All teen and kid member reviews for Love Actually

Kids say

(out of 33 reviews)
age 14+
Review this title!
Teen, 16 years old Written bymissmurder19 December 15, 2009

Great movie, but more for young adults...

Love this movie! It is one of my all-time favorites. Just be wary of the sexual situation scenes and the swearing. It is a perfect movie for Christmas (or anytime!), especially for families with older teens. It's just a feel-good movie.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old July 8, 2015

Not too bad...

The movie was a cute christmas movie that kept me entertained. However there are parts where they are filming a porn movie. There are bare breastsshown, and some uncomfortable moving (if you know what I mean) but nothing too severe. I don't particularly think its above the top, because its for more comedic purposes but I think the rest of the movie is PG-13/PG. There is language use, but nothing extreme. I thought it was very positive, and had amazing messages, and I think preteens and teens will enjoy this for years to come!
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 17 years old Written byRobynneHood February 15, 2012

Love Actually is exactly that.

The wonderful thing about this movie is that it shows love in all forms, and it doesn't hold back. For every vignette with a fairy tale ending, there is one with a bittersweet (and sometimes downright depressing) one. I think that it's a beautiful film to share with your older teens. My mother and I watched it last Christmas, when I was 15, and I feel as if I was plenty mature enough to handle the content. Do keep in mind that this movie, while utterly adorable, is Rated R and justly so. Nudity is not very frequent but strong, and we all know how the Brits like their expletives. Know your kids--a mature 13 year old could handle this perfectly, but any younger is probably too young.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written byKathyhermy123 March 20, 2009
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old April 20, 2011

love it

This one of my very favorite movies, everything about it shined and I love the fact that it was about love....in general...love between families and love between couples and love between father and son and just love. I especially liked Thomas Sangster because he was adorable and his accent was so sweet....I loved Colin Firth, and I loved Johanna's singing "All I Want For Christmas..." Her voice is just amazing. I was wowed.Super funny, and yeah sure there was langage, but come on, get real, any ten year old curses already anyway, so quite honestly, it's not gonna scar them for life. And yeah, there was sex, but if you don't like it skip over it. Great movie for 11-up, and to watch with your friends at a Christmas sleepover.
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 15 years old Written byenglishrider4546 April 9, 2008

WHOA!!!!!

WHOA!! Bring out the earmuffs,earplugs, the whole thing!! I don't care what school you go to this movie was one of the dirtiest, foulest, most profane I have ever seen. A couple story lines where good but, at one point there is a point blank shoot of a couple having sex. A man is cheating on his wife. I think parents should really step back and think about their kids and the exposure they've had so far. Sure the language is bad, but kids nowadays have heard far worse. Its the sexual themes and overtones that make me turn on the red lights for this movie. To tell you the truth, I wonder why I was even allowed to watch it.......
Teen, 13 years old Written byoceansapphire December 26, 2011

HIDE YO WIFE, HIDE YO KIDS, AND HIDE YO HUSBAND!

Honestly, this movie had no aspect around it and nothing that was exciting. It had very random parts and was definitely not focusing on a fun holiday theme, more like s-e-x! There was a long, RANDOM sex scene that showed both characters completely nude, obviously from that you know what they were doing! And a lot of unbelievable language use! No good messages! I couldn't even imagine how awkward it must've been for the child actors to see this movie... or were they even allowed to SEE their OWN movie?!?! The only part of this movie I liked was the little kid love story that came every now and then, and the story of the little boy losing his mom. But overall, DO NOT show your kids... and well, title explains it all!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old October 12, 2015
Not appropriate for little ones offensive language and lots of sex one scene when they were having sex [naked]. Great movie but like I said not for little ones if your child is a kid do not show this to them.Though it has zero violence also tons and I mean tons of swearing. So many kisses.
Teen, 15 years old Written bygab.m December 11, 2009
I'm a teenager and love this movie to bits!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 16 years old Written byCharmed_Hood July 5, 2016

Great movie but not for anyone under 14!!!

I think this movie brilliant, perfect for adults at christmas! Its full of laughs but I wouldn't let younger children watch it!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byJean Coates January 12, 2015

Great corny Christmas Movie!!

This movie is great for Christmas! As long as your children are fairly responsible and mature this movie is fine for the family.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old May 24, 2013

Awesome movie!!!

Yeah, it IS LOVE, actually. I love this movie, only seen it once (Well, most of it) with my parents and my sister (13 at the time). Language a problem? My brother (7) swears because of YouTube, I used to swear before i knew the meanings. Sex IS a problem. My dad had to "guide" me and my sister out of the room during the... scenes. And that movie led to awkward chats with them. The positive messages were (to me) that to appreciate your family because the boy lost his mom. SORRY FOR MY ENGLISH!!!
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 16 years old Written byPrincessCharmed797 August 2, 2012

Love Actually

i love this movie.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written bydressagehorse November 15, 2011

Great messages about love

Not really that inappropriate. I enjoyed it at age 12 and I would recommend it!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old March 9, 2011

older tweens and teens

some VERY innapropriate scenes!! good for slumber parties! deserves that R!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old February 24, 2011

Sweet and Inspiring for over 12's.

Amazing movie, inspires everyone about love and is great! Anyone over twelve, minus the language, is perfectly fine, having said that, none of it is never heard at school.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 17 years old Written bymilograamans December 12, 2009

title

Very touching film - and fun to watch :)
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written byTheLittleOne July 4, 2016

Great Christmas movie!

