Kid reviews for Red Sparrow

Common Sense says

Graphic violence, sex in dull Jennifer Lawrence thriller.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 17+
Based on 28 reviews

Kids say

age 16+
Based on 9 reviews
Teen, 17 years old Written bytheodora.moore March 11, 2018

Okay, yes it has nudity and sex, but that's not what it's ABOUT

Alright, I understand the parental reviews because, yes, there was quite a bit of nudity and sex in the film. There was a scene with an (unaroused) man full frontal naked, but no vaginas so there was that. The thing is, there were a grand total of two sex scenes with Jennifer Lawrence in which it was really, truly consensual sex. The only other consensual sex scene was two people in a shower but that... didn't go well. To me, as a 17 year old whose parents let me go, mind you, the movie wasn't about sex or "sexy times," it was about the horrors of a communistic and corrupt government and what individuals are capable of doing to not only survive, but to work toward change. I came to the movie both because I'm in love with Jennifer Lawrence and because I wanted to watch a movie about spies and the like. Honestly, I didn't expect for the movie to go as well as it did when I noticed the reviews. The official reviews on this site focused way too much on the sexual parts of the movie, rather than the strong female lead who wasn't emotionally closed off or falling all over herself to be with The Strong Man. This film was about a woman willing to do whatever it took to keep her mother and herself safe, and risking it all to try to help change the future of her country from the inside (despite my desperately wanting her to turn tail and run to America). Oh, and another amazing thing was that Nick (the male lead-ish) was not a Cold Strong Hero Man, he was soft and emotionally vulnerable, but still strong and great at his job.

Overall, it was a great movie about the strength of people and the way they can undergo anything if they have something to believe in.

(Also, this is my first review on this site and I honestly am really irritated that adults get the just generic "it has sex" options below the review box and I get "too much sex." I was planning on including the options saying sex, drinking, swearing, violence, etc, but since they're phrased in a way that makes me out to be a helpless child, I'm protesting them.)

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written byFantastagurl February 9, 2020

VERY DISAPPOINTING !

spy movies are supposed to be captivating and thrilling. This was pure disappointment. It was very long and boring, with one occasional smart thing. Also, this movie is for mature audiences only!!!!!!!

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byia3 August 14, 2019

Graphic, yet not too extreme.

Red Sparrow has no boundaries. Although, that doesn’t take away from the fact that it is a great movie. It has nudity, language and violence, and it isn’t for the lighthearted. I think 16+ is pretty accurate.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Teen, 14 years old Written byboiboing January 7, 2019

Inappropriate, yes. Eye-gougingly Inappropriate, NO.

Stereotypical. Generally formulaic. Disturbing if you do not know what you're going to watch. Which I wasn't so I had to cover my eyes for a bit. But I think an adult would appreciate it,if that's the movie type they prefer.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Teen, 14 years old Written byCharlotte. S January 3, 2019

So...

The film does have A fair amount of graphic content ☆SPOILER☆one man gets some if his skin shaved. It has A lot of sexual reference too ☆SPOILER☆one girl ALMOST gets raped, there is some pornagraphic footage shown on a computer and other sex references including nudity . But despite all of this you can understand how this managed to pass as a 15. When you watch it you will be completely against the 15 rating however when you think it's going to get really bad or step over the mark-it doesn't. In the whole film there isn't that much actual inhumane content, you just Think there will but for example ☆SPOILER☆ a girl is about to get raped but at the last minute someone shoots him and she's saved. As for good messages the lead is shown as a smart independant woman who is saving her mother.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Teen, 15 years old Written byJack321 March 22, 2018

Red sparrow

It’s ok not the best but definitely not for younger that 16
Strong sex includes 2 rape scenes sex scenes full frontal
Male nudity female Breasts shown many times and loads
More nudity and language including f**k said many times
And sh*t bitch c**t c*ck and t*ts

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written bykingsebby1057 March 9, 2018

Red Sparrow is a tantalizing spy thriller that will keep you guessing till the very end with a satisfying ending

Red Sparrow definitely earns it's hard R rating parents should not even consider letting there kid under the age of 14 seeing this movie and the plot may be way to mature for children or young teens to get a grasp on. Myself being close to 16 just saw this with my younger brother ans it made me cringe with him near me do to some the content including completely nude men and women and the main plot of the movie having to be about sex and violence and torture so parents do not let your kids see this instead see it with your older teens and have a fun night out

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Teen, 13 years old Written byHarkalmanbru March 5, 2018

NOT A KIDS OR TEENS MOVE SHOULD BE NC-17

THIS HAS EXTREME GRAPHIC NUDITY ANF EXTREME GRAPHIC VIOLENCE. AND A MAN TRIES TO RAPE THE GIRL. NO CONSEQUENCES ARE SHOWN. THIS SHOULD BE NC-17. THIS IS FOR AT LEAST A VERY MATURE 15 AND UP NO DOUBT. ALSO DEALS WITH INTENSE SEXUAL SITUATIONS AND ADULT CONTENT. ALSO WAY TOO MUCH ADULT LANGUAGE IS USED. AND A LOT OF DRUGS ARE USED TO EASE PAIN EMOTIONALLY. NO POSITIVE MESSAGES ARE SHOWN. Sorry for all caps.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byAceZach February 28, 2018

Mediocore, boring

Anyone who wants to see an R rated, hunger games, or black widow movie you won't get that here. This movie is obviously from the trailers going to be over sexualised and violent, but even with the premise and actors the movie is dull, very slow, and boring. Some scenes are interesting but if you want to really see this it can wait until rental.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff