All parent member reviews for Sin City

Parents say

(out of 37 reviews)
age 16+
Review this title!
Adult Written bySettingXSail January 11, 2009
Parent of a 2 year old Written byDesiredLoginName January 8, 2009
Parent of a 3, 6, and 8 year old Written byJessicaBurton1980 January 5, 2009
Parent Written bycyllian March 8, 2012

Pure crazyness, unadviced below 30, for any alive indeed

Dreadful movie. What is the purpose doing such a movie? I discourage anyone to watch this kind of scenery. To buy my ticket was one of the worst mistake I've ever made.
Parent of a 6 and 8 year old Written byYBNormal January 7, 2009
Adult Written byFarva April 9, 2008
I loved this film, a great masterpiece. I have the unrated, directors cut, 2 disc DVD set preordered & I cannot wait for the sequel in summer 2006!!!
Adult Written byerica921 November 29, 2014
What other families should know
Too much violence
Adult Written bysipinii October 17, 2013

Not a thought provoking movie about women's position in society.

Women characters are strong and self-confident and ready for battle but they all are pretty much prostitutes and strippers, and they all seem to be very pleased to be whores. This goes well with the over-the-top masculine theme of the movie but people should note that this movie is done tongue-in-cheek and shouldn't be taken too seriously. It's very violent and includes themes of child rape but it never takes itself too seriously. It plays with cliches and is made for entertainment so people shouldn't be too offended by it's caricatures of hot sexy women and cold manly men. It's really stylized, creative and original action thriller movie and clearly opposes rape and child abuse but as the name already implies, it is about a city full of sex and violence, crime and corruption and is supposed to be more of an unrealistic entertainment flick for adults than a thought provoking movie about women's position in society.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Adult Written bychristian2011 December 22, 2012

Very dark and violent yet visually stunning masterpiece with a unique eye.

Sin City is a movie based off Frank Miller's novels, which are known to be extremely violent and sexual, in which this movie definitely is. The main villains are explicitly portrayed as cannibals, child molestors and rapists, which can be very disturbing to learn and witness. Violence that occurs is almost non-stop and extremely graphic. There's numerous scenes of strong brutal killings including beheadings, mutilation, dismemberment of body parts, cannibalism, shootings, electrocution, sexual assault, and bludgeoning - all shown in very bloody and gory detail. Language is strong and frequent - multiple uses of f**k, sh*t, godd**n, b*tch, c**k, d**k, p*ssy and other crude dialogue, especially towards women. There's several scenes of heavily implied sex, including female characters whom wear very provocative and sensual clothing with partial nudity shown. There are also alot of characters seen drinking and smoking throughout the movie, especially in strip clubs and bars. Sin City is an extremely dark and violent film with graphic brutal killings, strong language, depiction of pedophilia and cannibalism, and sexual content; which is definitely not for kids under the age of 18.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written bySacko November 9, 2012

Too Much

It is a good movie but there are mild scenes of partial and sexual nudity which are totally inappropriate
Adult Written bydarthsitkur August 4, 2012

walk down the right back alley in sin city and you can find anything

cool setting, blood and gore, bullets, nonstop action, and lots of babes, what's not to like?, and the best way to describe this badass movie is it's an every man for himself kind of film
Adult Written byNeonKennedy November 8, 2011

Good action film. lots of black and white blood. Sin City is "appropriate" for older kids who can handle the "mature" themes.

This movie has many sub-plots. Each sub-plot has murderous themes (cannibalism, revenge, gun and sword play with torturous violence aimed towards women) Each graphic execution has white and yellow blood that does not look "real'" enough to have a big negative affect on older children. There is one scene that contains the removal of a male pedophiles yellow genitals, but its not as graphic as it could be. No course language. A group characters are prostitutes. No actual sex is depicted (except for one scene with brief nudity) a woman is seen fully naked. Many female characters dress in very provocative clothing (like exotic dancers) that sends a questionable message to people, but it wont affect older children any more than it would adults. Young children most likely wont find Sin City appealing, its easy to get lost in the long narratives and the dialogue. Overall, Sin City is dark, stylish, and spunky in every way.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Adult Written byFighter2425 November 3, 2011

AWESOME!