It did never hurt me to watch this at all, not even at the age of ten. It lights the spirit of christmas in you
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 14 years old Written byBuffy Rules April 7, 2016

Review #24 - This has become one of my favourite Christmas movies (next to Elf, Home Alone and The Santa Clause)

STUDIO: Universal | RATING: R ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ In this review, I would like to get a few things clear. But I'll do so in the parental guidance section. Anyway, this film is basically a lot of interconnected stories involving a widowed man, a bitter aging rock-star, a woman in a workplace, two sex-obsessed men, yes, a porn couple and more. It's connected by the theme of love and it connects it in a humorous (sometimes hilarious) and even heartfelt way. -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------PARENTAL GUIDANCE SECTION: Australia has rated this movie M, your heavy PG-13-light R equivalent. But the Motion Picture Association of *America* has rated this movie R, probably edging toward the heavier stuff in that rating. Meanwhile, parents complain because they're gullible and don't seem to look at the rating. R, people. Now this is where I get things clear. Yes, it's true the film does have sexual content, but there's probably worse out there --- it's sexier than Austin Powers and the simulated sex is worse than 21 Jump Street, but I'd say you'll see worse. There's a pornography stand-in couple, but the so-called "sex" scenes (namely where the woman is behind the man thrusting, the man fondles her breasts and where the woman is pretending to perform oral sex on him) are simulated within the film's context as well. The lighting director says "cheat the nipple this way" but the references are never as graphic as that. Meanwhile, there's a scene where shadows in a window indicate that four girls are going to give a man group sex, but nothing is shown. A woman takes off part of her dress and reveals her breasts for one or two minutes as a man kisses her. I'll also mention Emma Thompson says a hilarious but risque line about Barbie dolls: "Do I pick the one that looks like a transvestite or a dominatrix?" There's also kissing, children make fun of a painting with nude buttocks, and finally during the simulated sex scenes, the porn couple have a normal conversation, and it's quite funny. I should mention there's zero violence (unless you count someone stumbling into a pool by complete accident), very little of Rowan Atkinson (sorry), a few drug references (talking about a boy - "He'll be injecting heroin in his eyeballs", and the rock star says - "Kids, don't buy drugs. If you're a pop-star, they give them to you for free!") and a small amount of language --- I counted a dozen F bombs throughout a couple hours, but think of it this way --- The King's Speech (what seems like and probably is a harmless movie that should have been PG or PG-13, for Australians it was the PG-13 equivaqlent M), has the same amount in one scene. It's harmless. Terminator 2 has 16 F words. The Heat has 158 F words. 21 Jump Street has 123 F words. 22 Jump Street has 200 F words. Anyway, back to Love Actually, the language actually seems quite tame for an R rating. American and British profanities abound here --- "F**k", "s**t", "w*nk", "*rsehole", "f**king" (I don't think it was ever used in sexual context) but absolutely no, zero use of "motherf**ker" or the C bomb in sight. Also I recall some other PG-13 words were used, but the dozen F bombs in it are tame for an R rating, trust me. If not for the sex and nudity here, I would rate it PG-13 (although I couldn't choose which two F words were the funniest). In Australia, it's classified a heavy PG-13-light R equivalent, M, where The King's Speech, Love Actually, Austin Powers, The Dark Knight, 12 Monkeys and X-Men make it, for example --- for Australian ratings, www.classification.gov.au. For American ratings, www.filmratings.com. The film is not for anyone under 13 however. ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------This film is heartwarming in all the best ways --- one gag at the beginning is hilarious in the way the band play The Beatles' "All You Need Is Love" at a wedding. There's similarly British humour --- the term "sh*g" is used --- but the whole film is relatable to anyone who's ever been in love or had a crush. I would say this film, contrary to the statement in the parents' guide above, had its R rating as a blessing. They could cut the porn subplot and cut Laura Linney's breasts and about 10 F bombs and get a PG-13, but the R rating is a blessing here, because the language is never really gratuitous. Especially at the beginning when that woman says "sh*t" (PG-13 word) and then apologises, the President says "You could have said f**k and we'd all be in trouble." She says during her next sentence "I was afraid I'd f**ked this up..." and there's other great uses of this word. The PG-13 rating, as I said, would have to cut the porn subplot (I wonder, would the film's message be intact without it?) and replace 10 F words with "scr*w" or "fr*ck*ng". The talent on board is amazing --- Liam Neeson from "Taken" (well, his wife's life here is taken really early on), Alan Rickman from "Harry Potter" and "Die Hard" (R.I.P. Alan), Laura Linney from "The Big C", Emma Thompson from "Nanny McPhee" and even somewhat in "Harry Potter", not to mention Bill Nighy ("Pirates of the Caribbean"), Hugh Grant ("About a Boy", "Notting Hill", "Four Weddings and a Funeral"), Colin Firth ("The King's Speech"), Martin Freeman ("The Hobbit", the brilliant "Sherlock"), Keira Knightley (also "Pirates of the Caribbean"), Marline McCutcheon (not sure where), Kris Marshall (underrated British murder mystery show "Death in Paradise") and even a small dose of Rowan Atkinson ("Mr Bean", "Johnny English"). But people have got it wrong. It's NOT all about sex, some parents are just whiny, conservative prudes. Save this for teens, but DON'T ignore the R rating. The negative reviews come from ignorant parents. It's like those saying someone aged 10 can't play "Halo". Watch, love and thankyou for reading.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byPoppy.bath March 25, 2016

love love love this movie!!!!

yes there's plenty of sex, yes it's rated R but I absolutely loved this movie!!!! so sweet and heart warming and cute!!!!!!!!! i actually watched it on christmas day with my sister and our parents!!! I think its one of my all time favourites movies ever! there is nudity and sex and drinking and all that jazz but overall, amazing!!!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking

Pages