All parent member reviews for Rock of Ages

Parents say

(out of 27 reviews)
age 17+
Review this title!
Parent Written byTiberius01 June 16, 2012

NOT a movie for children

I'm surprised and disapointed at how common sense reviewed this movie. There are so many foul and distasteful sex scenes and inuendos that it should have been R and not PG-13. Children should not see this movie. My husband and I left a little over halfway through the movie and we weren't the only ones. There was adulterous kinky sex, mock masturbation, mock oral sex, group sex (shows the before or aftermath), sex on pool table, grabbing breasts, many instances of vulgar gestures or comments. There was something in every scene. I couldn't believe it. I don't know why a parent's review on here would be positive about the movie. I wouldn't let my 18 year old niece go, let alone a 13 year old! OH! And all of the stuff I listed are only the parts I watched. I had my eyes closed half the time and just tried to enjoy the 80's music, but everytime I opened them I would see something just awful again. If you hold a pretty descent standard for your child I know you won't want them to see this. Unfortunately, it's attractive because of all the hype that comes from having so many known actors and being able to walk down memory lane with some of your favorite 80's songs. It's not worth it! Just listen to some music on your itunes.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Adult Written by500090 June 17, 2012

Not for kids

This is not for kids. I'm not conservative at all, and I have no problem with the movie, but I can guarantee you, you will cringe if you watch this with your child of any age. Super suggestive sex scenes that pretty much act out oral sex, and many other acts. Even my 13 yr old said "this isn't for me".
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written bythreeisenough June 26, 2012

18 and up minimum. Fun, but completely obscene.

I can't believe Common Sense reviewed this as ok for any children. It absolutely is not. Disturbing are the number of children reviewing this who seem to think it's fine. Language is bad enough, but the sex is as explicit as it can get without actual genitalia giving a movie an X or NC17 rating. I have no idea how this movie managed a PG13 rating. Hilarious and fun. Sure, but for adults only. Any one of at least 6 or 7 scenes in this movie should have gotten it an R rating, much less all of them. Common sense needs to have more apparently. Thank God I went to IMDB parent advisory for details before I brought my 13 year old and her friend. The great thing about IMDB parent advisory is they give you objective information detail by detail so you can make your own choice, rather than a paragraph saying it's "fun and campy with language." If I had trusted that, I would have been even more upset than I am now.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 1 year old Written byMbenz1962 September 20, 2013

Awesome music, some suggestive scenes, and some skin.

Great music, but some scenes and the theme are not appropriate for younger teens. All "sex" scenes are clothes on, but they would definitely be uncomfortable to watch with younger teens. The vocal performances from the star studded cast really make the movie. This is definitely "not your parent's musical".
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 11 and 14 year old Written byawheck July 8, 2012

Not something I'd want my 16 year old to see.

Saw the Broadway play and enjoyed it. The movie differed greatly in plot as well as appropriateness. When the consummation of a relationship between Alec Baldwin and Russell Brand is the most wholesome thing about a movie, it is not for kids. And it was just plain bad.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byJohnem95 April 26, 2013

Amazed that it wasn't given an R rating

Rock Of Ages is a movie that will appeal to most teenagers in love with rock music. They will notice many of the classic rock hits sung by not the original performers, but by celebrity actors (including Tom Cruise), and all of the actors make the songs their own, while still sounding a lot like the original versions, so expect your rock-obsessed teen to be asking you to give this one a rent. But although this film is packed with rock anthems, it also is packed with a shocking amount of out-of-control sexual situations. For instance, Tom Cruise's character, Stacee Jaxx is a rock star who is either performing on stage, having sex with a random woman, or drinking booze backstage. Stacee several times is seen groping various women's breasts. Several scenes suggest sex taking place while at least two scenes in particular push the PG-13 rating, but probably survived an R-rating due to no full-on nudity. The main female character becomes a pole dancer at one point. Language isn't constant, but it does include one f-bomb, and various common swear words. One middle finger is flashed at another person. Rock Of Ages is a fun tribute to rock music, but does include a surprising amount of suggested, crude sexuality that pushes the PG-13 mark so much to a point where it should have been given an R rating. It's alright for older teens, but the sexual content is too much for younger teens.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byAreYouKiddingMe April 20, 2013

Not for kids or families

I read review of stars in the top corner that led me to believe this would be okay for a 14 year old. I highly disagree!!! Should have read the parent's reviews. The whole movie takes place in a bar or strip club. The movie is full of half naked women - throwing themselves all over men, in a strip club, and in very provocative positions in scantily clad clothing. -- legs spread and mens faces in their groins.. lots of groin shots of both men and women. I wouldn't recommend it. There of course, is a lot of drinking in this show. Some cussing and the word penis is used multiple times. The music is good... can't think of any reason a child needs too or should see this movie.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Educator and Parent Written bymom from nj July 4, 2012

crotch shots galore--not for kids or teens

The movie was tacky and poor. Should have been R. Sad to see that the ratings team thinks it is appropriate for kids to be bombarded with on screen crotch shots, pole dancing hookers and drinking girls. Really wonder what the politics were on getting this a PG-13. Seems to have a real porno sensibility that just ain't for anyone especially teens.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byKellma July 3, 2012

Sex, drugs and rock and roll = no kids

This is definitely not a movie for kids and I think should have been rated R. The sexuality is more implied or "theatrical" but it is there and constant, that coupled with the 80s references, makes this movie to be for the demographic of parents than kids on all levels. Common Sense definitely got this one wrong.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 16 and 18+ year old Written byLOVE 80's June 25, 2012

Worst movie I have ever seen and NOT for kids! Suggestive and disturbing!

Worst movie I have EVER seen! Took my 16 year old daughter and was so embarrassed for her. Lots of VERY suggestive sexual scenes even though they keep their clothes on. The movie includes strip clubs, church with a spanking scene, gross tongue kisses, gay romance, and just over all disturbing suggestive dancing! I am surprised that Common Sense is not giving more of a warning to parents! To top it off the singing and acting was terrible and the story line just as bad! I wanted my money back after seeing this movie and think they should pay ME for my wasted time! Stay away! TERRIBLE!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byDan G. October 12, 2012

If you want your children to develop sound sexual morals, do not let them see this movie.

This movie is NOT for children under the age of 18. The film contains a negative treatment of religion, misguided values -- including a frivolous view of homosexuality, acceptance of premarital sex and a comic portrayal of aberrant sexual behavior -- rear and partial nudity, a couple of uses of profanity, and some crude and crass language.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 12 and 15 year old Written byhanlon July 20, 2012

PG-13 -- Are you kidding me???

It is movies like this that make me not trust the PG-13 rating at all. WOW. You can read the description of the movie in the other comments posted. Music was good and it was kind of a fun movie-- BUT I absolutely would not take a 13 year old -- and not even my 15 year old. (I guess I can't say no when they are 18!) The rating is a joke. Very surprised by the age suggestion on Common Sense Media. What's the point of showing this to our teens???
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byShivom Oza June 16, 2012

Rock Of Ages (2012) – Nothin’ But A Good Time - Shivom Oza

‘Rock of Ages’ is a story of two aspiring singers and two club owners chasing their dreams in the glitzy city of Los Angeles circa 1987. How their lives adulterated by the ‘rock n roll’ lifestyle at Hollywood, reach their nadir and faces an upsurge owing to the presence of an eccentric rocker, forms the crux of the film. An adaptation of the successful Broadway musical, the film revolves around the lives of two aspiring singers Drew (Diego Boneta) and Sherrie (Julianne Hough) dreaming of becoming famous rock stars and slug it out as helps in one of the most popular clubs of Los Angeles, The Bourbon on the Sunset Strip. The owner Dennis Dupree (Alec Baldwin) and his partner Lonny (Russell Brand) slug it out to save the club from being destroyed by the mayor Mike Whitmore (Bryan Cranston) and his trophy wife doubling up as a social activist, Patricia (Catherine Zeta Jones). The duo at the club scores a gig with the legendary Stacee Jaxx (Tom Cruise). How all of their lives entwine and as a result undergo unprecedented changes, forms the crux of this 2 hour 20 minute musical extravaganza. The film boasts of an impressive line-up. Diego Boneta charms in his role of a bartender growing up the ranks to be a rock star. Opposite him is the 20-something girl from Oklahoma, played by Julianne Hough, who ends up at a stripper club instead of being an aspiring singer. The actress shows flashes of brilliance in this challenging role, lip-syncing, romancing and emoting impeccably. Russell Brand is at his comical best and his chemistry with the old-timer Alec Baldwin is a treat for movie-goers. However, the best performance in this film belongs to Tom Cruise. His decadent rock god act deserves praise, not just for its brilliance, but the audaciousness as well. Clearly, this role was an unknown territory for the actor (incidentally, he was already a big movie star in the 1980s with films like ‘Risky Business’, ‘Top Gun’, ‘Rain Man’ and ‘Born On The Fourth Of July’ in his repertoire). He shines as the eccentric, over-the-top and at times impulsive rock singer whose life is embellished by sex and rock n roll (surprisingly, there is no mention or presence of drugs in the film). His look (heavily inspired by Axl Rose) was meant to be theatrical and Cruise looks the part in the film. The film is an adaptation of the 2006 Chris D’Arienzo Broadway musical of the same name. The screenplay is penned by Justin Theroux, Chris D'Arienzo and Allan Loeb and the story does move along nicely. There are hardly any lull points in the relatively long film (2 hours 20 minutes). Although it is majorly a musical, there are several conversational scenes tailored within the script, hence lending the film a dramatized feel. The cinematography (Bojan Bazelli) is unique in the sense that the concert scenes are not in-your-face. They have been shot with subtlety, hence making them different from the run-of-the-mill music-based films. Editing (Emma E. Hickox) too, is crisp bringing a lot of fervour to the celebratory film. With such a stellar cast at his disposal, director Adam Shankman of ‘Hairspray’ fame did have it a bit easy. Having already dabbled in a few musicals, helming this film must’ve been quite easy for Shankman. Obviously, being a former dancer and choreographer helps too. The director has paid equal attention to all the principal characters in the film and no ‘extra’ mileage is given to the ‘bigger’ stars such as Cruise, Baldwin and Catherine Zeta Jones. The film, in a sense, celebrates the rebellious culture grown on ‘rock n roll’ in the 1980s and Adam executes that to perfection. The line-up of artistes whose work was incorporated in the film comprised Bon Jovi, Guns N' Roses, Def Leppard, Foreigner, Journey, Poison, Europe, Night Ranger, Twisted Sister, and REO Speedwagon. Although, the selection of a few tracks could be deliberated upon, the overall soundtrack is impressive. You have Tom Cruise crooning a ‘Paradise City’, ‘Wanted Dead or Alive’, ‘Pour Some Sugar on Me’ while Russell Brand and Alec Baldwin sing ‘Can’t Fight This Feeling’. Diego Boneta and Julianne Hough too, shine in their part pop-part rock numbers. As far as the novelty factor goes, the film does manage to score brownie points in the music department. Overall, it must be said the music did live up to the billing. The film may not work for the archetypical rock-music aficionados. This is not a ‘This Is Spinal Tap’ nor is it a ‘My Fair Lady’ or ‘The Sound Of Music’. It is purely meant to entertain the moviegoers. This film does enliven the era of the 80s, in a new package, featuring the stars of today. The nostalgia of the 1980s reigns supreme, as the cast delivers emphatic performances to the tunes of Bon Jovi, Guns N' Roses, Def Leppard, Foreigner, Journey, Poison, Europe, Night Ranger, Twisted Sister, and REO Speedwagon, top lining the inimitable Tom Cruise in a never-seen-before role. It’s a fun watch, or to quote on of Poison’s songs ‘Nothin’ but a Good Time’! Shivom Oza
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byspacermom March 4, 2013

Not for young kids, but oh, what fun!

Fun movie with lots of talented actors, and lots of fabulous music. Yes, there is language, yes there is sexual inuendo, and yes there is drinking (but of course, this is basically all about a club, so...no kidding there's drinking). The basic story has been done to death (boy meets girl etc. etc.), but who cares when the music and the acting (who knew Tom Cruise could sing?!) is so great?! All in all, a fun romp of a movie for teens and above.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 12 and 14 year old Written bybrown_eyed_girl February 24, 2013

One of the worst movies I saw this year

The Tom Cruise character is a drug addled sex fiend. Stereotypes of Christian conservative who turns out to be a sex fiend as well. Music was fun (for someone who grew up in the 80s) but all in all it was a disappointment. Too much sex and too many "inside" jokes about the 80s for kids with a not very good plot for adults.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written bytbp February 15, 2013

Really sorry...

Really sorry I let my 14 year old watch this. Should have been rated R.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byMandin October 13, 2012

Amazing.

I really love this movie. This movie is amazing! The songs that they put are awsome my opinion this is for ids 13 and up
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byrainingrain August 15, 2012

Like being at a rock concert..... Awesome!

I understand the concerns that a lot of parents expressed, and do agree that it's not a children's movie, but that's why Madagascar is showing! my friend and I saw it, and we LOVED it! The familiar rock music is fun, and there were a lot of really cool mashups. My dad thought it was the funniest thing for me to be humming classic rock haha. Sure there is a fair amount of sex and drinking etc, but it's nothing that is shocking or unfamiliar to an older teen. I think it's fully appropriate for high schoolers. Plus, the two teens the plot centers around, while they make some bad choices, are a great example of following your dreams, and not losing sight of what you really want out of life, despite what others tell you. Sure, they stray pretty far for a while there, but they come back to what they love in the end, which is something every high schooler can relate to (on a less provocative level). Overall, I had a great time watching the movie, despite a slightly predictable plot, I thought it was just really fun, and captured the feel of an 80's rock concert well, especially on that big screen.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 13 and 15 year old Written byem0703 July 6, 2012

Chill out and enjoy the ride that is 'Rock of Ages'

I took my two boys (13 & 15) and they had a ball. There was a lot of lingerie (no worse than bikinis at the beach), and suggestive moves - but all in song & dance settings. Tom Cruise (not a fav of mine), was stunning. Freaky, off beat and totally off the planet 'Rock God' - entertainment + I do like Russell Brand and really enjoyed watching Catherine Zeta-Jones and Alec Baldwin in this movie. See this with a view to switching off to the stresses of the world and let this movie entertain you - you will love it!
Parent Written byJoyC July 5, 2012

Should have Been Rated R

Not for kids. Although the music is good and there are some laughs, it's pretty dirty. Not sure how it missed an R rating.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking

Pages