Kid reviews for LOL

Common Sense says

Miley Cyrus overacts in sex 'n' drugs high school drama.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 14+
Based on 9 reviews

Kids say

age 13+
Based on 31 reviews
Teen, 16 years old Written byLissalynn8 February 4, 2016
It's a great movie especially for teen girls!

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Teen, 16 years old Written byemnnme June 10, 2014

Don't deprive your kids of the modern day social scene

I'm a 16 year old girl, and I found this movie completely appropriate for any child (girl) eight years of age or older. Most parents cringe at the thought of their pre-teen being exposed to any drug use, violence, or sex in a movie, but the truth is you can't seclude your kids from this kind of social scene forever. Chances are if your child is eight or older, these "suggestive" things are already a daily topic of conversation with their friends, whether they open up to you as a parent or not. The movie does not go "full out" druggie, prostitute, or sailor swear; everything suggestive is minimal and it's a good look into what your kids will face going into middle and high school. Overall, this is a very good movie to watch with your child as there is no complicated plot to follow and it's an eye opener to the modern day social scene for both child and parent.
Kid, 10 years old February 15, 2014

the movie is fine for over 12

if your kid knows about sex and drugs this movie is fine
overall good movie

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byThe_world_sucks... June 4, 2020

*A bit of advice for adults*Disclaimer*-I'm not trying to tell you how to parent I just think that you'll be glad you read my review

I have not seen this film but from reading other reviews and the expert review,I honestly feel like parents greatly underestimate the amount of outside knowledge their children have.It is inevitable that your child will see or hear things that you are uncomfortable with them seeing or hearing,And I understand that they are your children and you want to keep them all safe and cozy but I am positive that even you know that your child can't be hidden from the outside world forever.Even at schools I've seen kids makeout but that doesn't mean I'm going to do it.All it means is that is that I was raised differently than those kids making out .So basically all I'm saying is the way you teach your child to view the world is very important but hiding them from it will only make them more drawn to it,so the best thing to do for your child is to listen to them and let them grow up.Thank you for taking your time to read this
Teen, 16 years old Written byVenusPM February 6, 2020

It's kind of an okay movie

Lol is an alright film to watch when you don't really have anything else to watch or if your generally a fan of Miley Cyrus or just really like the movie in general. It's about relationships some positive messages here and there, i personally didn't really enjoy the film, I guess it's not my type of movie, but many others would like it.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byZaraSebiMohamed July 7, 2019

Worst movie ever!!!

When I was 10 or so I was really eager to watch this movie starring Miley Cyrus and I watched it a few days ago and it was one of the WORST movies I have ever seen. This girl Lola has no responsibilities, she mucks around, ruins her life with alcohol n’ drugs and is incredibly spoilt. This movie has no plot or lesson learnt to it and has no climax. This doesn’t teach anyone anything and it’s a total waste of time. I thought this movie would be so amazing with a huge plot twist but there’s nothing. Literally nothing happens. This movie teaches negative things to kids not positive. DO NOT watch this movie.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byAbbyDavis June 4, 2018

Terrible messages, inappropriate, no story line....

This movie was complete garbage! The movie is all about how "women should be able to enjoy sex the same way men do" according to Lola's mom in the movie. There were several sex scenes, a good bot of cussing, and FULL of terrible messages. Sex should be for fun, smoking/drugs are fine, the purpose of life is to have fun, being liked is all that matters, etc. There was smoking, drugs, etc. The whole movie was extremely inappropriate, full of bad morals, and there was no good plot to it anyway. I wouldn't recommend it to anyone, kids, teens, or adults.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byHenly200 May 28, 2016
Teen, 13 years old Written byJasmineemai September 28, 2015

Good but not suitable for young children

Some kids may want to watch this because of miley Cyrus being in it but it is a very teenager film. It includes sex,drugs, sexting and swearing.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byHeidi14 July 5, 2015

LOL

I think LOL was a good movie. I would rate it a 15s movie. There was some bad words and some inappropriate scenes. It's about this girl living her life as a teenager and exploring her love life when her boyfriend dumps her she try's to get back at him. Her mom and dad are divorced and her mom is also going around dating other people.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byPrettyLittleElena September 27, 2014

This is one of my favourite movies ever.

This movie is amazing and it wont teach kids anything that they don't already know. Apart from Divergent, TFIOS, Pretty Little Liars and The Vampire Diaries this is one of the best movies ever. It gives a nice message because if you think this is inapropriate this is what 17-18 year olds do they go on holiday with their friends and they have fun. (I dont mean that they smoke and do drugs though). The best message of the film is to laugh out loud aka LOL

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Teen, 14 years old Written byU.S.MARINES21 June 15, 2014

Sex?!?!

This movie is NOT for kids. Spoiler! A mother tells her daughter she's a porn star. Lots of kissing. Mild swearing. There's a sex scene. There's drawings on the wall too.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byAlyssa S. March 29, 2014

AMAZING!!!

this is one of my all time favorite movies!! I love everything about it! Lola has an amazing relationship with her mom. I was really happy at the end when she had sex with the guy (forgot his name)!! this is a great movie for teens.

i watched the beggining with my 10 year old sister but I finished on my own. it was too much for her and I think she found it boring. maybe 2 more years and I'll watch it with her!! it was great

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byredtaylib January 6, 2014

Not as bad as it seems...

Some of the other reviews on this movie make it seem much worse than it actually is. Someone said that there was a video chat that was down a girls underwear, but in that scene it was a chicken (as a joke)! I agree with a couple others saying that there was really no clear plot, and the main character, Lola, seemed a little driven to be having sex at her age (16, was it?), and a little self-involved at that; there was frequent smoking and drugs, but it wasn't a major point in the movie. I think if you let your child see the movie "Mean Girls" or any other movies in the "Teen" genre this will be fine. It's basically a watered down, much more age-appropriate movie if your child/friend or etc. is dying to see it, or even a movie in the same genre. I believe that most kids around this age will already know about sex, drugs, & etc., from kids in their grade, TV, and other movies-- so if you're worried about this flick, I don't think it should be your biggest fear. I thought the mother was a great role model, and the mother-daughter relationship was one that we should all learn from. Pretty good movie, try it out!

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written bysh14 December 3, 2013

not for kids

when I saw this movie I wasn't proud it has nothing to do with kids even teenagers when I say teens I mean my self to because I'm 15 and I didn't really saw anything good for my age I don't know about adults but no kids or teens I rate this movie for not kids!!!!

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written bymarley15 November 13, 2013

a movie of guidence, a teenage life

i believe that this film is good for teenagers to watch, as it shows the dramas that they will most likely face growing up. parents should also watch this movie as it will prepare them and fill them in on what their teenagers go through.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written bywintergray October 17, 2013

overdramatic opera

this Is good movie that talks about the problems of love, sex ,friendship, family, and drugs, and how they are result ; like for Lola got mad at her mom for reading her diary and later writes a emails explain how sorry she is for being such a handful.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written byKidKnowledge May 30, 2013
Kid, 12 years old May 29, 2013

This is a great movie!

I think this movie is for 13 and over because there is some sex scenes but you see no naked people and its mostly kissing. I have a comment for KYMomof2. She did not show her genitals on camera to an older man. she put her camera inside of a chicken to make it look that way to a TEENAGE BOY. I think it is a mature movie that should be watched with parents.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written bymovie_lover_ May 17, 2013

Good Teen Movie

I think it was a good teen movie, there isn't an excessive amount of anything in it really and although there was underage drinking ect. it wasn't in an influential way. It also had a good message about overcoming how people judge you and stereotypes which is important. Also can be quite relatable for teens.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking

Pages