Parents say

(out of 13 reviews)
age 15+
Review this title!
Adult Written byAzelma February 6, 2010
The Saw movies have a really bad rep, and I felt the need to point out (for all who will believe me) that it only deserves half of that rep. Is it every bit as bloody, horrifying, awful to watch, and nasty as you think? No. Actually, it's worse on all counts. No, really. Is it mindless torture porn? Absolutely not. Saw has a story -- and a very decent one, if you enjoy psychological horror -- and usually has valid reasons for turning the gore dial to 11. Occasionally it doesn't have those valid reasons (hence the 4/5 stars), but most of the violence isn't gratuitous, and those who think it is show their ignorance of the extremely complicated and layered plot (I can completely understand if you couldn't stand to watch it long enough to get the plot, but don't judge on what you haven't seen, please). I really enjoy the serial storyline -- you have to have been on board since the first movie to understand what's going on, and every movie keeps the audience on their toes and requires sustained and careful attention to appreciate the various stomach-dropping endings. Saw wrestles with some really interesting psychology and has some great characters. I don't think it's appropriate for children with the exception of the particularly-mature mid-to-late teen, but there's a lot to like here if things like Dexter or Law and Order are up your alley. At the "invincible age" where teenagers often make reckless decisions, there are good things to learn here if put into the proper context. I agree with Tobin Bell ("Jigsaw") that anything that makes young people ask questions like, "how would I live differently if today were my last chance?" is a good thing. Don't say there's no story just because you can't keep your eyes open long enough to get the story. These films are not torture porn.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Adult Written byclarence August 5, 2015
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Adult Written bythediamondd February 21, 2015

Saw 6 great but gory

A lot gorier than 5 and in my opinion 3 and 4. Ott acting and the carousel trap is soooooooo cool.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Adult Written bycallofduty5 September 17, 2010

Pretty good!

Gory but with a good twist atleast saws are getting better!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Adult Written byThingispretty January 28, 2010
Parent Written byPlague December 3, 2009

Saw Vl

This movie is not even worth watching. Not even if a friend offers you a free ticket, unless your literally dying from bordum. Its a gorfest, but has terrible acting, seemily boring tortures, and just a poorly made movie. They should have stopped the Saw movies at 2.
Parent of a 2 and 17 year old Written byHuman November 19, 2009
Not scary at all , mostly just a little sick
Parent of a 5, 9, 15, and 15 year old Written bySuperparent123 November 14, 2009

I Took My Boyfriend And If It's Halloween It Must Be Saw!

Saw VI Had The Worst Traps! But The Traps Were Bloody And Gory.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Parent of a 11 year old Written byJ C November 3, 2009
hated it
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 10 and 13 year old Written bySuperParent October 26, 2009

Uggh,... saw again

how many of these are they going to make, i don't know its like any saw movie if you seen the other sequels....
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written byuytt2 October 26, 2009
i hate saw movies there not scary and do you really think he is helping them. Over all dont waist youre money on this junk
What other families should know
Too much violence
Parent of a 17 year old Written bygui October 24, 2009
scary for kids very gorry and bloody deaths are way to graphic so i say not for kids 17 +
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bytvgirl October 24, 2009
Really intriguing story is told considering the flawed Health Care System, but because it is SAW we see its message coated in blood, guts, and splintering bones. Also the Hoffman storyline reaches a climax, but of course in SAW fashion that climax is the final shot of the movie. I am looking forward to SAW VII in theaters October 22, 2010.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages