All parent member reviews for Paranormal Activity 2

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Parents say

(out of 19 reviews)
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Adult Written byrocckefler October 27, 2010
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Comon people let your kids grow up

I am sick of people bad mothing these kind of movies. different children have different maturity levels and it is not fair to use a website like this to judge your parenting skills. Even if a movie is too scarry for thair teenagers. they will see one and not want to see another again. protecting your teenagers from fear and violence does more damage then help. LET THEM EXPERIANCE IT FOR THEMSELVES! a film like this has no violence or mind crippling themes. It is just a thrill ride for fun
Adult Written byCubwired October 23, 2010
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
My 13 year old son saw it last night. Worst decision I have made! He couldnt sleep at all last night..actually ended up in my bed.....which doesn't happen....not a good movie for anyone
Adult Written byAmericanplaya217 July 24, 2013
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

better then the rest

The movie is violent and terrifying, some blood. Graphic Language throughout. The movie is the best one in the p.a. series.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Parent Written bytreat02 February 18, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

prob not scary

this is prob not gonna be scary.
Parent Written byRobbyWBoy16 January 3, 2012
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

PA2

worse than the first, little more freaky than firts
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Adult Written byJmR x September 24, 2011
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

SCARY for the younger audience

This film is SCARY but pretty good, you dont want kids having nightmares after this so try not letting kids under 15 watching it...
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Parent Written bydiggernick1 July 28, 2011
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Best family movie EVER!

my daughter and son both loved it I got their whole room theme on paranormal they are both 4 yrs old
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written byashbudgie1 June 25, 2011
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Not a bad sequel.

It's very much like the first "Paranormal Activity", only with a family. *spoilers* A dog gets injured and at least one person dies graphically on screen. It's not for kids or the faint-of-heart, but as a horror movie, it's not disgusting or brutal. If you liked the first one, you will probably enjoy this one too.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Parent of a 17 year old Written byMr. K November 9, 2010
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
Extremely predictable but very scary leaving you in anticipation for more. Loved the ride
Adult Written byEvanReviews November 8, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Terrifying Movie, But For An Older Audience

Great movie but has some language and sexual innuendo in some scenes
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent Written byPlague November 1, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Paranormal Activity 2

Very jumpy and creepy, but at the same time, intelligent and really does a good job intertwining the original movie into the film's plot.
Adult Written by2Simple October 30, 2010
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Scarier than the first!

Remember - scarier does not always equal "better". The original was better, I think, because the characters were more believable and the idea was novel. This sequel has more scares and jump moments, but you don't really care much about the family. The dog and the baby are the only ones you actually root for. This is not a movie for kids under 15, so don't even think about taking them unless you want them to have some really bad nightmares. The violence is freaky, although mostly implied rather than shown (but not always), and the language is bad, but not as raunchy as in the first movie. A couple discusses having sex in the bathtub, but it isn't shown and little kids won't understand the references anyway. All in all, great movie to see if you like horror, and especially if your teenager likes horror. It's not as gruesome or nasty as many horror movies out there, so give it a try!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Parent of a 12 year old Written byjkks76 October 29, 2010
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
Be careful - at first glance it might seem benign as the "horror" is mostly psychological. But even if your kids are desensitized to violence somewhat it will likely give them nightmares, even as young teens. I didn't find it very scary, even somewhat funny, but when I spent a few minutes in an empty house afterward I heard every creak in my old house and my heart was beating really hard. My 7th grader is definitely not ready, I can't imagine most would be!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent of a 14 year old Written byTheGman447 October 26, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

GREAAT FOR LITTLE KIDS

Funny, everybody thinks this movie is so scary, this movie is just as stupid as the original, NO storyline, no jumpy parts, short and stupid, WORST MOVIE EVER
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Adult Written byTom_Gamer_Tom October 26, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Anyone who thinks this is scary, Is an utter wimp.

This movie is supposed to play on your mind, Scare you as such. I do not like horror movies normally, but I have to say. I have found Tweenies episodes more scary than this film. You basically watch about 2 hours of a room and hearing moaning and screaming. Maybe if someone got disemboweled it would be a little scarier. Pathetic.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Parent of a 17 year old Written byjianan4115 October 24, 2010
AGE
17
QUALITY
 
I'm afraid the kids will read the shadow dofus kamas cheap
Adult Written bykhan2705 October 24, 2010
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Best Horror Movie of this year.

If you didn't like the first film, just skip this sequel. It's more of the same in terms of structure and style. However, if you liked the first film, you'll definitely enjoy this. I thought the storyline was rather clever in that it ties in with PA. Overall, even though this isn't as scary as PA, PA2 should be an example of how to make a proper sequel to a great first film which stays true to the original's overall tone. And considering the fact that we are familiar of the set up before, PA2 still has its own share of effective scares. Now that's an accomplishment. Paranormal Activity is one of those rare gems where you love it or you hate it. Most audiences don't like to sit through what they like to call nothing when the film is genuinely trying to build up to tension, to get to know the characters before plummeting them against the unknown. I really like the establishing of the characters where we get to know Christi, Hunter, Ali and heck, even the dog. The premise is simple: A family related to Katie in the first film moves into a house, has a baby, and everything seems to be like one big happy family. Then one day they find that their house is in shambles. Naturally, they want to discover why so a surveillance system is set up to monitor the house. What they discover is that there is something beyond a simple break-in and their lives, especially their baby, could be in jeopardy. 'Paranormal Activity 2' is so scary and chilling; if you don't scream out loud at least twice, there is something wrong with you. Not only is it much scarier than the first, it transitions the two films perfectly. You leave with an understanding of both movies, and the jump-out-of-your-seat moments in this film surpasses the first. i loved it, Must watch.
Parent of a 17 year old Written byCarolineAnne13 October 19, 2010
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

There is an R rating for a reason.. 17 and up is just fine

I think that most people reviewing this film are assuming that the normal parent is taking their preteen to see this movie. Yes, there is some language, but no worse than what a sixth grader can hear on the bus on the way to school. It is not for the faint of heart, but compare to the SAW movies or the good old 'Freddy and Jason', this scary movie shows very tame blood and gore, with no actual visible menace present.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Adult Written bykrisma October 19, 2010
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

NO WAY

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing