All parent member reviews for Shrek the Third

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Parents say

(out of 38 reviews)
AGE
5
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Adult Written byDexterSmith April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Shrek the Third

Sexual Content (Pause): Shrek and Fiona sleep in the same bed, and it's implied that Shrek is naked. "The talk" is interrupted. A character states that another character makes her "hotter than July". Violence (Pause): A battle scene features fist-fighting and weapons. Language (Not an Issue): None. Social Behavior (On): Characters learn to be tolerant of one another. Strong female characters, though they are helpless and selfish at first. Commercialism (Not an Issue): Fake commercialism for fast food and other products. Shrek is a huge marketing empire. Drug/Alcohol/Tobacco (Pause): Characters drink fuzzy navels. References to mojitos and marijuana.
Parent of a 3 and 5 year old Written bySunnye June 9, 2010
AGE
5
QUALITY
 
Even at 6+, I don't want my kiddos to watch a "kid" movie that has inappropriate words. Should be kept out of school-aged movies or rated PG-13 at least.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Adult Written by413804 January 28, 2012
AGE
3
QUALITY
 

Kind of Bland

The third shrek film didn't do much for me. Not many laughs, good moments, or memorable scenes. If you love the first two, don't bother seeing this one.
Parent of a 13 year old Written byohya August 16, 2010
AGE
6
QUALITY
 
Adult Written bypet_lover April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Adult Written bystephshea April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

its hilarius

my children loved it and it gave them a good message
Adult Written byheddnslp April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Adult Written bym0nde April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

The Shrek series keeps getting better!

Take your kids to see this movie. Every age group, from youngsters to adults will find something to keep them rolling in their seats. The plot and visual style offer something for everyone.
Adult Written byiamzalicus April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Adult Written bytommysportsgirl April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
not as funny as the other two
Adult Written bysteff007 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Adult Written byWill loves movies June 3, 2013
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

The third

Shrek the Third is a good movie but not as good as the first two. The positive message in this movie is really about being a father to someone. As Shrek is preparing to be a father and Artie's father abandon him they both realize that they need each other. Shrek acts as the father to Artie and Artie realizes that Shrek does care for him as Shrek does put his life on the line for Artie. There is more violence in this movie than the last one and the final battle is a bit intense with a main character dying. There is again the bar setting with people drinking. Also, while looking for Artie at his school Shrek and his friends pass a carriage where a person exits and is obviously high on drugs. The sexual content is pretty much the same as the first two. If you like the first two than you will probably like this one as well. Thanks for reading.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 17 year old Written bylove2 October 3, 2009
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

an ok movie

an ok movie but some parts are boring.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Adult Written bydryash86 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Adult Written bynazmom April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Adult Written byshrek April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Adult Written byJjSmihal April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

I prayed for the end to come

The frog was lucky. He died before he had to suffer through this movie. Not much was said to Fiona about the death of her father. Shrek took off right after the funeral. The kids at the school were very obnoxious. (That bothers me a lot. Kids are never generalized as a nice bunch anymore! I could go on and on about that!) The best part about the movie was Fiona and the princesses standing up for themselves, and that was a fairly minor part of the movie. Nothing really memorable happened in the movie to make me desire a DVD.
Adult Written byJAAD April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

OKEY MOVIE TO WATCH WITH YOUR KIDS

I THINK THIS MOVIE WOULD HAVE BEEN ONE OF THE MOST ENJOYABLE MOVIES IF IT HADN'T BEEN FOR THE VIOLENCE AND ALCOHOL IN IT.
Adult Written bycaptbryant April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Parent of a 7 and 10 year old Written byannette5977 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Pages