Parent reviews for Red Sparrow

Common Sense says

Graphic violence, sex in dull Jennifer Lawrence thriller.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 17+
Based on 28 reviews

Kids say

age 16+
Based on 9 reviews
Parent of a 9-year-old Written byshellie C. March 6, 2018

XXX....and beyond! IT is "soft" porn!

I should have waited for all the reviews to come out before heading to the theater! Usually I don't see movies right when they come out! I took a risk and paid for it...

I won't give this an age. It is so inappropriate!!! I am an adult and can barely process what I just witnessed. It should be rated X. It shows both female and male parts throughout the film. It is aggressive sexual content and promotes using your body as a tool to get the information you want. There are several "almost" rape scenes, images of porn, violent sex scenes along with horrific death scenes. BEWARE-one particular scene has skin grating in it. Ye you read that right. They grate the persons skin nd show the skin dangling from the grater. There are images I can NOT get out of my head. Just save your mind-soul and heart and DON'T SEE IT!

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byNick G. March 3, 2018

Scarred forever...

For someone who was raised to always look at ratings, this one showed a clear lack of judgement. The MA+ is a load of bull crap. You should be way over 15 to view outright torture and pornography on the big screen. I mean, if you like seeing rape and skin shaving and sexual power play, well... see someone, don’t see this movie. It is degrading to the minds of society. I went and saw this with my mother, and our whole week has been destroyed by the lack of judgement that went into this film.

Protect yourselves and most importantly, for the love of all that’s holy in this world, do not take your children.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Adult Written byTina O. March 12, 2018

Too much sexual assault, not enough storyline

Worst movie I've ever seen. After 30 minutes, I walked out. Sexual assault, innuendo, frontal male/female nudity - none of that was needed for a good story. But since this story was so dull, they decided to dress it up with shock value (rape) and sexual situations. Don't even bother..
Adult Written byScott A. March 8, 2018

Save your money

Concentrated entirely way to much with sexually charged innuendos. Below par disappointing acting from the female actress. (Main actress). And overall left completely dissatisfied. Received a refund from AMC theater. Children under 18 SHOULD NOT be allowed to watch.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byCommon S. March 11, 2018

Just an an awful movie

Please do not go to this movie. Jennifer Lawrence has hit a new low, in a film obviously funded by the tobacco industry, cheap nudity and pathetic sex scenes, and violence sequences depicting torture that are disturbing. It is pathetic to see Ms. Lawrence making a film that fulfills the historical positioning of women in Hollywood.. Try making a film that empowers women instead of this garbage.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Adult Written byJames Hedrick July 27, 2020

Espiange Thriller at it's Best.......Just know what your getting into.

Based on the novel by CIA veteran Jason Matthews, Red Sparrow is among the best espionage/thriller films I have ever seen. Based on real people/assignments from Matthew's career, this is one of the most accurate and honest spy stories you can find. The story is brilliant, fast paced and adrenaline charged. Acting performances from Jennifer Lawrence and Joel Edgerton are Academy Award worthy. I thoroughly enjoyed this film and recommended it, as well as the book. That said I further recommend that you know, as Dominika did not, what you are getting into with this one. The violence, especially sexual violence is harrowing and pervasive and there is copious nudity and adult content to be had. The torture scenes are also quite disturbing. Simply put, this film is exclusively for an adult audience. However I do not think this film gets enough credit for positive representations. Dominika is a strong and intelligent woman and a good, dare I say feminist, role model for women when it comes to many admirably qualities of intelligence and perseverance. Nate Nash is a good man and his love for Dominika is admirable and refreshing, considering all the sexual violence going around. It was good to see Dominika loved by a man who did not abuse her and whose caring was genuine. In closing, I quote Jennifer Lawrence who defended the film saying she found it personally empowering but stating clearly, "If you don't like boobs you should not go see Red Sparrow." While I can't imagine anyone who doesn't appreciate a beautiful woman, she makes a good point. I am often frankly amused by the shocked reactions to violence and sex depicted in film. Reviews and ratings are available for potential audiences to know what they are getting into. Make use of them and use judgment about what you can handle. If it's not for you, spare us your horrified reviews after watching a film you should have skipped.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Adult Written bycxalex October 22, 2019

It was a good movie with a twist at the end. Not for children.

Adult Written byMaitreya October 7, 2019

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Parent of a 15-year-old Written byLeofilmer June 29, 2019

An extremely violent and sexual movie.

This film is very different from the other thrillers. Very good but not for kids and teens.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Adult Written bywcorless December 8, 2018

Graphic sexual violence

Started watching this as an in flight movie and had to stop after graphic sexual violence! Can’t imagine what the uncut version would be like! The theme wasn’t even developed before the main character
(played by Jennifer Lawrence) is explicitly raped and suffered another attempted rape. That was after she herself violently attacked another couple when they were having sex! Another character is subjected to a non consensual sexual act at the Russian Spy training school. That was within the first 30 minutes or so then I was unable to continue watching and find out if any real storey or plot was going to develop! At a time when people are complaining about “ Baby It’s Cold Outside” being inappropriate, why are they silent about this movie? One could become desensitized to non consensual violent sexual acts against women watching this. Women seemed to particularly demeaned as they surrendered their autonomy to the state and those in more powerful positions. Don’t bother and encourage others not to watch.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Adult Written byVix1 September 15, 2018

Awful and uncomfortable.

I honestly cannot believe this is a certified 15 film, it’s basically porn. It along with the violence and misery it was incredibly uncomfortable to watch we turned off after about half an hour. Please DO NOT let your 15 year olds watch this. Looking forward to sitting down and relaxing after working all week to watch a spy thriller as advertised and to be honest it ruined our night.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Adult Written byZeZ000 June 19, 2018
Adult Written byJme T. June 12, 2018

Excellent movie

So yes this movie is very sexual in nature and certainly not for kids but I personally thought it was a fantastic, witty, nail biting, psychological thriller that had me hooked from start to finish! I absolutely loved the way everything pieced together in the end and how freakin clever Dominika was throughout the movie.. While alot of people talked about it being berating towards women, I think JL's character handled herself very well in several situations that I thought really empowered her. A must see for sure and gets better the more you watch it. I would say though, if you have a weak stomach or are sensitive to nudity, this movie isn't for you....even if you were to fast forward through the graphic torture and/or sex scenes, you'd miss the entire film!! I'm gonna go watch it again!
Adult Written byEllenYesEllen June 7, 2018

Rape Sparrow

There is a rape scene, an attempted rape scene, a girl pressured to give oral sex to a male stranger, a young woman pressured to have sex against her will in a classroom (although the male decides not to) and she strips down to full nudity, and numerous times when women are treated like "whores" (word from movie) for the good of their country. The male nudity referred to by the reviewer is very brief and pales in comparison to all the female nudity. This movie is very much written from a patriarchal male perspective and reflects that at almost every turn. Jennifer Lawrence's character does persevere to a degree but she and other women have been so degraded in the process it is not a worthwhile story.
Adult Written byBrian M. June 1, 2018

Bunk

Was looking forward to a good action spy flick. Didn’t realize it was neither. Slow, boring plot and crude violence tanked this soft porn for me

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Adult Written byDaniela V. March 24, 2018

i loved it

i genuinely enjoyed this movie, the quality and scenery were spectacular. The acting and the connection you feel with the characters are there. everything has its purpose in this film and it keeps you thinking. Even though there are moments of abuse and rape, it was gruesome. The situations she was put in weren't easy following the scene hard to watch but it was well done.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Adult Written byAlex K. March 12, 2018

Great movie!!!

I just saw this movie at the theatre a couple weeks ago and I was blown away. It's a wonderfully directed "slow burn" type of spy movie. Jennifer Lawrence is phonomenal as the lead in this film full of twists and turns. Although there were a couple of suggestive scenes I found the content to be fine for most audiences. The nudity in the movie is artsy, well done and empowers Jennifer Lawrence. There are a couple of F words in the movie that are necessary and help you immerse yourself in the story. A warning to parents I WOULD NOT let anyone under 12 watch this movie. It might be a bit much for them with the torture scene and what not. Overall a fantastic film and a very good look at the not so nice side of a government.
Adult Written byTornadosplash44 March 11, 2018

Interesting Jennifer Lawrence spy thriller with lots of violence and sex

Red Sparrow was a pretty good film! It was definitely above average for me. I loved the acting, especially Jennifer Lawrence. The storyline was good, and it had a lot of twists. I wish that it could've been a little shorter though. However, the film contains plenty of language throughout. This involves uses of f**k, s**t, c**t, and more. In addition, the film contains plenty of sexual content and nudity. This involves several graphic sex scenes, along with bare breasts, naked backsides, plus brief male and female full frontal nudity. Also, the film contains plenty of strong violence throughout. The violence is very brutal and graphic, and isn't for the faint of heart. This involves brutal fights including shootings, rape, stabbings, torture, graphic injuries, bloody wounds, and much more. Overall, this is a great spy film, but is best for adults only.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Adult Written byIan E. March 11, 2018

Well...

This is a film that has some interesting subtopics, but is mainly about sex. Because of this, there is lots of FULL FRONTAL nudity, tons of the F word, and lots of other heavy mature material. This movie is not okay for children.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Adult Written byKerry D. March 7, 2018

Awful and too rude!!

This film should absolutely not be a 15+ at all it is very graphic in violence and sex and it’s awful story line makes it worst ! Parents do not let your kids see this film at all

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking

Pages