Parent reviews for The Addams Family (1991)

Common Sense says

Dark comedy with macabre humor for teens.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 9+
Based on 11 reviews

Kids say

age 10+
Based on 24 reviews
Adult Written bymickeynash June 19, 2012

Addams Family Mansion gives this a Thumbs up!

While the Addams Family is on the Creepy side, it is not scary... just dark. Humor is slapstick, and the kids will love feeling like they are watching a scary movie without nightmares! We had a "Addams Family" party for my 11 year old's birthday, and everyone had to come dressed like an Addams~ she had 20 friends attend, and they never left their seats once the movie started. Very entertaining: I am still getting messages from the parents saying what a great time their kids had. We even had a kid dressed as Cousin "It" & "Thing". Sadly, no Uncle Fester or Lurch :(

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Consumerism
Adult Written byAida H. April 15, 2018

Positive role models and messages present.

I love this movie. It was a favourite growing up and I can't wait to watch with my son. The ratings are so wrong. There is no consumerism only greed. The addams' do not value wealth and they never shop. There is some violence but it is all pretend and outrageously fake. There are times when jokes are played on others and slapstick comedy with dark humour is present but there is always uncontrollable situations that cause it - and if not then there is full consent by all parties to engage in these activities. Unless it is to assert and maintain boundaries against toxic emotional abuse. There is not alot of sex, but it does depict a sex positive vibe from the women, and openly expression of passion by all in adult Consentual healthy relationships.

I think this movie is full of positive messages and role models.

Here is a list of great things about this movie.
-Feminist women, loyalty, self esteem and confidence in strange and quirky difference from mainstream.
- Sex positive, parents encouraging their children to be creative and experiment with their ideas
- love of old antique and ancient things.
- Men openly expressing love and passion in public as well as sorrow and many other emotions openly.
-standing up for yourself and not taking abuse/setting boundaries.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Adult Written bystarbee36 June 18, 2015

The Best Comedy For Ages

This is my favourite film. As a parent of two teens, 12 and 14 this is a brilliant movie. This is a great introduction to gothic comedy and is suitable for all ages. Very young ones (two to four) might not understand the slightly dirtier jokes which are harmless and they would go right over a very young childs head. Very young kids would enjoy the slapstick though, and find good role models in the Addams children. Wednesday is my hero, it has to be said and the Addams' kids are teaching children that its cool to be yourself and 'different'. For older kids (5-9) The jokes would just be starting to make sense. The role models are also very good for them: Pugsley and Wednesday, and it teaches kids about being yourself. For preteens and teens this is probably funniest as the dirty (but fine) jokes will make certain laugh out loud moments for everyone. A perfect movie for all ages.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Adult Written byLolitaReviews June 2, 2020

kids interesting in horror Gothic or Victorian stuff will love

honestly now a days most 9 year olds know about sex and swear words lol. brings back memories for the parents watching and jokes to keep the parents entertained. i am interested in sort of Gothic dark Victorian stuff so i loved it

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byhannahrw1991 February 8, 2020
Parents need to know that while the Addams Family is based on the classic 1960s TV series, it's a much darker comedy. While the movie is fun, it has violent images and strong sexual references. It also includes scenes featuring the use of different weapons and torture devices. Wednesday Addams' "sadistic" nature is rather disturbing.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Parent of a 5 and 7-year-old Written byDale Dietrich October 20, 2019

Boring, but fine for kids

I have to disagree with the overall age rating. It was just fine for our 5 3/4 yr old girl and 7.5 year old boy. The sexy humour went over their heads. They had just seen the cartoon 2019 Addams Family movie earlier in the day and wanted to see this original. But for them, and mom and dad, we were all a bit bored. Yes some of the fun 'Thing' scenes amused. But the story of a long lost Uncle Fester coming back an impostor trying to steal their fortune was old and tired. It's not for the acting. I think Angelica Huston, Raul Julia, Christina Ricci and especially Christopher Lloyd did terrific jobs recreating the characters from the TV show. But the story/the script was just flat out boring.

I seem to recall watching Addams Family Values some 25 years ago and I think it would be more enjoyable because, based on my memory it was a more Wednesday and Pugsley focused story - something my kids would have been more interested in. However, I think this one killed their interest in watching any more Addams Family movies.

Having read all the other reviews here, my wife and I were all set to have conversations explaining the challenging parts to them, but perhaps my kids are more exposed to things than others because nothing in this movie phased them. They understood it was over the top pretend. We never needed to explain anything. Yes there were a few swear words. Nothing they haven't heard a thousand times before. I tried really hard to understand what scenes were the overly sexual ones that other reviewers talked about. I saw none! Yes, Gomez and Morticia flirt constantly. So what? From my 5 and 7 year old's perspective that just means they like to kiss each other a lot - which to them is yucky! I really don't see what other parents thought was overly 'sexy' here..

As a result, I'd say this movie is fine for most any kid that isn't extremely sheltered. It wasn't scary to any of us.

The only bad thing I have to say about it is, well, boring and not a movie that any of us enjoyed. It wasn't worth our collective time. So, avoid if for that reason. Otherwise its fine.
Adult Written byRarityfan2019 October 9, 2019

Adamthewooo

Good for a different Halloween family night for movies with no loud jumpscares every minute.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written bySingerchick26 September 30, 2019

Not as good as Addams Family Values

Listed as having no swearing but I did hear swear words.
Adult Written byPsychoclown June 27, 2016

Pretty mild for a PG 13 movie. Language does not go beyond "Damn" and "Hell." Violence is fairly mild.

Adult Written byAidan S. August 7, 2015
Some mild language and some mild violence
Adult Written byMovieLover4Lyfe June 1, 2010
I so love this movie, and have done so for a long time! But, for I feel looking back, I shouldn't have been allowed to view it until I was older. Here's why:
This movie can be very dark and the messages aren't always good ones. The violence between the family members and between the family and outsiders can be quite frightening for children. The sexual content is more than children need to know about, most of it will as CS said 'go over their head,' but perceptive children might catch on. There is a bit of consumerism as well as language, but language wise well...this is pg-13. Their is some smoking and alcohol consumption.
Overall, I think this movie is iffy for 13+

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking