Parent reviews for The American

Common Sense says

Taut, mature drama examines the life of a lone assassin.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 17+
Based on 12 reviews

Kids say

age 17+
Based on 2 reviews
Adult Written byBkeene August 21, 2017

Great movie! Some will find faults but I dug it.

Loved the whole thing. Tried reading the book but didn't get into it
What I wonder is why do the killers who find Jack send him a pnewspaper clipping about killed prostitutes ? Why warn him? The killer isn't a professional and Jack dispatches him quickly.
Why does it take Jack so long to realize Paulo has betrayed him and why does Paulo betray him? There's more to this story. The beginning starts with some one wanting to kill Jack in a remote location. How did they find him if. It for Paulo?

After reading a few reviews just now I find it humorous how some of the younger reviews are put off by thensex. That's real life as I see it as a 51 year old. One day they may understand.... and too bad that some can't appreciate the slow serious tone of the movie. It hits home for many who travel or work alone.
Parent of a 2-year-old Written bygerbowski November 30, 2012

Brooding, suspenseful romantic drama, not an action movie

"The American" is not an action thriller, so don't except to get one out of it. Instead it is more of an indy style suspenseful, romantic, drama, that just happens to include a couple of professional assassins. There are a few tense scenes, but they are few, and most of the time is spent with Jack, watching him live a life that he has come to despise. This film is not for kids, and most younger viewers would probably be bored anyway. There is some violence, but not excessive, the nudity however is quite explicit. Overall I would say that it is an interesting film, and if you like your movies with depth and more intellectual and emotional aspects, check this one out.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Parent of a 8, 9, 12, and 15-year-old Written bymariannp March 12, 2011

Odd movie, more like a novel

Iffy-iffy. Opening scene is very violent although that isn't a constant in the movie. The movie shows how a man evolves & wants to leave his life behind. It became easy to figure out what was going to happen next as the movie went on. I did enjoy the music, whoever composed the score was a genius & the placement really helped get a feeling of who George Clooney's character was. Not happy with the ending although I figured out mid-way thru the show what was going to happen.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Adult Written byQ81 February 7, 2011
VERY Sexual!! I don't think that this movie is appropriate for anyone, it is about one step shy of a porno! There are multiple sex scenes and lots of nudity.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Parent of a 6, 11, and 14-year-old Written bySupplymtnbkr January 6, 2011

Not one of Clooney's best performances

Nude scenes that add nothing to the plot, which is very thin. The movie was very slow with no suspense and the characters are all very shallow.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Parent of a 17-year-old Written byMr. K November 10, 2010
Finally, I movie with George Clooney as an assassin. I've been waiting for this for a long time and The American really delivered
Adult Written byHonestreviewer October 22, 2010

Bad movie

I heard this was a good movie, so i went to it with a friend. we got up and left during the second sex scene. there was hardly any dialog (which was kind of awkward), and LOTS of nudity. May as well have been a straight up porn-o (not that i endorse that at all), but it was bad. I definitely lost respect for Mr. Clooney.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Adult Written bySarah F September 19, 2010
This movie is terrible and completely inappropriate for all ages. The sex scene is extensive and graphic. There is also a lot of nudity! There is full frontal female nudity and a males butt. I wouldn't recommend this movie to anyone. Besides all the nudity the story line is terrible. It is boring and you can't wait for it to end. I should have just walked out.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Parent of a 5-year-old Written bywolfdad57 September 6, 2010
movie was an excellent example of the lonliness of an assasin.
clooney was at his best. i even jumped a couple otimes.. i give the show a 9...
Adult Written bymoviemadness September 6, 2010

The American is not that it was hyped to be -but don't let that deter you

I went into the theater expecting another action packed spy thriller that the trailer had prepared me for. Instead, I saw something very different, but still very good. In a world where the undercover life is portrayed as exciting, romantic, financially rewarding, and glamorous, "The American" was a reality check. It honestly shows the gritty loneliness that the main character experiences and his desperation to find human connection. The bleak colors, deserted Italian towns, and tense character of the film back this up tremendously. Parents be warned, there is an extended explicit sex scene and several scenes of female nudity. There are one or two bloody moments as well. This is not a spy thriller for kids. It's a cerebral, desolate, deeper-look for adults only.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Parent of a 12-year-old Written bymommydance3 September 4, 2010

Don't Waste Your Money or Your Time

Both my husband and I abhorred this movie--for somewhat different reasons. In no way is this movie appropriate for a child of any age. The graphic nudity and sexual scenes are inappropriate for children and add nothing to the movie. We felt like asking for our money back for having wasted our time and money! There is very little plot to the movie, the acting is weak at best, and the movie promos show the handful of action scenes that actually occur. The storyline is so slow that I fell asleep during part of the movie! I am less embarrassed about that than I am about having stayed for the entire show, waiting for it to get better. We find it difficult to believe that George Clooney would allow his name to be attached to this movie in any way, and we would not recommend it to anyone of any age!

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Parent of a 15-year-old Written byLMATTHEW September 4, 2010

Not for kids

Enjoyed the movie, but the nudity and sex makes it very inappropriate for anyone but the most mature of viewing audiences!

This title contains:

Sexy stuff