All teen and kid member reviews for Marie Antoinette

Kids say

(out of 16 reviews)
age 12+
Review this title!
Teen, 14 years old Written bybookworm123 April 9, 2008

History with a refreshing twist

"Marie Antoinette" was a great movie! Sure, there were a couple of "iffy" scenes and a lot of champagne, but people should go deeper. Everything was great, except that the camera focused "too much on each scene" (especially carriage rides and less important scenes) and the ending felt cut off. But, I loved the way that "modern" music was tied in with scenes, like where at a ball the guests seemed to be waltzing to the music of our times. I couldn't believe it when some senior citizens were criticizing the movie and, translated into teen language, called it "a bore fest". I DON'T CARE WHAT THEY THINK; IT WAS AN OUTSTANDING MOVIE. BUT, BEWARE: IT DOESN'T HAVE MUCH OF A PLOT BECAUSE HISTORY DOESN'T HAVE A PLANNED OUT PLOT LINE, NO MATTER WHAT PEOPLE SAY. IF YOU DON'T LIKE THE MOVIE FOR HISTORY'S SAKE, AT LEAST TAKE INTO ACCOUNT THE INTRICATE CLOTHING AND THE SCENERY. THIS MOVIE IS HISTORY WITH A REFRESHING TWIST FROM THE MUSTY, OLD TEXTBOOKS WE HAVE TO READ OUT OF. WHO SAYS LEARNING CAN'T BE FUN! IT'S WORTH IT TO SEE THIS MOVIE!
Teen, 13 years old Written byhippochick7 April 9, 2008
I'm a big fan of her's (marie antoinette) and I loved this movie! There is only like 1 nude scene, well 3 if you count scenes were she's naked but you can't see any thing. There is kinda a sexual thing where they talk about her and her husband having children and the her and her lover are shown... and when her brother talks to her husband about how sex is like putting a sword in it's case thing, but he used the right word but i can't remember it. over all there isn't much sex and it's not as big a deal as people make it out to be, as parts or the movie would not make sense without it. Amazing movie!!!!
Teen, 16 years old Written byChocolatchipcookie August 27, 2009

Love this

This is one of my favorites its a fantastic movie. the sexual stuff is brief and not that bad. she is naked but you dont see anything so not to much to worry about. the only thing missing from the movie was the part when they chopped off her head but its still good without it.
Teen, 14 years old Written byGuard Girl June 19, 2011

must see

wonderful it tells the tail of a Habsburg girl living large and illinformed in thelife of the french court. this is grate for informing(though not knowing) your childer and even your self on the awesome world of Maria Antonia Josephina Johanna (pluss they have bow wow wow and who cant turn THAT down?)
Teen, 15 years old Written bywho3697cares January 28, 2009
Much better than many critics claim it to be.
Kid, 11 years old July 8, 2013

wont appeal to kids

Marie Antoinette focuses on some mature topics for instance it is mainly about marie the teen queen who is having trouble taking on the stress of being a queen at just 19 and frankly it's just boring
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byNirvana Girl March 21, 2011

Loved it, but...

I really loved this movie. It was Perfect for me because I'm a history buff and all. Just they had put a little too much sex in it though. I understand that it was an important part of the film but, you know, maybe instead of it being shown, it could have been implied.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 15 years old Written bybubbo April 9, 2008

Pretty Good

I was surprised to have liked this movie! It gets a bit slow in spots, but overall is very good, and one of the most beautiful-looking films I have watched.
Teen, 13 years old Written bymoveeluvvr666 April 9, 2008
Teen, 14 years old Written byNonsensical April 9, 2008

great movie cute shoes

great movie she had such cute shoes great for teen girls some sex and lots of references main portion of story some cheating etc. but overall super good
Teen, 13 years old Written bygracie105 April 9, 2008

awsome

luv this movie total chick flick some sexual issues but over all very good
Kid, 10 years old May 27, 2016

A little mature but Fun!!

I think this movie was very inspirational and funny. Some parts are (a little) inappropriate but this movie is very educational. During the whole entire movie I was looking up facts and and questioning my mom. One thing that I thought was that they could have gotten a different or younger actress for Marie Antoinette when she was young and just getting married to her husband when she was 14. This movie is fun and educational, but when a bad part comes just have the kids cover there eyes. Also I does not include her death so that is good for innocent eyes.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old July 6, 2014

OFF WITH HER HEAD!!!

Marie Antoinette is a good movie but I would watch it when your older so you can understand whats happening. I think 12 years old is a good age to watch it but watch it with a adult.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Teen, 14 years old Written byWildChild30793 April 9, 2008

loved it

I loved it
Teen, 17 years old Written byGorgousxxx April 9, 2008

The Ending Disapointed

I loved this movie. I cant wait til i get it on DVD. But in a scene this movie was ruined by its horrible ending. I felt it came to a hult. I would have loved to see the truth of what hapened next. Marie Antoinette was beheaded, although that may have been graphic, i do fell the movie should have gotten to that part, i know many people were expecting this. But if the ending proved the way i planned, i would have no doubt given this 5 stars. And Kirsten Dunst was amazing.
Teen, 15 years old Written bymaygen1441 April 9, 2008

A big Disapointment

THis movie was one of the worst I have ever seen. I was very disapointed in Kirsten Dunst especially. it was a awful inpercination of Marie Antoinette. A big waste of your time!!!