All teen and kid member reviews for Speed Racer

Kids say

(out of 37 reviews)
age 9+
Review this title!
Kid, 11 years old June 25, 2009

bad movie

this movie is bad. when there is a cool action racing scene, there is to many lighting in the movie to see it. plus sprittle does the finger.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old September 24, 2011

This is not for kids under 13

Well so far it seen it many times and there some language, a lot of violence in some part of the movie during the Casa Cristo 5000 . Some sexy content such as Speed kissing Trixie right on the lips before Spritle says ''Oh god ; Gross!''
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byhomeschooledhippie May 9, 2011

Perfect for kids 9 and up.

Speed Racer as a character is really good and shows a strong moral by not giving in to the bad guy but there is a good dose of violence. The movie is fairly well written by sometimes the flashing lights and crazy races can be dizzying and hard to follow.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old August 29, 2010

This film is aimed more at teens

The common sense review says 8+, are they having a laugh?! I watched this when I was 10 and found it scary, was surprised by all the language and there's lots of sexy stuff, too.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old April 9, 2008

Go, See Speed Racer, Go!

Speed Racer was basically a video Game and I love films like that. Pretty good for a family movie. Can't wait for Narnia and Indy 4.
Kid, 10 years old May 17, 2011

great for kids

oh loved it. good for kids
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Great messages
Kid, 11 years old August 6, 2014

So bad its good

Ok i went to see this film when i was 6 or 7, and really enjoyed it but as i got older, i now know there's more to a film than flashy race cars, so i watched it again... And i instantly realised the acting was TERRIBLE and EXTREMELY cheesy. And then about 4 minutes into the film i realised the CGI effects was as bad as crazy frog videos, no kidding. The only good chemistry between characters is rex and speed, which only lasts for like, 5 minutes and the story is a little average. You don't relate to any of the characters or what's happening to them... But you know what? I have said all this and the film is really good fun and very enjoyable and entertaining. It was like 1970s cheesy but really laughable at the same time.There are potentially a couple of scenes which could scare young children and there is some violence and communism but nothing to bad. Overall its a good film with forgettable material.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much consumerism
Teen, 15 years old Written byTotally500 March 2, 2012

Cheesy Movie

this movie is okay not great or anything just chessy action scenes are good but other than that it was cheesy
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written byspacechick22 August 20, 2010

Not for kids under 10.

I used to watch to old speed racer cartoons all the time so I'm a HUGE fan. It certainly did the story justice. I love this movie! I did however think it was to violent and had to much language for younger kids. There's a good amount of blood and violence. A man gets his finger eaten of, bloody noses, violent gun fights, etc. Enough uses of A** to make my mom gasp and want put her hands over my seven year old brothers ears. A kid flips the bird and there is one use of s**t. I love the move, but don't recommend it for kids under 10.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byOldBob13 April 14, 2010

Rip-roaring adaption of the japanese manga cartoon is fun and stylish

Speed Racer was a huge phenomenon in Japan, ranking as one of the most watched manga cartoons ever. It's no suprise someone would jump to make a movie on it, and that's exactly what the Wachowski brothers did. In a nutshell, Speed Racer is a fun and visually attractive film with a great message: Do what you know is right. There is also a great "don't cheat" lecture thrown in. However, this film is best reserved for preteens, and probably should have been a light PG-13. First of all, there are a few sensual glances and a lot of explosions, but the main reason it's a hard PG is because of the language. Characters utter the a-word several times, and God's and Jesus's name are taken in vain a handfull of times. One young character pegs his middle finger, which is definetly not something that should be shown in front of kiddies. Overall though, Speed Racer is a fun and exciting adaption that will be rousing enough for diehards and will attract fans of other genres as well. Due to the obscene hand gesture however, this is best reserved for preteens+.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old March 8, 2013

full of violence

theres a scene in the movie were a man threatens to put his hand in a pirahna tank he does it and the tank floods with blood he screams and a bandage is on his finger i know that because i saw the movie when it came out in 2008
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 15 years old Written byCloudIsC00L723 October 20, 2011

Poor remake of classic TV series is non-realistic and overly childish. Harsh language.

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written bynjames February 19, 2010

Very well composed movie, yet not suitable for kids 10 and under.

I at first didn't want to watch it but when i watched it, it was a good movie, there was mild swearing but it was kept to a minimum which was very good. It had very good messages, and Speed Racer was a very good role model. The only bad part was the flipping off the guy.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old February 16, 2010

Horrible

i hate this. it is rated PG and the kid FLIPS THE BIRD for pete's sake! That is out of line for a kid's movie! it disgusted me.
Teen, 14 years old Written byReviewer X1 October 8, 2009

"Makes #4 on my top 10 movies of all time..."

It had more swearing then a PG rated film should. But it was filled with great moments and more color then you can imagine. It was cute and surprisingly deep. I actually cried at the end. But it still had a happy ending. In a lot of ways, its great for kids. If you can, watch it with them.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much consumerism
Great role models
Kid, 8 years old August 29, 2009
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written bymissylynn June 4, 2009
not a very good movie
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written byaidanqm1996 August 23, 2009

This movie must have been great on the big screen :)

Speed Racer is a movie with a lot of excellent visual effects. Even though someone swears once and a while and Speed and Trixie kiss, Speed Racer is still a bright movie that a lot of people will enjoy.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 17 years old Written bycopperzinc May 24, 2009
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written byThe age judge July 30, 2016

Pages