, good, love Bruce Willis. Fine for teenagers.
Adult Written byChris LP April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

The director's cut of the PG-13 Die Hard

John McClane returns in the modern-day Die Hard. This is a review of the Unrated cut of the film: The profanity count is over 100 in this film. Numerous uses of f--k and other profane words. Sex is not an issue. Violence, as usual, is strong.

Pages