Kid reviews for The Big Lebowski

Common Sense says

A wild ride for adults only.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 14+
Based on 12 reviews

Kids say

age 14+
Based on 20 reviews
Teen, 13 years old Written byarrow94 May 26, 2009

Great Movie W/ Some Issues!!

Great movie with the only concern of the 200+ F-Words!! Hilarious film otherwise!!!

This title contains:

Language
Teen, 13 years old Written byhobbes007450 July 19, 2009

great movie

this is the coens masterpeice, waaaaay above and beyond fargo. but apart from the swearing its all very comedy and saying its not appropriate for kids is well an overstatement. most will be able to deal with it fine, and its awesome
Teen, 13 years old Written byskwunkel June 27, 2015

No

No, one of the worst films I have seen in my life.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Teen, 16 years old Written byTip yap July 16, 2013

Weird plot decently funny

Bizarre movie can be handled with adults
Teen, 15 years old Written byshooter guru January 12, 2011

The dude abides man

Love this movie! One of my all time favorites. It is full of drugs and swears but nothing a mature 13 year old or above couldnt handle. From the start to the finish I was laughing hard. By the way man, that rug really tied the room together!

This title contains:

Language
Kid, 10 years old June 28, 2014

The Big Lebowski is a great film but has allot of swearing, sex, drugs and more.

It's okey for teens but not for kids!

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byShaunOfTheBread September 19, 2016

The Coen brothers at their very best.

The Big Lebowski is truly one of the greatest movies of our time. Of the three Coen brothers films I've seen (No Country For Old Men, Fargo, and the Big Lebowski), I must say, this is the best. Besides having a fantastic story with nonstop thought-through dialogue, the movie is packed to the brim with dark, irreverent humor that teens will find incredibly funny. Yes, the swearing is frequent, the "F" word is said 293 times, but it is not just used to fill up the spaces where interesting conversations should be. It is used more to spice up the dialogue and add a sense of tension to some of the darker scenes. Also, I don't really mind language in my movies, so I suppose viewer's opinions on the language will vary greatly. As for the sex/nudity, it is relatively mild. There is some full-frontal female nudity, but both times it is obscured by motion and shadows, nothing much to worry about there. Overall, the Big Lebowski is a brilliant and surprisingly uplifting movie about the "losers" being up against the rest of the world, and trust me, it delivers. I recommend for 12+, but this also heavily relies on the maturity of the child.
Teen, 15 years old Written byMelvin April 15, 2014

Great Movie! Just swearing

There is A TON of strong language but other than that it isn't so bad. There are a few moments of female nudity.

This title contains:

Language
Teen, 13 years old Written byThedude57447434 September 11, 2013

My thoughts

Tis is one of my if not my favorite movie of all time and its because of the characters and the humor I crack up every time I watch this because its just funny it's quotable and just a all around good time
Teen, 14 years old Written bywalterdudedonnie April 3, 2011
love it gotta donnie ur out of your element

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Teen, 16 years old Written bybiovox14 November 6, 2017

Excellent, confusing, superb

Alright, this movie was a trip. Its DEFINITELY not a kids movie, as there is lots of breast and rear female nudity, as well as frontal female nudity, in multiple scenes. Incredibly strong and frequent language, though it is used to comedic effect, and a fair bit of violence. Each character represents a different aspect of life in general, and the film actually has Nihilistic tendencies, similar to the Rover, even though they are two completely different movies. Its amazing, but its not where near appropriate for kids, teens, and even some adults won't be able to understand the content.
Teen, 17 years old Written byBestPicture1996 December 19, 2013

A joy ride through the Dude's eyes!

The language in "TBL" is heavy, but it didn't bog down the script the way some movies with an abundance of profanity do. It's a very humorous trip that, after doing some reading into it, resembles noir from the old days, with the Dude trying to navigate his way through the Coens' typical eccentric characters, when all he wants to do is drink, smoke and bowl! The plot is much smarter than you think (what else would you expect from the Coens?) and features what is likely John Goodman's finest, and certainly funniest work as 'Nam vet Walter. Certainly not for young children, older teens will get a kick out of it for sure.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byJules Winnefield September 30, 2013

The Big F-Bomb.

The Big Lebowski is a Coen Bros. comedy that is funny and quotable beyond belief. The violence is minimalistic and comic when it comes up, so not much to worry about there, but it should be known that there is a lot of threat of violence leading to some tense moments where you wonder if someone is going to get their head blown off. There isn't any sex, but there is parts where The Dude is imagining himself being the star in porn movies, played for comedy and with no nudity, but it's there. There's some brief nudity in some parts, but it's pretty brief. The language is off the charts with over 200 uses of the F word and other adult language. Otherwise, very funny movie.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Kid, 12 years old January 31, 2012

THE BIG LEBOWSKI

this film is really funny this is my first coen brothers film. it is brillant lots of fwords and a bit of sexaul talk but really just a normal funny comedy.
Teen, 13 years old Written byBrando804 June 10, 2009

A cohens, cussin' classic!

A classic cohen brothers, very strong, frequent language if you check any content guide you will see that the film has over 250+ F-bombs, which I don't mind, language is language just the same to me there is no difference between dam n, hel l or the F-bomb (which I can't print on this website)

This title contains:

Language
Kid, 12 years old April 9, 2008

I laughed my head of at the Ferret part!

Now this is a funny movie, but a bit edgy, so watch out for your kids parents.
Kid, 12 years old April 9, 2008

hilarious adult comedy!!

this was a great movie. It had pretty much constant swearing and some violence also some nudity and sex. Still very funny. If your my age watch it with an adult, maybe your dad like I did.
Teen, 13 years old Written byVincent Paolini June 21, 2017

My favorite movie of all time just is not for little kids.

The Big Lebowski is a 1998 comedy made by the Coen Brothers. The dude smokes joints and is pretty violent. There is one group of people who threaten to cut off the dude's penis, one guy threatens a person with a gun, etc... There is a guy name The Jesus which might be a fended.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byCharlieRoome August 25, 2016

The Big Lebowski is a great movie and would be suitable for a mature 12 year old

Sex/nudity The movie has sex refrences but they range from mild to moderate only a couple being strong. The only strong refrence is about a character on the bowling team exposing himself to an 8 year old. This is only refrenced but never seen. Violence Very infrequent but there is a scene at the end of the movie which is fairly strong. In the scene there is a fight outside the bowling alley. Alcohol, drugs and smoking There is frequent smoking and alcohol consumption in the movie. A character is implied to be a stoner. He is seen high is several scenes but we never see him smoking any mejiwana and it is never clearly refrenced, it is just implied. Profanity The movie contains frequent use of the 'F word'. It is used over 200 times in the 1 hour and 47 minute movie. There is a couple uses of Sh*t. Frightening/ intense scenes The fight at the end of the movie could be intense as it is the only scene containing violence and also a character suffers a heart attack which is very unexpected but the rest of the movie is comidic. Suitable for a 13 year old RECOMMENDED MPAA RATING: R for frequent strong language, infrequent violence and some sex refrences
Teen, 15 years old Written byur_eggos_preggos February 15, 2018

Ridiculous to say 17+

I watched this movie when I was about twelve or thirteen, and I absolutely loved it. Though there is a lot of expletives in it, as well as a few clips out of a porn film, they are easily skipped over and don't matter much to the plot except for another laugh. This is a great movie, definitely a must-see. It's very well-crafted with a complicated plot, great writing and directing, and great characters. It's just disguised as your typical stoner film. Roger Ebert even gave it a 4/4. Of course, it all depends on your kid. My parents felt I was mature enough to watch it, and I'm actually glad I did. It's one of the movies my dad and I bond over. However, saying this film is 17+ is absolutely ridiculous. Expletives are really not that scarring to a kid, and the sex scenes are so quick that eyes can easily be covered. Though this is definitely not for elementary school-aged kids, it's fine for middle schoolers. I would reserve the 17+ rating for disturbing and emotionally mature films. This is not scarring at all. It's quite funny and entertaining, and I highly recommend it.