Kids say

(out of 129 reviews)
age 14+
Review this title!
Teen, 14 years old Written byjmax627 April 30, 2011

Good for older teens, if they like horror films.

It was good, but it was totally not age appropriate.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written bySeminolefreak March 21, 2011

One of the best Wes Craven films out there.

My MPAA Rating, R: Graphic bloody horror violence, strong language, sexual content, terror, and teen drinking and partying
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 11 years old May 7, 2011

great movie, good for teens and mature tweens

I thought this was an awesome movie. there was a lot of stabbing (killer uses a knife for a weapon). lots of suspense. graphics where pretty good. there was a lot of alcohol and language. as for sex I didn't think it was that big of a deal if you are mature enough. this movie has a good plot with crazy twists. good for teens and mature tweens.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byJaysnake May 20, 2011

Good for teens and mature tweens

It was a pretty good movie with a lot of swearing, blood and gore.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byT-Rod May 22, 2010

Classic Craven at his best!!

This movie is brilliant. Parents must know that even though this is very clever when it comes to parodying classic horror cliches and making u laugh, it is just as gory and profanity-filled as the worst Horror films has to offer. It has the most gruesome deaths in the entire seris, not including SCREM , which I haven' seen as of yet. But if you're up to par, then this is one of the greatest the genre has to offer. pOSITIVE rOLE mODELS: Sydney Prescott, though not the greatest role model in the world, is outSTANDING compared to most people in horror movies. She is brave, level-headed, and actually not a sexually active character(even though most in the movie and even her friends are), and isn't in any hurry to lose her virginity, even at her age. Also, the sheriff Dewey, though a bit bumbling at times, isn't as worthless as he seems, and cares about Gail, even if she is a selfish, self-centered wench. Also, Gail may be self-centered and is willing to do anything to get a story, in the end, she sees the error of her ways.....somewhat. Most of the other characters are just gory deaths waiting to happen. vORACIOUS vIOLENCE: Many gory stabbings, guttings, shootings, throwing glass bottles, kicking, punching, mutilating, and more. The worst of the deaths being a teen getting their spine snapped in half in a garage door. nYEH nONSENSE (oR sEXUAL sTUFF): Surprisingly not much for a horror film. Especially one almost rated NC-17. There's no nudity whatsoever, and nothing explicit or anything that should make one blush when watching with family(if you're crazy enough to actually watch it with them). But there is some talk of sex and other such activities, though none very explicit. Losing your virginity is a big topic here. oBSCENITIES aND oBSCENE pROFANITIES: Many uses of the F & S words. Along with other uses of lesser curses. dRUG dANGERS: Many teens drink alcohol at a party. aLL-iN-aLL: This is one of my all time favorites in this genre. It is clever and smart, while still being suspenseful and fun. If you're a hardcore fan of the horror genre, then this one is HIGHLY recommended!!!!
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byrave day November 3, 2014

Scream

Sex 4/10 Violence 8/10 Language 6/10
Teen, 16 years old Written bydavidguitar15..... March 19, 2011
Great movie...has some cool twists
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old January 18, 2015

Gory slasher comedy, not suitable for most kids

The film is very violent, a lot of blood during killings, however only around 8 people die. Film has a casual attitude to murder through out. Some references to horror movie stereotypes like the virgin dying last or not at all, some teenagers talk about women the find attractive. Billy and Sydney (two main characters) have strongly implied sex. Around 30 F bombs, pretty tame there. Some underage drinking happens. All around should be OK for 11-12+
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written bymovie_fanatic_411 April 9, 2008

Scream

This is one of my favorite movies. The story is amazing and the acting is good. The ending is one of the best twists i have ever seen. This movie is for people 15+ who can withstand a horror movie.
Kid, 12 years old October 25, 2015

WHy Not

I can tell why parents dont think its sutible for their children, because there is a lot of swearing and blood. But to be honest, if the tween/teen is mature enough, then why not. It got an amazing story line and its Wes Craven at his finest.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Kid, 9 years old March 15, 2011

cuss cuss

this movie says to many cussing. It has suspense.you will guess till it is over.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written bynickbozz May 29, 2010

goory but good movie sceam

girl gets killed by a garage door
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byeazy__breezy July 30, 2014

Enjoyed it

Scream is a really great film for older teens. It is a good story with some and scary moments. People may think oh great another steorotyped slasher film, but this one is different. It actually tells a decent story behind all the violence. Parents shoudl realize that this film is not for kids, and almost got a Nc-17 rating for violence. While watching it, I didn't think that it should be rated Nc-17, but thats just me. It is pretty violent though, characters get stabbed with bloody results, a pool of blood is seen on the ground, a character gets electricuted with a television set, 2 characters stab each other to make themselves look wounded, a character's neck gets snapped by a garage and again, just a ton of blood in many scenes. 1 sex scene,you see a character's bra, and its clear that teens see a woman's breasts in a horror movie, although nothing is shown. A violent kissing scene and a little sexual talk as well. Not much to say about drugs, one person says you can't drink for ways to survive a horror movie. Very bad language in this movie, several f-bombs etc. For scariness, it is pretty scary. It creates suspense as you know Ghostface is going to appear, you just do not know when. Overall a movie for late teens that is probably aimed at teens. Neve Campbell is really hot as Sideny, and the acting is good so let older teens watch.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Teen, 13 years old Written bycerealkiller189 December 12, 2011

So-so horror flick isn't too violent for younger kids.

Not even as violent as you describe it .This is the 3rd best Scream in the series.I saw the unrated and uncut version with tons more blood and I don't even think its gory seriously maps is crazy to put this nc17.
Kid, 12 years old November 20, 2011

My MPAA raing and Scream review

My MPAA rating: R for strong bloody vilonce,gore,language,teen drinking and some scary images. My review: this movie was my first horror movie I loved it it is my favorite horror movie of all time. I reccommended children from 9 up to watch this movie. buy it on blu-ray or DVD
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written bywatch October 4, 2011

got to see with kids and not scary but the scream guts people like a fish

i saw this when i was 8 years old
Kid, 12 years old August 6, 2011

@coolj123

learn to spell, not scary, and it's ghostface (or father death if you want to get precise) not scream. By the way, possibly the best horror I have ever seen (Tied with Halloween), Wes cravens best. Casey's Death was the only creepy on and Tatum's was the only gruesome one (The review says her neck is broken by a garage door, not true. Her head get gets crushed and pops like a balloon(No blood).) 12 and up with parent, 14 up without.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 14 years old Written bygeorgia. August 1, 2011

mature 13+.

AMAZING. don't really know why it's an 18 though.
Teen, 13 years old Written byswryrx March 10, 2017

scream!

i really dont know what to say! this movie is a really wired movie. its really important that what kind person are you. this movie is good,but its not so scary. its really violent and it has some sex. strong language. but there is something else in this movie that i cant explane it. if you made story about every thing you watch or read , the you should NEVER watch this movie.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 16 years old Written byFlimFanE February 5, 2017
Scream is not like most slashers where it intelligently points fun at common cliches found in horror movies (especially slashers). Despite the fact that it is a horror movie it is unlikely to scare most teens due to the fact that it is also a comedy. The characters (not the killer) in this movie are also quite memorable, it is one of the few slasher flicks that actually do (other examples include Halloween and A Nightmare on Elm Street). Parents should know: The American release of this film has a cut and unrated version, though some (like the Australian) one are just uncut. The movie is controversial for it's violence and it is rather graphic. There is a fair amount of foul language and some drinking and smoking. Jokes are made about sex along with referenced sex. However for a slasher it features little sex.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking

Pages