Sexual Content- 5/5, a lot of female nudity, references and sequences involving rape, a love scene with nudity, prostitutes Language-2/5, surprisingly, even though it is very brutal, there is very little language. Few uses of "s--t," one use of "f--ked," and some mild language Violence- 5/5 Strong, graphic comic-book-like violence. Much blood and disturbing sequences. I couldn't stop watching! A must-see for all Robert Rodriguez fans
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Adult Written byJayGatsby October 27, 2011

Superbly well-made film for mature adults and teenagers

I echo everyone else's descriptions of how well-made the movie is. It's modern masterpiece in my opinion, perfectly done in almost all ascpects, escpecially the cinematography. My main problem with the movie is essentially how violent the main characters are. It's one thing to deal out justice as Hartigan does, unblinking and without mercy, but without enjoying it. It's another thing totally to ENJOY dealing out justice as Marv and Dwight deem to do. Marv especially deals out his own cruel style of justice on a cannabalistic serial killer and his horrific guardian with sadistic pleasure, torturing and maiming them. The theme of the movie is "there is no justice without sin," and while that is technically true, there is a big difference between doing vigilante justice and enjoying vigilante justice, and that's where the characters cease to be role models. The movie is well-made but does not always ring true, so I recommend this film to any mature movie buffs with the understanding that while the film is superbly well-made, it's characters are by no means role models.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Adult Written bycallofduty5 May 13, 2011

Good for mature persons common sense is overrating again!

Well this is a pretty comic action film with Film Noir inspiration. The film contains bloody violence yes but its not very sadistic and its more of a dark comedy. Just don't take it seriously and it should be fine. The sex scenes are infrequent and language is not bad either. Parents! you should watch this film before you let anyone under 15 watch it!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great role models
Adult Written by4Spice June 9, 2010

good killing action movie

i loved the movie but PARENTS LISEN UP DONT LET YOUR KIDS SEE THIS 16 AND OVER lots of blood and nudity and language if you like crazy killing movies see this one
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Adult Written byillini13 May 17, 2010

Masterful work of art, but not for the squeamish

This is another instance in which the movie for itself is fantastic, but there is definitely a certain age range that can deal with the images projected. True to its name, Sin City is riddled with all kinds of sin as listed by Common Sense. Even when I first saw the movie as a high school student I was not prepared at all, and kind of wish I had been. I still cringe at certain scenes. Strictly speaking, I would not recommend this for anyone under the age of 18, but that might be unreasonable. Upper high school, for sure. And if your child is particularly squeamish, this might not be a movie for them ever.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 10 and 13 year old Written bySuperParent September 7, 2009

RR Rules!

we love this film, it is very stylized so the violence is very graphic and gory, there are a few boobs and a girl dancing, but this film is great if you are a comic book fan!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written byMovie Man August 23, 2009

Extremely Violent, Extremely Dark, Extremely Excellent

This is a fantastic, visually-stunning masterpiece. I highly reccommend it. Parents: Although a lot of the violence is obviously fake, a lot of it isn't: heads are cut off, bodies are chewed upon, the main villains are cannibals and child molestors. More dismemberments than Saving Private Ryan. A man's genitals are blown off and at tyhe end of the film, after they've grown back, they're hideouslty ripped off. Beatings (to death), shootings,stabbings, drowings, and dumping in tar pits. but despite all of the gratuituous, over-the-top graphic and pitch-black dark tone and scenes, this is a beautiful film. It is a masterpiece, simply and mildly put. The acting is brilliant, the dialogue is stylish and entertaining, the background is indescribable, and the action is just pure awesome. I give the highest reccommendation that I can.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Parent of a 14 year old Written byMr. Boxbox March 27, 2009

e.g. You should think twice before going with a tween!

It's beautifully shot and very stylish but its also incredibly violent and over the top. Violence: Extreme raw brutal over the top Sexual Content: Very mild Language: A few s-words. Overall its an excellent film and should be ok for 15+.
What other families should know
Too much violence

Pages