Parent reviews for The Big Lebowski

Common Sense says

A wild ride for adults only.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 14+
Based on 12 reviews

Kids say

age 14+
Based on 21 reviews
Parent Written byPlague March 5, 2010

The Big Lebowski

I absolutely love this movie. Anyone with a great taste in comedy films, watch it.
Adult Written bylouisa1 March 4, 2015

90's comedy is hilarious, but is an f bomb

well, i'm gonna make this one short: langauge (the whole film is an f bomb) sex (it appears that two of the characters have sex, nothing graphic but i'm pretty sure there is a full frontal nudity sex scene earlier) violence (it is mostly threats but a man threatens another man that he will cut his d**k off, the dude is hit on the head with a coffee mug ) drinking drugs and smoking ( martinis, beer, cigars are constantly shown in the movie

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, drugs & smoking
Adult Written bykipwalker44 October 22, 2014

The Dude Abides

"The Big Lebowski" is such a delightful film, it should have been nominated for and won Best Picture back in the day. However, it's not meant for kids, due to excessive swearing, drug use, sexual references and bits of frontal nudity.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, drugs & smoking
Adult Written bydarthsitkur August 10, 2012

the coen brothers sure know how to make some great stuff :-)

John goodman, Jeff " the dude " bridges, Steve buscemi, and John turturro are all complete riots in this, the big lebowski is flat out hysterical lol
Adult Written byjmo97 June 20, 2016

A very odd comedy; well acted, but only for adults

I guess I'm in the minority here. "The Big Lebowski" has a lot of scenes with interesting dialogue and terrific acting. I don't know, but I felt that the Dude, while very likable, kind of made the movie lack some energy because of a lot of his casual attitudes to the crazy incidences he goes through. Not to mention he drinks and smokes a lot and doesn't seem to change ("The Dude abides"). There are some scenes with nudity: one scene shows glimpses of a porn film, Maude is first introduced with almost no clothes from a distance, and there are two scenes with upper female nudity. There are over 250 uses of the f-word, as well as many uses of the s-word, and references to sexual acts. There is some violence, but it is only used for laughs: a man throws a mug at the Dude's head; a man's ear is bitten off (some blood); two men receive blows from heavy objects. There is also some menace of violence. Some of the hallucinogenic sequences are so strange, but creative. This is for a specific taste in comedy. I thought it was alright. 7.0/10

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, drugs & smoking
Parent of a 1, 8, 9, and 14 year old Written bythejokerspencil January 10, 2009

LALALALALALA THES BEST COMEDY EVER!

Jeff Bridges and John Goodman give the performance of a life time and this was big time snubbed. This cult is an american classic!
Adult Written byabbacus April 5, 2017

Not a fan...

Personally, I did not like it at all. I don't find this movie very funny. I wasn't interested in the story and was extremely turned off by the constant swearing and drug use/smoking. If you want a good Coen Brothers movie, watch "Fargo" instead - it is much better and has a few similarities in plot.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, drugs & smoking
Adult Written bySkifcha April 16, 2013

Great Movie.

Personally this is one of my favorite movies, a perfect 90s era movies that has a ton of replay value.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, drugs & smoking
Adult Written byREDSOX101 July 21, 2009

I'm a lebowski, your a lebowski

This is a great movie. The coen brothers are the best sibling directors ever. Jeff Bridges does a great job. You dont mess with jesus.

This title contains:

Language
Positive role models
Adult Written byAdol F. November 23, 2017

If you don't like this movie, then that's just like, ya know... your opinion, man

If you love Jesus, then make your kids watch this movie by using the Ludovico Technique!

This title contains:

Positive messages
Positive role models
Adult Written byKevinKlinelover June 11, 2017

It gave me headaches hearing the F bombs

I thought I could handle watching this movie, but I was wrong. Mostly everybody's mouths need to be washed with soap. I'm getting headaches from hearing the constant F's. Nothing to me makes sense.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, drugs & smoking
Adult Written byAbigail S. June 11, 2017

Good if your children aren't sinners.

My 14 year old son had a party with 5 other people. For the movie, he decided on the Big Lebowski. I was skeptical at first, but they had all seen much worse before. They had a blast, and if your kids can handle Hunger Games, then they will have a jolly ol' time.

This title contains:

Positive messages
Positive role models
Language